We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“QUAINT AND QUIRKY BUT WELCOMING AND COMFORTABLE”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CharlesRi...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“QUAINT AND QUIRKY BUT WELCOMING AND COMFORTABLE”
Reviewed January 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

The homemade cake presented to us by the owner was particularly welcoming and set the tone for the friendly hospitality provided throughout our stay.

The fixtures and fittings in Turret Cottage may not have been absolutely pristine but everything worked and overall the property was in a very clean and tidy condition.

The cottage proved to be an excellent centre for exploring the highlights of Derbyshire which included walking through the dales around Youlgreave and visiting nearby Chatsworth.

We enjoyed our visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The dishwasher
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Facilities under par for 21st century travellers”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We found this property a big disappointment and nothing like the quality we have previously experienced with Sykes Cottages. It was all very tired and the carpets grubby and contrary to the listing, no fridge/freezer, just a small fridge with ice box, neither was there the promised patio. The bathroom is in dire need of updating, no towel rail, no toilet roll holder and no facilities for toiletries, unless one counts a ledge where the pipes are boxed in. Although the garden has a pleasant grassed area, it can't be seen from the cottage, the only view being of a builders tip and 20 feet wall at the back and the road through the village at the front. This is not the fault of the owner, but is not what is expected from a "country" cottage. On the plus side, the bedding and crockery were clean. A lovely village, with pubs and small shops, in a picturesque setting but, unfortunately, the accommodation was a let down. Luckily, the weather was good.
I'm sure the cottage is fine for those who like walking with their dogs, but not for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village.
Liked least: The cottage.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Youlgreave hotels

Stevenage
Reviewed January 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Wales
Reviewed December 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing