We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly hotel with lots of flair and character”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly hotel with lots of flair and character”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

From the moment, I 'phoned to book our room a month earlier, we received the warmest, friendlest service we could hope for. I mentioned that it was our 30th anniversary and we were promised one of the best tables in the restaurant. When we were seated, that appeared to be the case - a promise kept weeks later. All of the staff were great but special mention must go to the South African chap (sorry name not noted) who made a point of coming over on our first evening in the bar to talk through the menu and, very impressively, wished us both a good morning by name on Sunday. The main barman on both nights was also very attentive. Thanks very much to everyone for helping to make our stay so enjoyable.
The bar area and restaurant both exuded history and character and were a delight. Our only grumble with the former was that the hotel/pub was so popular, there were times we struggled to find a seat. On our second evening, we even took a walk down to The Nelson at the other end of the village so that we could have a bit of space!
We loved our meal on the first night. All three courses were excellent and well executed although the oysters, while massive, were a little tasteless. The service, while very friendly, was also a little disorganised (something we noted at other times too). On the first night, we put it down partly to having a number of different waiting staff at our table. I think we might have 'fallen between the cracks' occasionally.
The meal on the second night was patchier and I was particularly disappointed with the 'sweet potato open lasagne' which sounded very interesting but tasted primirily and overwhelmingly of cheese! Having said that, we did enjoy our dining experiences overall and the setting was wonderful. Loved the paintings, colour scheme, fine linen, candles and wood panelling.
Our room was just as it appeared on the website - elegant, wonderfully coordinated and comfortable with the most fantastic chandelier. Absolutely no complaints there. Just wish we could have spent more time in it. There was too much to see and do elsewhere!
We do stay in boutique style hotels a fair bit and, although this was one of the more expensive we've stayed in, with the special winter deal and all the attention to detail, it was worth the cost.
For our 30th anniversary, we would have struggled to find somewhere we would have enjoyed more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    336
    194
    97
    56
See reviews for
201
768
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely meal and great time with fun staff who could not have been more helpful. We had not booked and thought we would ask and see if a table was free. It was busy but a good table was found and a great mael and wine enjoyed. Superb as ever

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talltrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We celebrated our daughters 25th birthday with a family lunch at the Hoste on Sunday. The food was very good, including a lovely personalised chocolate birthday cake. The staff especially Rory made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. My daughter and I stayed the night in beautiful room 27 and Rory served us breakfast next morning. He remembered it was my daughters birthday and we were having a spa day. What a way to spend a Monday morning sipping champagne in the hot tub, bliss. We had great massages from Paige and Jackie, thanks girls. I will be celebrating my birthday there in June with a few friends and family and after chatting to Scott I feel confident that it will be great. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DB123Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Parking is very limited & requires expansion.
Staff are very friendly & helpful. Would recommend some back round music in the restaurant to create an ambiance. Stayed in the railway cottage - room 46, room was very small and could hear people in the lobby area and other rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perdi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We just got back after a cpl of days at the hoste what a lovely place but average food , poor service and no hot water in our room for one night let this great hotel down,what a shame as it should be one of the best hotels in Norfolk but they need to sharpen up fast,. The spa treatment was excellent good service and a nice massage .we will stop in again for a bar snack but won't stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been to the Hoste many times over the years and have celebrated birthdays and special occasions there. Since the change in ownership and the departure of the lovely Emma Tagg (who, to us, was the face of the Hoste and is much missed), we have kept away to let things settle down.
However, we decided to go for lunch a couple of weeks ago to see how things are and enjoyed a lovely welcome from the waiter, and also had a long chat with one of the new management team who came and introduced herself to us. Our lunch was very nicely presented, we just had soup and sandwiches and sat on one of the sofas in the conservatory, it was good to be back.
We have decided against staying there at the moment as there is a great deal of building work going on but the welcome was warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Lunch review only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

First visit to Burnham Market, we went specifically to stay here having heard good reviews, the Hoste was full when I was booking, and I am pleased now, as Vine House was everything we wanted and more, it was quirky walking across the road from Vine House to go to the spa, the bar, for dinner, for breakfast...the best of both, as we got full facilities and service of the Hoste, but a deliciously sumptous little hidden gem at Vine House. We had room 57, utter fabulousness. The decor, the ambience of the room, the furnishings, all magnificently luxurious. The bath is really deep, and can fit 2 if you so desire, the bed is really comfortable and big with plush bedding. The service over at the Hoste was first class. We used the spa - very good and exactly what we wanted. The dinner at the Hoste was impeccable. Freshest mussels you will find. We wanted a 24 hour escape, where we could stay somewhere really luxurious and grown up, with a spa so we could get pampered, with excellent food. Well done Vine House, you ticked all the boxes which is rare to find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yummymummynorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
24.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Property: The Hoste
Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Burnham Market, The Hoste Luxury Boutique Hotel boasts a private 20-seat cinema room, a gym, a beauty spa, an award-winning restaurant, luxury bedrooms, and self-catering cottages over various locations within the historic village. Featuring free Wi-Fi and free private parking, this boutique resort is just 2 miles from Norfolk's sandy beaches. Offering a flat-screen TV with Sky channels and tea and coffee making facilities, the uniquely designed accommodation lies across 6 individual properties. The bathrooms feature luxurious toiletries. Many boast a free-standing bath, pretty terrace, or views over the village green. The Hoste's sophisticated restaurant serves a modern British menu. For a more informal dining experience, guests can eat in the conservatory, lounge, garden, or bar. Dishes are prepared using locally sourced, seasonal produce. Meals can be complemented with a drink from the extensive wine cellar. Located in the courtyard wing of the 17th century property, The Hoste Beauty Spa offers a range of specialist treatments and a hot tub. Burnham Market is surrounded by acclaimed nature reserves, picturesque villages, and historic market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing