We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very noisy place to stay”
Review of The Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nelson
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Its a friendly place. Good beer. However the food is not so good; we met 4 people earlier that day who told us they'd eaten at the Nelson the night before and all of them suffered from indigestion afterwards, so did we!
The room is smallish, the bathroom has a shower only. Its all reasonably decorated. However the place was very noisy till around 11.30pm. Then you can hear other guests use the bathroom. If this wasn't bad enough an extractor fan was left on all night (switched off at 6.30am). I did mention it the next morning only to be told 'you should have called the pub, someone lives in, they would have dealt with it', great but there are no phones in the room and you cannot get a signal on your mobile! Apart from the Hoste there isn't much accommodation choice in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caribbeanskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 169 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I and friends stayed at the Nelson for the weekend. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our rooms which were small but excellent. They were spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. We had booked an evening meal which was excellent and very reasonably priced. The staff again couldn't be more helpful. The following morning we enjoyed a full english breakfast which again was lovely. We ate at the Hoste the following night which was enjoyable but we all said that the food was no better than we had eaten the night before. The Nelson is beautifully decorated, very comforable with young friendly staff who make youu feel very welcome. We would definately recommend the Nelson to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: If we went again we would probably choose the rooms which are across the carpark. We checked them ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Some very nice comments to make but some not so - we stayed here this week on a Tickles offer so it was very good value for money but if I had paid full price for the room, which on the website states £80-100 I would not have been happy. Like the previous poster, the floor was laminate and very cold and the bathroom was very small and the shower tiny. One of the lamps was broken and the windows and frames were not very clean. We arrived in the freezing cold and were shown to our room by the lady in the bar, you have to go outside again to the annexe, we noticed the door to the annexe would not lock. We changed for dinner and went back to the bar, the same young lady was there and she took every opportunity to let everybody know she was the only person working apart from the chef. To be fair she coped admirably with the bar, restaurant and informed us she was also making the side salads. The bar was very comfortable but a little cold, she did turn the heating up later after we mentioned it. We ordered dinner, we both had mushrooms in cream sauce on a crouton which sounded very nice but in reality was swimming in oil and quite unpleasant. We pointed this out and she took them away, we had only eaten a small amount. the main courses were much better, I had a veggie burger and chips and that was excellent. We finished our bottle of wine in the bar, which by this time was empty so she chatted to us a little, a very pleasant young lady indeed. Then four people arrived to seemed to be friends of hers, so the rest of the evening she spent sitting on the other side of the bar with them, or outside having a cigarette.

We slept fairly well although the bed was quite small and very creaky (we stayed in the Avocet which bears no resemblance to the picture on the website) !

Breakfast the next morning was very enjoyable and served by the same young lady, all appeared hot and tasty, no peppermint tea though, even though it was on the menu, luckily I carry my own with me at all times.

All in all I would probably call in again for food if in the area but wouldn't order the mushrooms again and would not stay at full price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed on a Tickles offer. The room was ok but the laminate floor was cold - it would have been nice for the room to be carpeted or have rugs. And there was no heating in the compact shower room. It was quiet which is a bonus. What a great pub! - very friendly atmosphere - lovely decor - comfy seating for drinks - I want this pub in my home town! The food was good pub grub. Staff all very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We'd wanted to stay a weekend at The Nelson, but we had to cut short our visit suddenly. Aside from the comfortable room, tasty evening meal and lovely breakfast, what struck us most about The Nelson was the service from the staff. They truly went beyond the call of duty. Not only did they not charge us for the night we didn't stay (many hotels would have done), in our rush to leave we left behind our 4 year-old's teddy bear. They rang us and told us they'd found the bear, then they posted it back home at their own expense, and they even rang us afterwards to check it had got there. You really don't get caring service like that in many places these days - truly impressive!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

In the area for a seal boat trip and visit to Pensthorpe we chose the Nelson to stay a night because of an offer through 'Tickles' which made it good value, especially in Burnham Market where it seems well heeled Londoners go to get mud on their Range Rovers...

Our room was ready when we arrived at lunchtime. It seemed we were the only overnight guests on a Friday in March. Having negotiated a sticking door into the pub we were soon made welcome and shown to our room, which was straight off the car park, rather like many US motels. This made it easy to park right outside and unload the car.

The room was modern and well decorated, though perhaps a little too minimal with no dressing table as such and only two hangers in the wardrobe. The room was nice and warm with a good radiator. The bathroom was spacious, very clean and well fitted but lacked a bathtub which would have made it better. Many hotels seem to be moving to having shower cubicles which I guess saves their water bill.

We ate in the pub in the evening. The chef does a range of vegetarian specialities as well as other fare. For some reason I expected the restaurant section to be separate, though it was in a nice corner of the pub. Some pub drinkers were a little noisy and used strong language but it didn't distract too much from what was a nice, well served meal. Drinks were good with a decent pint of Wherry much cheaper than the Hoste down the road. Service was good overall.

Breakfast was served in a separate room away from the main inn. This was nice and tastefully furnished. Food was good, especially the salmon and scrambled eggs that I tried.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0akc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a half price night stay due to a special offer and it was good value for that price. The room was nice but compact, lovely decoration but laminate floor needed another sweep! Only other negative was the bright green emergency light in the room which stayed on all night ... Breakfast very tasty but not speediest.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackrose1583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
1.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,351 reviews
6.0 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
861 reviews
6.1 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
231 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Quay B&B
The Quay B&B
#11 of 24 in Wells-next-the-Sea
50 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vine House Boutique Hotel
Vine House Boutique Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnham Market
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson

Address: 4 Creake Road, Burnham Market PE31 8EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham Market
Price Range: $96 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson in Burnham MArket, Norfolk. A charming pub with fabulous restaurant and stunning, individually designed bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing