We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly disappointed.”
Review of Saracen's Head

Saracen's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wolterton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $57
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
HEDENHAM
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have always wanted to go there - as the the reviews always seemed to be good. Garden was lovely as was the pub but the food wasn't as good as expected and the atmosphere was rather muted. Very nice staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    31
    6
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I really wanted to love this place, but...”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'd really been looking forward to a family meal at the Saracen's Head - the menu looked great and the setting idyllic. Sadly, owing to a heavy sea mist we couldn't really appreciate the surroundings - I will say that the courtyard garden area is absolutely stunning, though - if it had been a nice evening it would have been a lovely spot.
The staff are really very friendly so initial impressions were good. It's quite homely inside so makes a nice change from a lot of the chi-chi places along the coast, although the toilets could do with a bit of smartening up.
Starters were great - Letzer's smoked salmon and prawns - delicious and huge portions. My husband and parents all agreed this was a promising start to the evening. Three of us were tempted by the fillet steak, but what a disappointment. One of them was literally twice the size of the other two and cooked to perfection - mine and my mum's were very overcooked which was not acceptable, especially at £20 a go. We complained and the manager duly reduced our bill. Mum's icecream was full of ice crystals so the quality never regained the standard of the first course. I was gutted as I'd wanted to absolutely love this place. We may just have been unlucky, but something's clearly not right in the kitchen if the chef sends out steaks varying so wildly in size and which had clearly all been cooked for the same amount of time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SDN1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeangaf
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food - lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

An old coaching inn in a quiet and beautiful part of North Norfolk. Excellent food, lovely setting and pleasant staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeangaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great Evening”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Having seen some of the reviews I was a little apprehensive but it was the only suitable restaurant to us. I was taking my sister from the USA which added to the pressure. But could not have been happier the food was excellent and there was a great choice. They catered easily with my wifes dairy allergy and the wine was great. We all had a great evening at a reasonable price. Will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Visited Saracens head Saturday lunchtime, been highly recommended to eat here. For us it was a disappointing visit, our food was nothing special and the atmosphere was spoilt when the chef came into the restaurant and found it appropriate to humiliate our waitress in front of us and other diners, followed by a neighbouring table finding it necessary to return their food to the kitchen. Seems the chef found it more important to humiliate a fellow member of staff than concentrate on producing decent food during our visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saracen's Head also viewed

 
Thorpe Market, Norfolk
 

Been to Saracen's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing