We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house, perfect location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Durham House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tokyolou
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house, perfect location”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was a perfect house for a 40th birthday party with friends. The house is full of charm and character while still having every modern convenience you could want for a long weekend. It is perfectly positioned in a delightful town, complete with independent cinema and inexpensive but lovely bistot. Tamsin was wonderfully accommodating and I really can't recommend the house enough. Thanks so much!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt611
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had four couples, 3 children and 2 babies so needed a big place! This was perfect. All the rooms were big and clean. The house was very quirky yet had all mod cons. Great location too. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a weekend way with good friends,”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here recently to celebrate my husbands 40th and loved it, 3 families making memories and such a wonderful time! The kids loved the house, playing hide and seek up and down the servants staircases, and the grown ups loved the well equipped kitchen, open fires, comfortable surroundings. It was perfect!
The surrounding area was lovely, enjoyed swimming at the Arc Leisure centre in Matlock, great modern pool with views over the Dales. Sunday lunch at the Red Lion - within a 5 minute walk from the house - was fab. And a walk up to the quarry and a trip to the playground all helped make the weekend. Simple pleasures but sometimes the best!
We would definitely stay here again - and indeed intend to. My children are already asking when we can go again.
Thank you Tamsin for all your help - a very attentive and helpful owner - but not shouty and were't presented with a list of rules, felt very at home!
And don't forget to try some cheeses from the local deli - perhaps the highlight of my weekend!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and how well equipped the house was.
Liked least: The parking, but only because we had 5 cars between us.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanne212
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we needed for great value.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Durham House for my hen party. We were delighted by this quirky house with mod cons. The staircases made it feel a bit like Hogworts- we didn't know to we're they would lead. The town itself has some nice pubs, and facilities of a small town. The owner was very helpful leading up to the stay. Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 29, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the open fire and views from the house
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing