We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in luxurious surroundings”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing in luxurious surroundings”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having visited The Hoste on several occasions for meals and drinks this is the first time I have stayed overnight. It didn't disappoint, our room was luxurious, with an african safari theme,very warm and relaxing and spotlessly clean. The food was excellent and the staff whilst very professional were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. I hope it won't be too long before I stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Courtyard are large adn sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    349
    198
    100
    57
See reviews for
209
797
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stonystratford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Having visited The Hoste on many occasions I must say I wasn't disappointed with my last visit for Xmas lunch. Though they were obviously extremely busy the staff were very friendly and very professional and couldn't do enough. In particular I would like to thank Chris Bensley for making it such a special and enjoyable occasion and coping with my dietary requirements.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank stephenwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in the Railway Carriage in-between Christmas and New Year for two nights We chose the Railway Carriage as this seemed a little bit different - in fact this was the last room available! Our stay was extremely comfortable, the railway carriage is lovely, quaint, well designed, albeit a little on the small side, and warm - a consideration given the time of year but we need not have worried. The Hoste is around a 5/10 minute walk which was perfect for us but may not suit some. Breakfast was good, good choice of cereals, fruit and a variety of cooked options - which we both enjoyed. We dined in the restaurant on the first night, service was good, friendly and efficient, food on the other hand was ordinary and portions small. Unfortunately the restaurant failed to hit the standards of a number of hotels in the Norfolk and Suffolk area that we have recently visited - in particular the Wentworth at Aldeburgh which is an absolute gem!! To summarise, we enjoyed our stay but don't think we will return as, for me, I am not sure that this hotel delivers on value for money. The Railway Carriage is £170 per night for B & B, Dinner around £100 so its not a cheap option. Burnham Market however is an absolutely delight, a gem of a find if you have never visited and wonderfully placed for the delights of the North Norfolk coast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annie991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A group of us stay at the Hoste each year before visiting the Christmas extravaganza at Thursford. Things now are not up to the previous standard and the prices have increased for a not so good level of service. Our group of 6 enjoyed our stay but it was necessary to ask for extra toast at breakfast/bread at dinner etc. Little thing like this did not happen under the previous ownerships but they all add up to a less than perfect experience. The staff did not seem to be up to the usual standard. Having said that our room was superb as was the ambience. We will be going again this December.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Hoste is as lovely as we expected and it is the place to stay if you're visiting the North Norfolk area, although it is a little on the expensive side. It's situated right in the middle of the village with some small local shops right next door and if you fancy a visit to a different pub, then there's one a few minutes walk down the road.

The hotel is really nicely done and it has a lovely feel to it - it feels boutique-like but comfortable at the same time which isn't always easy to achieve.

We had a superior double room in the building to the right of the entrance and it was lovely. It was spacious, tastefully decorated and the bed was really comfy with a good duvet. The bathroom was quite spacious too and it had lovely Molton Brown toiletries.

Breakfast and dinner were both good as was the atmosphere in the bar.

It's perhaps a little on the pricey side but it's a lovely place to splurge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangladesh
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have been visiting this hotel for over 15 years. Since the owner died things have changed, not for the better. Whilst the initial concept remains attempts to maximise footfall and occupancy have diminished the experience.
The prices are equivalent to what you would pay in London and the excellent staff are just overstretched. Many orders for food, both at breakfast or dinner, had to be repeated as the pressure was just too much.
The spa was ok but the masseur was not able to deliver the type of deep massage I needed. My wife was satisfied but she would be, leaving having bought a bag full of Clarins' products.
Another issue is the car parking. I do not expect to pay nearly 250 pounds bed and breakfast and be unable to park my car in the car park.
I guess that they will be able to trade on the name for a few years but they need to be careful of killing the goose that continues to lay golden eggs.

Room Tip: Avoid room 71 unless you wish to wake when the kitchen staff arrive at 0500!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RichardMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just spent New Year at the Hoste - brilliant time. Have stayed several times before & always been really pleased with service, but was concerned after reading several not so good reviews of the Hoste in recent months. But need not of worried as service good & staff very friendly as always. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Had such a good time, well done to all at the Hoste.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wells2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
792 reviews
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
803 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
591 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
391 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Property: The Hoste
Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoste is a luxury boutique hotel located in Burnham Market, North Norfolk. It offers guests sixty two bedrooms, two acclaimed restaurants and Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing