We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for walking from the door”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Overdale Cottage

Lounge with spiral staircase, beamed ceiling and a comfy leather suite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with spiral staircase, beamed ceiling and a comfy leather suite
Original gritstone fireplace with wood burning stove and exposed stone wall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
118 reviews
Lounge with spiral staircase, beamed ceiling and a comfy leather suite
Original gritstone fireplace with wood burning stove and exposed stone wall
Bathroom with shower over bath
The roof terrace - sit and relax and take in the fantastic views of Bradford Dale and beyond
Overdale Cottage showing the roof terrace
Looking towards Bankside and Overdale Cottage
The old clapper bridge at the bottom of the footpath, looking towards Middleton Dale
Bradford Dale - at the bottom of the footpath
The swimming area in Bradford Dale
Clapper bridge at the bottom of Bradford Road
The packhorse bridge, Bradford Dale
The Fountain, erected after a campaign by local women who had to haul water up from the river
Lathkill Dale, just a short walk from the cottage
There are numerous walks in and around Lathkill Dale
Lathkill Dale - spectacular scenery
Looking down on Lathkill Dale
Alport - another short walk from the cottage
Alport - vagabonds be warned!
Try a Bakewell Pudding from the original shop
Bridge over the River Wye, Bakewell
Peak Rail - take the steam train from Rowsley to Matlock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peakmonke...
Worcs
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location for walking from the door”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Booked this cottage for a short break with hubby and dogs. What we liked about it was the position close to Bradford dale and being able to walk from the cottage. It was spotlessly clean on arrival with everything you could want for a break in the dales. It's not easy getting to the cottage from the road so may be an issue for some. However it's walking distance to a great pub (the farmyard inn) where we ate on 3 out of 4 nights. Owners very accommodating and it was a smooth booking process. Lovely raised sitting out area looking over the dale.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Overdale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
933nova2
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage is in a great location with nice views over the dale. Youlgreve is central to areas where we did many walks over the week.
The cottage was as it was advertised, and very comfortable for 2 people.
Hard to get the big bags up the spiral staircase, so we left them downstairs No big issue as there was plenty of room for them in the lounge area.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Really nice to hear you enjoyed your stay at Overdale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyabb455
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little cottage in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Overdale for a week in June, with our 5 month old baby and a dog! The cottage is perfect, very clean, had everything we needed, and best of all the location was fantastic. It is a great spot to visit nearby villages/towns and explore the Peak Districts. There is a beautiful little river just a short walk from the cottage too (which the dog loved!). The Farmyard Inn is a great pub, great food, and is dog friendly too - definitely worth a visit! Phil & Sue were very helpful too - highly recommend.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at overdale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Peak District Gem”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is a gem if you need to drop out of the rat race and relax. It's full of character, very well presented. Situated in the beautiful Derbyshire village on the slopes of river Bradford dale. The cottage is well equipped and very clean. We absolutely loved the view from the roof sun terrace of Bradford dale. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and can't recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the cottage
Liked least: Slight gripe, the walk to and from the where we parked the car but we are older.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at overdale
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madonna m
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Couple”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a fantastic time at the cottage its superb the views are stunning youlgreave is lovely place great pubs and people we loved every minute just perfect. Thank you Phill and Sue

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne197...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overdale cottage”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a lovely stay at overdale cottage , great location the cottage is very cosy and the woodburner a real treat, we had lovely walks with our dog, three good pubs offering great food and very welcoming, would definitely recommend youlgreave as a great place to visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, lovely views and great location.”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Comfortable, cozy cottage for two in the lovely village of Youlgreave. Fantastic views and walks to be had. Everything you need for a self catering stay although the Farmyard Inn is well worth a visit.

We had a lovely stay over Easter with our dog and enjoyed some lovely walks in the area. We are not walkers (and were clearly in the minority) and also used the rental as a base to explore Bakewell and Buxton.

Not suitable for those with mobility problems. Parking available on the street a short walk away. This is made clear on booking and communication with the owner was clear with lots of tips and advice given.

We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The initial walk with luggage until we found a closer parking spot!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing