We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crofter's House and Barn
Nearby Hotels
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$108
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Alfreton(Alfreton)(Great Value!)
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
18
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 19 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

WE spent two nights with Tim and Joan in there beautiful home and enjoyed the well tended pretty garden sitting in the sun and looking at the gloriously views. The accommodation in the main house is a large bedroom with own bathroom with views of the hills of Wirksworth. The charming barn provides bedrooms with there own shower room. There is also a large sitting area to relax. All the accommodation is spotless and provides all you need for a pleasant stay. The breakfast will set you up for the day and should not be missed. Prepared by Joan and Tim with any dietary needs considered. There are lots of things to experience in Wirksworth and the surrounding area. We always wish we could stay longer. Tim and Joan can advise on local attractions, walks, restaurants etc and they are always pleased to help make your stay perfect. We are looking forward to our next trip and will defiantly be booking into The Crofters House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Touring the Peak District for a week we booked 3 nights at The Crofters House & Barn & were delighted with the warm welcome we received from our hosts Joan & Tim.

We stayed in the beautifully furnished bedroom in the House, but were shown the barn which is also very tastefully decorated & caters for families or small groups. Everywhere is immaculately clean.

Joan & Tim were extremely accommodating & nothing was too much trouble, particularly where breakfast was concerned – totally delicious! They couldn’t do enough to make our stay as relaxing & interesting as possible, providing us with tourist information to many historic houses & picturesque locations in the immediate area. They have a lovely little summerhouse which is a perfect place to enjoy tea & biscuits!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here & would have no hesitation in recommending it to everybody, it was excellent value for money - you can’t beat it. We asked if we could stay longer but, due to the fact that they were booked out, we had to move elsewhere. We’ve already decided to go back next year & stay for a week or more.

Room Tip: Exceptional value for the money, much better than your usual B&B & a place you'll want to come back to time & time again
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spent one night at Joan and Tim's lovely home. We were greeted with a drink of our choice and satin the sunny well tended garden eating a delicious home made fruit tart.

Our room was large and tastefully decorated. There was no ensuite but our bathroom was directly next door and a draped curtain ensured privacy.

Joan and Tim were really pleasant and gave recommendations for restaurants in town which we visited and were well pleased with. We were given a house door key when we went out that evening so as not to disturb anyone when we came back fairly late.

Breakfast was delicious and cooked exactly what was required. So large we didn't eat again until teatime.

We would definitely recommend Crofters barn. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Joan and Tim are very good hosts and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. The barn is very comfortable, with its own lounge room and kitchen but posed a few challenges to us as we were a couple and a friend travelling together and the entrance to the barn is through one of the ensuite bathrooms. Something to be considered if you are not a family.
It was very handy having a kitchen in the unit but the addition of some basic cooking utensils for the microwave and the stove would have made it more useful.
Wirksworth is an interesting place to explore and we would have liked more time to see everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sylvia56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The title says it all, in was nice meeting Joan and Tim who are perfect hosts, As a party of three ( my wife and son ) we stay for two nights in the Barn , we could'nt get over the fact that we had booked B&B , in the Barn it's not a couple of rooms , it's a self contained holiday flat, on the first floor, with two very good bedrooms with en suite on the ground floor, what more could you want, maybe a good full English, that goes without saying, it's as the title says - Very Good.
Just like to say, thank you Joan and Tim for making our stay a good one , we will be back.
Also you both still have 100%

Room Tip: Cleanliness is important, the Crofter's house and Barn has it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews