We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic friendly pub with excellent food and staff”
Review of The Farmyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Farmyard Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Youlgreave B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly pub with excellent food and staff”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at the Farmyard Inn for one night whilst visiting Chatsworth House. We both agreed it was a perfect night away. We spent the evening eating and drinking in the pub in front of a lovely open fire. Both our meals were excellent. Not Gastro pub fare (that's not what we wanted) but good, honest, home cooked pub food. Between us we had the sirloin steak, cooked medium rare as requested, served with all the extras, lovely crispy chips and a generous side salad a Beef bourguignon with mashed potatoes and lovely fresh vegetables. All very tasty and of a far higher standard than many pub meals. We had excellent wine and very attentive, friendly service. The atmosphere in the pub that evening was great. Lots of locals and visitors enjoying themselves. Our room was comfortable, clean and warm. Breakfast was delicious and generous, local sausages, plenty of toast and our coffee refilled without having to ask. We found Sue and her staff extremely friendly. welcoming and down to earth. We will certainly return and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MEH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    61
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
43
127
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Looked fabulous on the web site reality a bit disappointing. Breakfast had to be ordered the night before but we still had to wait for it to be cooked,service slow evening meal nice good portion sizes but again service slow. Fantastic log fires though. Overall pricy,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilyhstornoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We will agree that the landlady greets you with a smile & appears very friendly on arrival. As long as everything runs smoothly & you don't complain, then her stress levels remain at a low level.
I believe the guest who wrote a review on 16th September 2012, described the landlady as an aggressive woman who was rude & quite dreadful in her attitude. Well that's exactly how we found her to be over the new year perod. Out first day started well with a very good breakfast. The dinner we had that night was not very good at all. Prawns that were like rubber & a seafood sauce full of vinegar. The lamb shank was tough & the steak pie has been cremated. The brussel sprouts were as hard as nails. She questioned another couple rather embarrassingly, why they had left all of their sprouts. Unfortunately we couldn't hear the couple's reply. We decided not to eat at the Farmyard for the next two nights.
New year's eve we new there was going to be a party for the locals. The landlady rang to inform us of this & to say it might only be a late continental beakfast. This was because she didn't want to get up too early to prepare. We decided to try & book other accommodation, but weren't able to find anything at that late stage. But at breatfast on new years eve morning, we met a guest & his family from Scotland. Sue the landlady, told us that he was going to cook breakfast new year's morning. The chap himself told us that breakfast would be served at 10 am, which was fine by us. It left time to meet up with a few others for a long walk.
Sue came into our room that night to check the noise level of the party & at that time with the door shut, it wasn't too bad really. She told us that she would get everybody downstairs after midnight. That didn't happen. The noise level was very loud obviously, not to mention the "F"ing & blinding right outside the door. It went on till about 2.30 am then it went quiet. The bed was very hard, so it was an uncomfortable three nights all round.
Next morning we found a tray outside our door with cereal on it & a note saying she had tried to keep the noise down. If we wanted breakfast, it would be served downstairs at 10 am. Well we tried to get down to breakfast, but all the doors were locked & there was no signs of life. We gave up at 10.15 & went into Bakewell for breakfast. Byways restaurant cooked us a lovely breakfast. Their food is always great & it's a warm & friendly place to go after a long walk.
That night before we went out, the barmaid was sent up to are room to ask for full payment of the bill.........WHAT A CHEEK!! The barmaid said Sue had to be somewhere in the morning & the chap cooking the breakfast couldn't use the till. We think they thought we might leave without paying, which we would not have done. I felt a little sorry for the barmaid having to do her dirty work for her. My husband paid the bill & said that neither of us were happy about the debacle that was breakfast, or not as in our case. The barmaid apolgised for that, but it was up to Sue to do the apologising. £10.00 was knocked off the bill for the missed breakfast, but it did not cover the full cost to us for paying for it in Bakewell plus the parking fee. We were then over charged by £70 for our stay, but this was sorted out the next morning.
Apparently the chef didn't turn up for work on new year's day at the Farmyard, so everybody went to the George in the village for lunch. It was extremely busy, but it was service with a smile, no stress or strong language from any of the staff. It was a really nice atmosphere.
We went to breakfast on the morning we left & Sue was there to serve. At no point did she make any attempt to apologise for the breakfast fiasco. Her appearance was scruffy & unkempt, but when you are front of house providing breakfasts, your appearance should be smart at all times - even if you had been drunk the night before.
I chose to remain silent throughout breakfast, this was to keep my now simmering temper in check.We thought maybe her apology would come before we left, but we were wrong. We were met with sarcastic comments of which we have never seen before, which quite frankly made her look silly. This was her first christmas running the pub & it would have been better to have concentrated on running an efficient B 'n' B, rather than laying on a party for yourself & your friends. Im sure that our review would have looked a little different.
All said & done, I'm sorry to say we will not be returning to the Farmyard. There are too many nice welcoming pubs in the area with genuinely friendly atmosphere, who do not serve a side order of attitude.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just enjoyed a lovely meal at the Farmyard Inn. Food was very fresh, beautifully cooked and very tasty. Lovely atmosphere sitting in front of an open fire. A good selection of quality ales and friendly attentive service. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JSutton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited Youlgreave this weekend for my girlfriend's mum's 60th birthday. We visited the Farmyard Inn all three nights of our stay.

We were made fantastically welcome by the landlady and as soon as we saw the food come out on night one we were convinced this was where we were going to eat during our stay.

The front bar is tight and snug and there isn't always a lot of room to move, however that adds to the ambiance and only proves how popular this little place is, even on Sunday night it was heaving.

The food was superb value for money, my steak pie was pretty much a slab of steak with pastry on the top and bottom, you couldn't have squeezed any more meat into it! The fish was huge and tasty and the lamb shank had literally fallen from the bone.

Dessert was a highlight, in particular the butterscotch cheesecake and bakewell pudding.

There are several places to eat and drink in the village, but I thoroughly recommend you pass them all on by on your way to the Farmyard Inn!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spongmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This has to be one of the best Bed & Breakfast Inns. We stayed for 3 nights at the Farmyard Inn on our walking holiday with another couple. The guest rooms were spotless, comfortable beds, great en-suite . Ample tea/coffee making in your room , TV what more could you ask tastefully decorated perfect.
The Landlady Sue was very attentive to all our needs and made you feel so welcomed and nothing was to much trouble, timings for breakfast to suit you is a bonus. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and plenty of real fresh coffee.
We dined in the pub and again the menu was great and the food was outstanding, compliments to the chef. Lots of real Ale and a huge log fire made the evenigs just great. The pub was often quite busy with walkers but nice to meet with the locals and chat.
All in all this was an excellent choice in a great location and cannot wait to return in the near future , and as for the Landlady Sue you should be very proud of your place you work so hard and always had a smile and chat , wishing you all the best for the future Mny thanks Dee, Stephen,Jenny&Sam

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delightful007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at The Farmyard in between 28th and 30th October 2012.
We felt welcome from the moment we stepped over the threshold. Sue and Andrea were more than accomodating.
The rooms were warm and had everything that we needed. The breakfast was substantial and came with friendly conversation from the bubbly 'Sue' who runs the establishment and is not affraid of hard work!!
We are well travelled and eat out at a different restaurant on Hi Life every week and can advise that the evening meals were of a very high standard. Hot tasty home cooking. The Black Pudding entrée and Hunters Chicken main were delicious, as was the Monkfish Tails and Sweet Potato and Spinach curry. We had planned to eat at a number of neighbouring restaurants but had no desire to after the first meal at the Farmyard!
The location has eight planned walks from it and whilst we were there we visited Bakewell and Castleton.
Youlgreave is a quaint, sleepy and yet charismatic village in the Debryshire Dales and The Farmyard is the jewel in the crown.
We highly recommend it for a break in the countryside.

Room Tip: All rooms are named after farm enclosures and we stayed in the Pig Sty which was right next to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youlgreave
2.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,720 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmyard Inn

Property: The Farmyard Inn
Address: Main Street, Youlgreave, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Youlgreave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Youlgreave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Farmyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmyard Hotel Youlgreave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing