We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location - Lovely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
The outside terrace and table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The outside terrace and table
View from bedroom windows Sitting room with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The outside terrace and table
View from bedroom windows
Sitting room with log burner
Sitting room
Sitting room
Well-eqipped kitchen
Conservatory/dining room
The stairwell
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom
Linens
Lying in bed.....
Master bathroom
Master bathroom
Bedroom two
Shower room
Upstairs sitting room
The view to the left
Vallon in the snow
The view over the hillside
The view from the road
Walking back into Youlgrave
The stone circle, a short walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian M
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location - Lovely cottage”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The cottage is in a lovely location with plenty of local ammenities. We loved the wood burner which gave a homely feel. Great ooportunity for local walking. Farmyard Inn is very friendly with excellent food. Local butcher provided good selection of produce. If visiting on bank holiday look for the 'teapot' to have a garden tea and lovely cakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. The wood burner does add to the cottage doesn't it, and heats the cottage up very quickly.
Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Bramwell Cottage is adorable”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

The cottage has the most amazing views over Bradford Dale and beyond, and has a unique Mediterranean 'feel'. Very light and airy, with tiled floors and whitewashed walls, and a calm, peaceful atmosphere. Of all the places I have stayed in the village, this is probably the best, and most secluded.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Ali is great
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. When I first prepared Bramwell for a holiday cottage what you describe is exactly what I had intended, a Mediterranean feel in the Peak District. Sounds crazy but it works :) Glad you had such a lovely time and thanks again.
Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenIF
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, welcoming and well equipped cottage in a beautiful area”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The cottage and its owner are both very welcoming. The cottage has a traditonal style which is both comfortable and relaxing. The views across the valley are wonderful, particularly from the kitchen sink. We used the cottage as a base for walking and like to cook. We found it well equipped throughout and we particularly liked having an en suite bathroom and a separate shower room. Access to the cottage down a steep path and then across the front of another cottage makes it hard to find the first time but presents no problems once the luggage is in and it makes the sunny area outside a private and quiet place to enjoy the broad views of the countryside. Youlgreave is a pleasant village with pubs and an excellent butcher. It is a good base for walks, visiting stately homes and enjoying the Derbyshire Dales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Liked least: Carrying luggage at each of the stay, but it's not far.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your comfortable and relaxing break. Hope to welcome you again.
Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahesea...
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful little cottage”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

On a cold November weekend, Bramwell Cottage became base for my Mum and I whilst we were exploring the local area (Christmas Market at Chatsworth, afternoon tea in Bakewell, Shopping at the Peak Village). The cottage was extremely clean and tidy, very well appointed with everything you could need and the added bonus of 2 bathrooms. The log burner was a very welcome addition as well as the log basket to get us going. We felt very at home in the cottage and extremely comfortable. We ventured down into the village to the pub (the nearest one on the left hand side) which served lovely food and had a roaring fire! I would definitely return to Bramwell Cottage. The booking process was very easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely view from the back of the property, cosiness and log burning stove
Liked least: Parking
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review, you did have a fun time didn't you. There is so much to enjoy in the area as well as in the village.
Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L
Camperdown, Australia
1 review
“Cosy cottage in a lovely part of the Peak District”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

A cosy and very well equipped cottage, in a pleasant little village, in the heart of the southern Peak District. Our host Ali was very welcoming and helpful. A rainy week unfortunately, so we weren't able to embark on as many long walks as planned. However, on the wet days we kept ourselves busy exploring Youlgrave and the many fascinating villages in the beautiful surrounding countryside. The "Well Dressings" were of great interest to us Aussies, as were the many local Queen's Jubilee events that coincided with our visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bramwell cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable cottage in a fascinating area
Liked least: The rainy days!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
Thanks very much for your lovely words, the weather is the only thing I cant seem to influence :) glad you had a lovely time despite the downpours.
Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reb_mars
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage in a beautiful village”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Bramwell cottage was a small but perfectly formed cottage, great for a weekend away for me and my boyfriend. The view from the terrace was superb and being in the countryside, lots of nice walks on the doorstep. We ventured into the village, and the pub were good, great Saturday night atmosphere. Although the chap behind the counter in the newsagents could brush up on his P&Qs!! The weather was on our side 25C!! Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the cottage
Liked least: spending too much time trying to find the cottage as it is quite tucked away, thank goodness for a local who helped us out.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review and so glad you had a lovely weekend. Its a erfect base for exploring the local area and the Peaks generally.
Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing