We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay at a relaxed gem of a place”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay at a relaxed gem of a place”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights, at the weekend, in mid July having heard great things about The Hoste.

The place is far more relaxed than we had expected - which is a good thing when you're seeking a relaxing time, but might not be if you arrive expecting five star service for what is a five star price.

The hotel is the most dog-friendly I've been to - which is delightful if you are a dog lover and especially if you have yours with you, but might be off-putting for some.

What others have said in recent reviews about the staff is the same as we found - very friendly and welcoming, but with little apparent system for dealing with orders.

The food at dinner was outstanding. The assiette of seafood was one of the best starters I have had. The service at breakfast on Sunday morning was the most disappointing aspect of the stay.

Our room in the main hotel was just right. The air-conditioning was a real bonus. The location is wonderful - a lovely small town with some unique shops to browse and what can you say about the fabulous North Norfolk Coast that hasn't already been said.

Our weekend here was designed for relaxation - and the hotel made it very easy to do that. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StamfordWoodsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    343
    197
    100
    57
See reviews for
206
784
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have enjoyed our stays at The Hoste a number of times in the past few years, but our visit on this occasion was our first since the change of ownership last year. Our room in the new wing in the courtyard was luxuriously furnished and the air conditioning an added bonus. Our check in and check out was efficient, although lacking in warmth and friendliness.

There's a new restaurant overlooking the garden and we noticed that the lounge areas had been extensively refurbished. The restaurant in the older part of the building was still in use, but we noticed that there were a number of dining areas that weren't in use. We ate in the new restaurant, which was a nice place for breakfast or lunch, but not so atmospheric for dinner.

The food in the restaurant was very good, but the service was dreadful. The staff seemed to have no idea of whether an order had been taken, or a course had been served and we were served by quite a number of different staff during our meal who didn't know where we were up to in waiting for the next course to arrive. Most appeared to have had little or no training and spent a lot of time milling around and looking busy, but doing nothing.

After we had ordered, we were repeatedly offered another menu and had very long waiting times between courses. We observed that one couple who had ordered before coming into the restaurant, were brought to their table only to wait 30 mins for their starter to arrive and had an even longer wait for their main course, whilst some diners on tables around them were served quickly.

Our waiter sloshed a fair amount of wine over the glass and table and didn't bother to offer to wipe the table afterwards. We noticed that the floor in the restaurant was very dirty in places and spills clearly hadn't been cleaned up during the course of the day. Some tables were cleared without being cleaned, with food and debris left on the table and floor. When we came into the restaurant we observed that a table nearby was dirty and was left like this for over an hour before the next diners were brought to the table. They pointed to the debris on the table and floor and lack of place settings and then had to wait whilst the waiter cleaned and set the table and swept the floor around them. This is not what you expect from an expensive restaurant.

The service at Breakfast was no better. There was limited choice on the buffet table, although the cooked breakfast was good. We ordered some extra toast and chased its none arrival several times. Two sets arrived once we had finished our breakfast. Once again, the staff were disorganised.

I would not recommend the restaurant and won't be returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Foxymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The room was small with no bath but ok, the food in the restaurant was the best food I have eaten. The spa was well worth a visit and very relaxing. I would visit again, but not stay in the same room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B16Cannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Hoste on July 9 after recommendations from friends. We were not disappointed! The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was air conditioned which was a real bonus in this weather! We have stayed in many hotels around the world and cannot easily bring to mind one as good as this.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice building, lovely setting, nice room...wasn't keen on it not having a reception for 175 pounds per night and wasn't told reception was across from the green when booking. Restaurant at the Hoste wasn't really that great, couldn't eat the desert as was rock hard and service in the restaurant at breakfast was a bit poor, waitress said she hadn't heard my order so sat waiting for 20 mins for nothing, oh dear...wouldn't stay there again I'm afraid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chawston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the Nelson room, which is just incredible!! Had dinner in the restaurant after a drink outside in the new extension garden, ending the evening with an expresso martini in the bar. The service may have not been expresso but everything (food/drink) was real quality and the staff were lovely and all really eager to help anyway they could.
Jaroon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jar00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

When one has enjoyed a stay as much as we did it is tempting to give five stars but The Hoste doesn't pretend to be a five star establishment. Every member of staff is helpful and smiling and the whole experience is one of pleasure, helped on this occasion by stunning weather.
This was our second stay and we decided to try the decidedly quirky railway carriage at the Railway House annex. The walk is around five minutes through the lovely village enabling one to work up an appetite for the excellent cuisine or indeed work it off before retiring. The carriage is restricted by space which cannot be said for the rooms in the hotel, one criticism would be the three piece suite which cramped the room, we would suggest removing the two easy chairs and leaving the settee, four seats are unnecessary and replacing them with a set of drawers. I think we would stay in the main hotel or the Vine House next time but we were pleased we tried the railway carriage.
The food seemed even better than before, and the service was perfect.
Other than that, no complaints at all and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobDunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
779 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
579 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
664 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Property: The Hoste
Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoste is a luxury boutique hotel located in Burnham Market, North Norfolk. It offers guests sixty two bedrooms, two acclaimed restaurants and Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing