We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cosy Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
The outside terrace and table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The outside terrace and table
View from bedroom windows Well-eqipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The outside terrace and table
View from bedroom windows
Well-eqipped kitchen
The stairwell
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom
Linens
Lying in bed.....
Master bathroom
Master bathroom
Bedroom two
Shower room
Upstairs sitting room
The view to the left
The view over the hillside
Walking back into Youlgrave
View from kitchen looking into sitting room
Sitting room
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sevvy62
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in Vallon Cottage last week and were very impressed with the cottage. It is always great when we find a dog friendly cottage that is of such a good standard.
The location in the village of Youlgreave was perfect for walks from the doorstep or for driving to other close by locations for walking.
The pubs in the village are great especially the Farmyard Inn which is a 5 min walk but suggest booking in advance if eating.
The cottage itself was very well equipped and the addition of Wifi was a real bonus.
We never got to meet Ali but she kindly put in an outside electric point so that we could charge our car ( 3 pin plug) . Many thanks for doing that.
Overall too many good points to mention and the amenity list and photos are a fair representation of the cottage.
Highly recommended
Steve and Dot

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2017
I'm so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely time in Vallon and enjoyed Youlgrave too. The walks from the door are so beautiful and again I am pleased that you could take advantage of them. Good to hear the outside electric point worked well for charging the car, we hope other guests will come who also have electric vehicles. Thank you Steve & Dot for such a lovely review and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B
Anstey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“STUNNING COTTAGE”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

we have just returned from our 3rd stay in Vallon Cottage.
It is the most beautiful cottage, everything is perfect.
The furnishings, kitchen equipment and the bed in the master is the best bed i have ever experienced! The views and being able to hear the river all add to the perfection that is Vallon Cottage.
What a wonderful place we always come back feeling like we have been to a spa.
Youlegrave is also amazing. The walks direct from the door are lovely.
The Farmyard inn is great.
We cant wait to go back

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Thank you for such a beautiful review, we of course agree with everything you have said :) but its so lovely to have confirmation from our wonderful guests, it lets us know we 'getting it right'. Our aim is to provide a place that is rejuvenating and allows the stresses and strains of everyday life to disappear. Youlgrave is also a special place and so is the Peak District. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back again. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pixer2016
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ali was most helpful especially before our visit. We felt she was most helpful and caring.
The Cottage was clean and tidy and had all the necessary accoutrements.
Wi fi good but phone reception non existent. all TV was available but we were not there to watch. Fantastic CD collection which was used by us.
Views and proximity to walking and footpaths excellent.
Two pubs in the village the Bull and the Farmyard both serving excellent (pub) food and a third we did not get to go to. It meant we didn't have to drive.
One very small drawback was the radiator in the main suite bathroom had a heating element that could not be turned on and we like our towels dry after a shower (picky or what).
We would definitely go again!!!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and position
Liked least: Drpping tap and light bedrooms in the morning.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2016
So pleased to hear that you had such a good time and enjoyed the cottage facilities. Youlgrave is a great location and visiting 2 out of 3 pubs during your stay is pretty good, you will just have to come back again to visit the remaining one:) and I'll have a look at the radiator too, thanks for the feedback and apologies that your towels didn't get dry as quickly as you would like. You are correct about the phone signal, it's very patchy, O2 have an ap that works using the internet, with other providers you have to play around until you find a place in the house where you might get a couple of bars, or take a walk uphill. Sometimes it's good to have no signal tho on holiday and can be more relaxing. Thank you for being such great guests, and for useful feedback and hope to welcome you again. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDFor1967
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A wonderful quirky cottage in a beautiful part of the country. The cottage was fully equipped and extremely comfortable. Beautiful outside area, if the English weather allows you to enjoy it. The bedrooms were very comfortable, the second bathroom was quite small.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
So glad you had a comfortable break in Vallon Cottage. I wish we could order the weather so that the terrace could be always used, it is so beautiful and peaceful.
So glad you found the bedrooms comfortable too and yes the quirky bathroom, although it has everything you need,ison the small side and the main bathroom huge. It's a shame we couldn't even things up a bit, but it's a very old cottage and the layout won't allow.
Thank you for choosing Vallon for your break and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil K
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly peaceful place”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The south-facing house clings to and overlooks a densely wooded, steep sided river valley - the views are a delight. The garden, accessible through double doors from the conservatory/dining room, is largely paved with stone flags but with many plants and herbs. It has an area of decking at paving level but elevated above the valley side like an eyrie, affording excellent views - a lovely setting for outdoor meals. The house itself has an interesting quirky layout. It is well appointed, clean, comfortable and cosy. A feeling of peaceful calm pervades. The kitchen and utility and equipment are easy to access and operate. They are very well equipped with many cooking basics provided.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything about the place
Liked least: Some paintings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
So glad to hear that you loved Vallon Cottage with its delightful views, and great setting for outdoor eating. It is so peaceful isn't it, we are very happy you enjoyed the calmness that Vallon offers, I've just had a text from the family staying at the moment and they have asked for squatters rights, they want to stay :)
Hope to welcome you back in the future and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Ali Plowright
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B
Anstey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage are real haven”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We have returned from our 2nd visit to Vallon Cottage.
This is the most beautiful cottage we have ever stayed in. Everything is perfect.
The inside is pure luxury and the garden is amazing with stunning views.
This cottage has everything you could possible want and is so relaxing. We parked the car when we arrived and didn't drive it until we left 6 days later. There are many lovely walks straight from the door.
The village of Youlgreave is wonderful with the Farmyard inn being a highlight, the food, staff and atmosphere are unforgettable. There is also a bakery where you can buy the best Bakewell tart you will ever eat and the local speciality Homity pie.
We have booked to return.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2016
So lovely to read that you had such a wonderful time in Vallon Cottage and Youlgrave. Great that you didn't use the car for the time you stayed, it makes your break so much more memorable and restorative.
Thank you for choosing Vallon and sharing your experience, and really great that you are returning again, we are looking forward to welcoming you :) Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RKELLY343
Rivenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Amazing Rest in Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were blown away by the cottage. Very comfortable and with an interior design which I coveted! Kids had enough room to play and the little footpath down to the gorge to the river meant hours of entertainment.

Thank you!

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2015
Thank you for such a lovely message. So pleased you enjoyed the village of Youlgrave and Vallon Cottage and had such a lovely time :) Hope to welcome you again. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing