We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very charming bungalow in a beautiful area.”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Hallway Dinning room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Front of property
Hallway
Dinning room
Sitting room
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Triple room
Over the bath shower
Bathroom
Living room
Kitchen
Outside seating
Driveway Parking for at least two cars
Lockable storage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
APMattson
Lehi, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very charming bungalow in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My children rated the house as "the best place we had stayed in our trip." It was a very comfortable house with plenty of room for our whole family. It was very clean!!! Youlgrave is a beautiful little town and close to many great sites in The Peaks. From here we went on a bike ride on the Monsal trail, to Bakewell, Chatsworth House, and Stanage Edge. We explored the little town and the fields around it.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness
Liked least: No extra toilet paper or salt in the house.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2016
We are very fortunate that Hillsway is in a great location for exploring many local attractions. For your children to rate it '"the best place" means a lot to us. Many thanks X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Older style bungalow in peaceful location”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

very clean and tidy bungalow in pleasant cul de sac. A charming hamlet in excellent location for walking.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2016
Glad you enjoyed the peaceful location of the property and got to go on some great walks straight from the village.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilatsana...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable, spacious and relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The bungalow was clean and has plenty of room for kids to run around, lovely views from and around the areas. Super easy to access to other attractive places in the peak district. What a lovely warm welcome to stay with clear instruction. We met lovely friendly people in the village. I wanted to go back and stay there for longer as an escape from my house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space, view and the clear instruction and the warm welcome
Liked least: shower power
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
The village has a very friendly community who I'm pleased to say welcome visitors. It is a fantastic place to live and I'm always pleased to hear visitors have experienced locals kindness. We hope to welcome you again sometime.x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful and spacious, perfect for a walking holiday.”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Great location. Excellent walks from the cottage. Charming pubs. Friendly Church is full of history.
We enjoyed it very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and got to visit our beautiful historical Church. Thankyou for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arfyabes6...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in this bungalow in Youlgreave for a long weekend as we were attending a festival in the village hall, with two friends and one extra on the Sunday night. It is very clean, comfortable and spacious down a quiet cul-de-sac with parking in the drive for two cars. As two of our party had mobility issues this was a good place to stay. Not far from the main street.

It was cold in the bungalow when we first arrived but improved once we turned up the thermostat. We had difficulty locking and unlocking the back door which is the main way of entry and exit until the owner's husband showed us what to do. All contact with the owner was very nice - she gave us some eggs after learning that we had been cold.
The toilet seat came off a couple if times. Managed to fix this ourselves but did tell the owner before we left when it happened again.

The second bedroom with bed and bunks we think was more suitable for children than adults. Apparently the bunk beds moved quite a bit when people changed position, could have done with more plugs in the room as no bedside light by the bunk bed, also nowhere to put clothes in this room.

There is Wifi but couldn't find password in information though friend did manage to sort that out herself. Also no leaving time stated in written pack so rang the owner who was very flexible.

As this is all level inside and has off street parking it could be advertised as suitable for disabled people if a few adjustment were to be made.
A few thought s- for example exchanging the bath for a walk- in shower or even making the bathroom a wet room with additional bars for holding on. I didn't have a shower as there was no clutch bar over the bath and was not steady enough on my feet to risk it. Making a shallow ramp for entry via the back door could help a wheelchair user.

It must sound as though I am very critical - it's just that I'm interested in details, so overall a good stay and would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: accessibility, space, quiet, comfort
Liked least: please see above review. Suitable for some disabled people.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Glad you enjoyed. your stay. Toilet seat fixed, departure time and Internet code put in welcome book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin P
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Property to Stay In”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The village of Youlgrave is exceptional, this accommodation makes it even more so. The bungalow feels like home from the moment you walk through the door. It is comfortable and warm with modern appliances, It has everything you need to make your stay extra special. Our stay was during the winter months, I wish we could experience a summer in this wonderful accommodation. In the village you have 3 pubs all offering their own style of food, the Farm Yard is certainly well worth a visit and if you are short of fresh vegetables then enjoy a pint in the George and buy your fresh veg at the same time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and warmth of the bungalow
Liked least: There is nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2016
Well that's lovely. Thankyou for your kind words. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt part of the community. Youlgrave really is a fab place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliperr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have had an excelent weekend in a cottage which provided everything we needed. Off road parking and lots of space were very welcome for four adults and two dogs. Would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2015
Thankyou very much. It's great to hear you will tell others about Hillsway.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing