We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with puppy”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just back from staying one night in the railway carriage with our 4 month old puppy. First night away with the three of us in one room. About the room: great - quirky, clean, comfy bed, big tv, nice shower. Really pleased with everything and we all slept well. We ate in the bar in the end, had booked for the 'dog bit of the restaurant' but asked to move as Sid (dalmation puppy) was a bit restless. The staff moved us without issue and we enjoyed a lovely meal (signature salad, belly pork and lamb) and good wine. We were made to feel especially welcome when 'the boss' (description from waiters) took a liking to Sid and shared stories about his parent's dalmations. Breakfast was equally impressive - great eggs florentine, not sure what the complaint was about this by a previous reviewer. All in all a lovely relaxing break. Thank you to all the team.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NevilleTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review. It was lovely to read that you, your partner and dog all enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed on your kind words to the team who always try their best to meet our guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
There are newer reviews for The Hoste
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

922 - 928 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Have been in for coffee and sandwich but it was a crush. 3 of us took ages to find a seat.
I see that following their terrible inspection a few months ago where they received the lowest possible score of 1 out of 5 for hygiene they have now had their kitchens overhauled.

Even though it's very expensive the food and service are not exceptional and they really do need to get on top of the cleanliness aspect. For that money I expect glistening china, spotless cutlery and immaculately clean tables. We'll see!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank PennylaneEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for your recent comments following your visit at the Hoste. The issues raised in the Council's inspection, which is now 4 months old, relate principally to our transition to our new kitchen area (this is the first inspection of that area) and to documentation. There are no issues with food quality or cleanliness. We have recently been re inspected and have been awarded 5 out of 5. This is the first time in the history of the Hoste that it’s achieved its maximum result. We could not have achieved this without the hard work and dedication of the team and for our loyal customers. We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future. On request, any customers who dine at The Hoste will be offered the opportunity to view the kitchens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

They call Burnham Market Chelsea on the sea, well I can assure you the quality of food is not quite matching the Kings Road.

£13 for a sandwich and bowl of hand-cut chips. My wife and I both went for sandwiches. The sandwich was pleasant enough, although very mean on the fillings. The chips were undercooked. The choice of ales are limited, only 3 on tap, all mainstream no cask guest ales that you might expect. My wife's wine glass was filthy. The staff were very nice and helpful but I can't help but feel this place is a bit of a tourist trap when in actual fact it could be a fantastic pub. I wouldn't go back which is a shame as Burnham Market is such a lovely village.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank benlucas444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent visit at The Hoste.
Firstly I would like to apologise that we did not meet the standard expected of The Hoste. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff, good service and excellent food – the full Hoste experience! On this occasion we did not tick all the boxes for you, we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon and do hope you’ll visit Burnham Market again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked for the Vine House for the 4th July and decided to also dine at the Hoste.

We were somewhat concerned given a recent review, but those concerns were dispelled and I can only score this hotel as 5 out of 5. The staff, the hotel and the food were all faultless.

I would strongly recommend this hotel, we will be re visiting later in the year.

Room Tip: The Vine House is very pleasant and only across the road from the Hoste. You are able to have a drin...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Noblefamily1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for your recent review, it was lovely to read that you awarded us 5 out of 5. We have passed your kind comments on to the team. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I recently spent two nights at The Hoste as a precursor to a honeymoon break in Norfolk.

It's clear that The Hoste enjoys a good reputation locally, and is central to life in the picture-postcard village of Burnham Market. But we were here for two reasons: the spa treatments and the much-publicised food.

Given the sheer quality and value of the spa treatments, the comfortable room and the superior customer service we experienced throughout our stay, this would easily have been a 4.5 star review (losing just half a star for an air con unit that didn't seem to work, and a broken toilet-roll holder).

But - and it's a big but - there's a REAL problem with the food.

First and foremost was breakfast, where the sheer range of fresh fruit and pastries did little to make up for the fact that the dry, stingy Full English and the sour, vinegary Hollandaise on the Eggs Benedict constituted perhaps the worst examples of cooked breakfasts I have ever tasted. At 17 quid for the privilege, they are perhaps also the most expensive. We witnessed more then one breakfast guest make complaints or refuse their food, and in hindsight we wish we'd done the same. Very, VERY poor.

The Dinner Menu was far better, but suffered from a lack of attention to detail: a scallop starter that involved a single scallop sliced into 3 (certainly NOT as advertised in the Hoste's literature); a superb seafood platter (which included a truly sublime Lobster risotto) hobbled by a crab pate laced with fragments of shell; a juicy pork dish served on a bubble & squeak-flavoured mush; a perfect leg of duck served with a mere 4 (four) green beans, cut in half and arranged into neat crosses in a sorry attempt to disguise the sheer miserliness; a delicious beef shin pie countered by a portion of unseasoned and unloved savoy cabbage. In short, The Hoste's dinner menu is a Jeckyll & Hide affair: sensational served on a bed of needlessly mediocre.

We would like to come back again one day to enjoy the treatments, but will do so only if the quality of the food is on par with all the other things that The Hoste manages to get so right.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room over the kitchen - very hot at night (especially if the air-con doesn't...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank JonPaul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. It gave us pleasure to read that in particular you experienced great service during your stay and had a relaxing visit to our Beauty Spa. We are sorry to read that you found some of the food to be mediocre; we pride ourselves on good quality product using local suppliers and fresh ingredients. All dishes are cooked to order, so we appreciate your feedback on all the dishes you had when you visited. Our Head Chef and his team of 17 in the kitchen strive to maintain very high standards so it is particularly disappointing to hear you were not 100% satisfied this time. We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as part of a break in Norfolk, the hotel was excellent, we took advantage of the spa for a massage as well which was wonderful.

Breakfast in the sun in the courtyard was an added bonus, well worth a visit!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kriscollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for your recent review and for your kind comments. We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at the Hoste for two nights with our dog. We had a great time and were always looked after and made to feel welcome. We took our dog away for the first time and we were pleasantly surprised how well looked after and easy it was to enjoy the hotel with him. He loved it and so did we. Looking forward to another visit.

We ate at the restaurant also, food was very good. The sharing dessert was amazing and a must for those people with a sweet tooth.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review. It was lovely to read that you, your partner and dog all enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed on your kind words to the team who always try their best to meet our guest expectations, so it's lovely to receive feedback from yourself.
We look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
836 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
885 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
833 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
402 reviews
9.0 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range: $186 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoste is a luxury boutique hotel located in Burnham Market, North Norfolk. It offers guests sixty two bedrooms, two acclaimed restaurants and Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing