We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Walkers Paradise”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Penny Pint Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joofthebe...
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Walkers Paradise”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was wonderful to walk into Penny Pint and see flowers in a vase and truly excellent home make Victoria sponge. What could be better.........the views, maybe, amazing.

Can recommend the Farm Yard PH for very generous helpings of well cooked food. Glad we had walked up there!

We did enjoy the walks, from the cottage, in the booklet kindly provided by Chris and Margaret. Lovely couple.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelgaFlic...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage holiday”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were really impressed with the warm and generous welcome from Nagarita and Chris. The cottage is cosy, comfortable, clean and peaceful. Youlgreave is a beautiful, traditional Derbyshire village and we enjoyed great food and excellent ale at the Farmyard Inn and the George Hotel. It is an ideal base for walking, with Lathkill Dale and the River Bradford close by and many stunning walks to be had.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmarr...
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and comfy”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a lovely 3 day break in Penny Pint. Cottage is in a great location for walking in the Peak District.
The owner and his family were most welcoming...... provided lovely homemade cake

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueTone7...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquillity...with all mod cons”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked the last week of the school Summer holiday at Penny Pint cottage on recommendation of a friend. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the owners, Chris and Nagga. They showed us inside where we found a delicious home made cake and a carton of milk waiting for us.
Upon closer inspection, we found the tea, coffee and sugar caddys had been topped up so we could have a hot drink and a slice of cake straight away while we waited for the rain to stop!
Upstairs we found two immaculately presented and spacious bedrooms and a well equipped bathroom.
Free WiFi meant our children could access their social media accounts and keep in touch with their friends.
Outside there was access to a delightful garden and adjacent to the cottage was a tidy allotment area complete with an apple tree, ripe for the picking and a comfortable seating area where we could sit and have a glass or two while enjoying the view.
Even the neighbours were lovely, offering us some courgettes from their allotment.
There is one local shop for basic supplies with more in nearby Bakewell and Matlock.
There is little to choose from between the 3 village pubs but my personal favourite was The Bulls Head, cracking ale.
All in all, a memorable stay in a beautiful location, ideally situated for walks and many places of interest. There are really too many places to get round to in a week and we'll definitely be back to Penny Pint. Thank you Chris and Nagga! A really lovely couple. We didn't want to leave!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
We are so pleased to read that you had a wonderful holiday here. There are so many more places to visit and to see so we are looking forward to seeing you again here. Thanks and Best Wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura1306
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My partner and I had a three night stay to explore the wilds of the Peak District on foot and wanted a cosy little base to keep us warm at night. This cottage excelled our expectations. It was full of character as well as being very practical and the views from the bedroom windows were outstanding.

Our hosts Chris and Nagarita were so friendly and welcoming and even provided some lovely surprise treats on arrival, thank you!

I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a walking holiday and with a 5 minute walk to three local pubs for food and beer after a long day on the hills, what more could you ask!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thank you Laura. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you can come again.
Nagarita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worth re-visiting”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely cottage in a great location. Well equipped and comfortable. The owner was very welcoming and pleasant. Great views from the cottage and lovely walks from the door. We would definitely consider returning and I have already recommended it to a friend

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gozzza
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in great location”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The owners made us feel very welcome. The cottage has everything we needed and is ideally located for great walks. Chatsworth House is only 10 minutes away, Bakewell slightly less. With the weather so good we ate outside every day (early April) at a table on the adjoining allotment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing