We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still work in progress”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still work in progress”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Initially we had booked just for one night, but after seeing our downstairs room with its own doggy court yard we decided to stay another evening.
Staff were really friendly and willing to go that extra mile to make you feel welcome, however we found the wait between courses was too long, and at times felt forgotten!
We could not stay in our initial room for the second night, but the staff took care of moving our luggage which was good of them. Our new room above the spa was dark and tired and even though it was a more superior room than out first, did not have all the same creature comforts.
We would certainly love to stay again but only in our first room!
Excellent dog friendly hotel with plenty of good walks around.

Room Tip: Ask for the new ground floor rooms with french doors to private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    340
    197
    100
    57
See reviews for
205
781
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Burnham Market is a very special place, so quaint and peaceful. The Hoste is in a great position facing the green. The furnishings throughout are superb, a real touch of luxury. We booked room 20 as it was described as having a private terrace. This is no longer the case due to the building of the new garden room restaurant and staff were constantly trooping past within 3 feet of the door to the garden. We asked for a room change and this was done without any fuss. However we suffered a dreadful night with doors banging below us in the laundry store with staff working through the night.
The breakfast was lovely as was our evening meal although we preferred the old dining room to the new garden room. The service on our second night was a bit slow as they were very busy. I hope the new owners make no further changes as they will spoil the character of the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We'd been to Burnham Market and this area of Norfolk before and love it. The Hoste is in a great location and the room was lovely. The bathroom was amazing.
We had a drink in the bar and ate in the restaurant - the food was very good.

The only things that let our stay down were the view from the room out to the car park and bins (and skip from the recent work) and a disappointing breakfast. We would still thoroughly recommend this hotel and the restaurant though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having recently visited the Spa and then stopped for lunch at the hotel, I can recommend the treatments wholeheartedly! The staff were superb and the treatments excellent. The hotel was busy, staff friendly but the lunch was just ok - may have been a bad choice on my behalf as I have eaten here before and it was excellent. Only comment on the spa is that an area to chill out afterwards would be lovely - it is a small area and there is limited space for this but that is the only thing missing - the rest was excellent

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milly63Cambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

as always is a very specail place to visit, we have had many wonderful trips here weather its is just for lunch or afternoon tea and on this a long weekend its consistantly good from room quality and cleaniness to the superb food . the staff are very friendly and helpful but stay in the back ground ... the resturant tables are nicly spaced so you can feel very intermate with your partner, we sat till late.. it felt like being in your own living.... if you can book room 17 the bath is amazing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Visited last weekend and all the recent builiding works have been completed. The reception is better positioned than before, in what was the conservatory, but this is to the detriment of the amount of indoor seating in the main part of the hotel which was always in much demand before. It was also noticable that despite being a good bit larger, there was still only one member of staff on reception desk at checkout time of 11am on a Sunday morning.

Gone is the Moroccan garden. This has been replaced by a featureless lawn bordered by paving and patio furntiure with an adjacent indoor and, similiarly nondescript, "garden" restaurant.

There is now a huge disparity between these new or refurbished areas and the parts of the hotel have not been redesigned. The Hoste has previously expanded over the years whlist retaining its character but it would seem that the new owners, no doubt costly, alterations and additions are specifically aiming to create yet another humdrum hotel for business people. If this process of removing much of the charm and quirkiness continues then the Hoste will soon be virtually indistinguishable from the likes of Hilton or Holiday Inn. Fine if that's what you want, but is not really what I'd expect when staying in a village like Burnham Market.

Our room was number 18 (four poster) where we have stayed previously. No sign of the redesign wand in action here so all good. Similarly the main restaurant and bar area have also thankfully been spared.

There were several dogs staying at the Hoste, including two of my own, who were largely very well behaved and seen but not heard. Alas, the same could not be said for the many screeching infants around the place in what seems to be movement of hotel policy on children.

By far the biggest complaint that I have about our stay was the evening meal on the Friday evening. Waiting times were appalling bad and there was little evidence of staff numbers have being increased with the expansion of available tables thanks to the addition of the garden restaurant. The redundant comment in a somewhat patronising tone, by a new Scottish waitress, that "we are really busy taenight" after a nearly two hour wait was not particularly well timed or received. I then complained to the restaurant manager about the wait and our main courses quickly materialised. Most of the staff were new (we also stayed here earlier this year) as was the head chef apparently and it showed - some dishes were cold and my normal favourite of Norfolk coastline assiette was not up to its usual standards. We accepted a kind offer of a reduction in the bill by the restaurant manager however would have gladly paid full price and tipped generously had the experience been in line with what we have enjoyed previously.

Breakfast both mornings - when of course they are only catering for residents - was delicous and served quickly and hot. Staff also seemed to be a little happier to be there too and less troubled looking.

Will probably stay elsewhere when next in the area as each of our visits in the last 12 months has been progressively worse than the last. Pity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bures Hamlet, Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I were celebrating a birthday and we thought it would be a nice quiet meal at 7 pm on a Sunday evening. We were sat in the room towards the front of the hotel. We were therefore surprised by the number of young families also dining. As grandparents ourselves we understand that it is going to be a bit boisterous and one family in our section were fine. However party in the dividing room behind made a dreadful racket through out our meal. Never has ispy needed to be broadcast quite so loudly! Pity as the food was very tasty if a little light in amount.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaydubya_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
779 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
578 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
661 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Property: The Hoste
Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoste is a luxury boutique hotel located in Burnham Market, North Norfolk. It offers guests sixty two bedrooms, two acclaimed restaurants and Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing