We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best weekend ever!!”
wake up to Chatsworth in the mist mural
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wake up to Chatsworth in the mist mural
Short stroll to a wine bar or meal in Wirksworth Relax with friends
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
wake up to Chatsworth in the mist mural
Short stroll to a wine bar or meal in Wirksworth
Relax with friends
Dine outside French style in the sun trap alongside the barbecue
Relax in this bath at Agricola House, sauna is next door
stunning scenery for you to enjoy
Peak District around Kinder Scout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
_amygadsb...
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best weekend ever!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A group of 12 ladies stayed here for my hen weekend from Friday 13th-15th October 2017. We couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay, the house was amazing and so spacious! The rooms were all decorated beautifully with quirky features. The house itself had all the amenities we needed and the owner even left us chocolates & wine which was a thoughtful touch. I had the best weekend ever - made special with who I went with but also with the fantastic place we stayed in! Couldn’t fault it at all & would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayjack31
conwy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just come back from a weekend celebrating our wedding anniversary with our children and their families. Agricola house is in an ideal location in the pretty and interesting little town of Wirksworth and an ideal spot for visiting other nearby attractive towns, villages and outdoor activities on Carsington water and walking in the peaks. The house itself cannot be faulted. The rooms are individual, vey comfortable and have interesting little quirky features. Bathroom and showers worked very well. It was spotless and had everything we could possibly need including a big cupboard of games and toys for the kids. They made good use of them and the cinema room! We all loved playing outdoor games like badminton and boules on the lawn and sat in the large suntrap private patio at the back of the house, finishing off with a bbq. We all had the most amazing weekend there and can highly recommend it for a large gathering. Could not have been better in any way. Thank you Mark and Rachel for the thoughtful welcome pack of speciality coffee, tea, chocs and wine. Much appreciated.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay M
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great house for a family gathering”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Amazing, Perfect, Brilliant

just some of the words to describe the house.

It's a perfect place for a family get together.

There were 15 of us in total 4 family's, 3 generations and 7 kids and it was perfect for celebrating our parents 50th wedding anniversary

the rooms are well decorated and maintained, the bathrooms are clean and ideal for the number of people and the common areas were great for getting together and creating some special memories

the house is just perfect and the surrounding areas lovely. Mark and Rachael are also fantastic. they were very quick to respond to emails and phones calls before we arrived to ensure we had the best time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleethorp...
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great for larger groups”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I always endeavour to be as honest as I can. Agricola House was previously council offices and although cleverly converted we all felt it still had a 'commercial' feel but this does not detract from the overall appeal of the building. The positives: Ground level accommodation with quirky features, quality bedding, plenty of bathroom facilities and room to move. Kitchen especially spacious with lots of general storage, well equipped with an abundance of tableware, glasses, cookware etc. Central but (generally) quiet location being a short stroll to shops and restaurants. And now the negative, written more as things you might need to be aware of...there is limited chilled/frozen food storage (in my opinion totally inadequate) when accommodating up to 14 people. We were together as a family enjoying time together and didn't want to eat out much so brought everything we needed but had to rush out and buy bags of ice to keep our food fresh. Not good. The 'sound-proof cinema room' (which is not sound-proof at all) houses the only TV in the entire building. If folks are on the x-box there's no back-up TV anywhere for other people. If you are part of a hen party you'll probably be either going out (or passed out!) so won't be bothered, but family gatherings might expect their viewing needs to be facilitated. The Sunday morning church bells next door are loud. I personally liked the sound but other party members were annoyed at being woken up too early!. The quirky features in rooms are delightful BUT some are impractical and I tore my lovely silk blouse on a protruding bolt on a wardrobe door so do take care. Despite the negatives it is a good place to stay for a large gathering.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thanks for the feedback and glad you found Agricola a good place to stay within the conservation area of Wirksworth, close to shops and restaurants as you mention. This does give you the option of eating out and there are also 2 small supermarkets in walking distance plus a deli. If you do bring a lot of food there are 2 fridges at Agricola as the large wine fridge can be converted by adapting the shelves. We are also looking at additional solutions to providing extra fridge space. The cinema room was once the hearing test room for the village surgery and so should be designed to be very well sound proofed;it has very thick walls. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystalti...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place for larger groups”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a long weekend here with 10 friends, so there were 12 of us in all. The building has been very nicely decorated, all the bedrooms are individually themed and a bit quirky. Even though it is by the church and in the centre of town it was very quiet and peaceful.

Everything you would need for your stay is there, the cinema room was a great space, although we didn't get around to using the sauna. The kitchen table was big enough for everybody to sit down together and eat, as well as play board games!!

The town itself is very pretty, and full of history, I would recommend using the heritage guides to find your way around, and it is a great jumping off point for walking in the peaks. Lots of walking on the doorstep for all abilities, we did the walk around Carsington Water.

It is definitely a place we hope to return to.

Thank you Mark & Racheal:-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T
1 review
“Excellent house, great location, worth every penny!!!”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked Agricola House for a family celebration, throughout the booking process the owners were very swift to respond to questions and were more than willing to provide help.

The house itself is a mixed beauty; not one bedroom is the same as another, and these quirks added to the atmosphere.

Location wise we couldn't have asked for more, close enough to have a stroll to bar/restaurants with easy access routes if wanting to travel further afield.

Would I book again; absolutely!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cazrinda
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect for a family get together”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Exactly what we needed. Comfortable, clean, stylish and centrally located accommodation for 13 family members coming together to celebrate a 70th birthday. The space allowed us all to mingle as much as we wanted and to have privacy whenever it was needed. Wirksworth was great - we did a treasure hunt challenge which blew away cobwebs and helped us explore unexpected areas. There is no doubt, we will be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing