We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Saracens Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolterton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saracens Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Wolterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We went for a Pre-Christmas family lunch today and had the most wonderful time- all 12 of us chose something different from the menu-the food was beautifully cooked and very tasty-'Great service, lovely atmosphere, beautiful place, yummy food and good value. We couldn't recommend the Saracens Head more - book today and go and try yourselves- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    36
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
22
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Took our friend from London here Sat. evening. The place was full and happy. Service was very good and friendly. The choice of food has got better over time and the cooking is excellent. We all enjoyed our meal very much ( and not too expensive either!) Friend announced that he had been converted to our local beer ( Wherry). Wine list gives a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hommeatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I discovered this pub this summer however until now had not got round to visiting when open. We drove passed this Sunday and popped into for some lunch. The pub itself is wonderful and very suited to the colder months! with its open fires and the smell they give off! A rich and warm decor goes hand in hand with the welcome we were given. A little pricey @ £17.50 for 2 courses however it was generally worth it. Food is predominantly sourced locally and seasonally which I love to see, so the quality of produce shines through. My only gripe was if you've got a chef skilful and patient enough to turn a roasted potato ( which I haven't seen for ages!! ) it also means he pays attention to detail, so why was the roast tatty not crispy on the outside??? :) However still nice but only 2 Sunday spuds and a small dish of veg between two on a £17.50 meal is a bit tight Saracens?, both are very cheap to give a wee bit more......surely! The great British roast demands a few musts, and the rest they got spot on, must have good gravy, must have veg that hasnt gone grey with over cooking, must have good quality accomplishly cooked meat, must have homemade yorkshires ( no ole auntie Bessie! ) must have crispy yet fluffy in middle tatties, finally must leave you feeling proud to be British! Anyway that's the only reason I'm giving 4 stars not 5, makes me sound harsh but there we go, I speak as I find, I will be back and I'm sure I will be giving 5 in the future, its a truly beautiful authentically unique British pub with a good menu, a lovely atmosphere and charming staff. Well done Saracens!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Saracens Head is just about in the middle of everything you want to see around North Norfolk, but tucked away on a quiet lane opposite the Wolterton estate, which makes for a lovely walk to set you up for lunch or dinner. There are 6 rooms - good sized doubles, and a family room, with nice ensuite bathrooms. Double beds are very comfortable- but two linked mattresses so you will feel the join. On the plus side, you moving about won't disturb your partner. There's a pretty courtyard garden outside, but most of all - silence. The bar area is small and cosy with a lovely stove, and there are two more rooms for lunch and dinner, both with open fires. Woodforde's Wherry on tap, and a well priced wine list is available. You'll want to eat here as well as stay; the menu is full of locally sourced meat and fish: fantastic slow cooked pork belly, mussels from Morston on the coast, a good balance of meat and fish and nice vegetarian dishes. A must for a romantic weekend away, and you'll wish you were staying longer, though if you do your waistline will suffer. The website is clear and gives an accurate impression of the rooms. Breakfast is a joy- very good sausages, bacon and black pudding; smoked salmon also available. The best b&b we've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: First floor rooms might get a bit of noise from the bar. If you're going to bed early, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had this hotel suggested to us by the owners of our B and B. They booked for us, and could not have made a better choice!
From the moment we walked in, we knew the evening was going to be great. The welcome was really friendly, and the menu looked wonderful.
Everyone in our part of the dining room talked to each other, and the conversation with others, plus the sight of the magnificent meals going past, enabled us to choose from the many delicious sounding offerings. We both chose roast grouse, and the mess we made just added to our enjoyment of a beautifully cooked meal.
Our desserts were equally good - treacle tart and poached plums and figs.
Although we became slightly lost on the way back to our B and B - Saracen's Head really is in the middle of nowhere! - the dinner was worth the extra driving.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rex06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Four of us went to the Saracens Head today for Lunch.
After being warmly greeted by the owner and ordering our drinks, we were shown to our table in the dining room close to a welcoming log fire.
The starter of locally smoked trout and mackrel was delicious as was the roast pork main course. The fact that the restuarant was busy despite it being a cold,wet November day speaks volumes on the quality and service. The Saracens is well off the beaten track,but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands - uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a lovely meal here with my other half. Didn't find it over expensive. The food was well presented and of excellent quality. Excellent wine list. The service was attentive but not overly so. What more do you want.?

PS If you don't know where this restaurant/hotel is, it takes some finding in the middle of deepest Norfolk. Make sure you have a good sat-nav.!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank datacell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolterton
6.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Pigs
The Pigs
#3 of 27 in Holt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Felbrigg Lodge
Felbrigg Lodge
#1 of 5 in Aylmerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#8 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracens Head

Property: Saracens Head
Address: Wall Road | Wolterton, Wolterton NR11 7LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wolterton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wolterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arty,comfortable B&B, and scrumptious food, lost in the lanes ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Wolterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing