We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a wonderful stay in a magical cottage , couldnt...”
other travelers have booked this property
Hog Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hog Cottage
Lounge New Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Hog Cottage
Lounge
New Kitchen
Dining Room
Bedroom 1
New look Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Snug
Front Garden sitting area
Back Patio sitting area
Garden
Garden
Dogs welcome
Haddon Hall 30 Minutes Drive
Carsington 15 Minute Drive
Chatworth 40 Minutes Drive
lathkill woodlands
Dovedale
Cromford Mill
Cromford
Derbyshire Countryside
Derbyshire Landscape
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris P
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A disappointing cottage”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just stayed a week at Hog Cottage.
Car parking is a nightmare! It's not just the difficult access but the inability to use the limited space outside the cottage because the road is too narrow to allow room for other neighbours to pass with their vehicles. The road itself is steep with a very sharp bend. The bend is so sharp that you need to take two goes at it in order to turn the corner. All this on a steep and potentially icy road justifies my comment of "nightmare"
The bed in the main bedroom is extremely uncomfortable! The mattress has a huge hollow where some very heavy person has slept. It was so bad I even checked to see if some of the wooden slats had broken!
The lean-too dining room is cold and has no views with a roof high stone wall positioned just 6ft from the windows!
The only view from the front is the stone wall of the back of the terraced houses on the opposite side of the narrow road.
All in all disappointing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
I'm really sorry to read this feedback from one of our guests. as we are really proud of the 100% positive feedback which we have received from guests staying with us over the past 15 years in our comment book.

I am sorry this guest had problems parking at Hog Cottage. We recommend that guests park at the bottom of the hill. This is clear on the website. I myself park there every time i visit and i have no issues what so ever about parking.

The mattress is only two years old and is very soft which doesn’t suit everyone. The bed at Hog Cottage is a divan and therefore does not have slats underneath. We are changing the whole bed in April, but only for the reason of getting a King size rather than a double and changing the mattress to a medium soft.

The dining room has very efficient electric heating but this does need to be switched on 10 minutes before use.

We don't claim to have amazing views but we do have a cottage which oozes character and charm.

We appreciate guest feedback and will take it on board any criticism and have used customer comments to improve many aspects of the Cottage over the years.

Anna Fern
Owner of Hog Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 12, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2014
Thanks you so much for your lovely comments. We really appreciate your feed back as we go to great lengths to make sure Hog Cottage offers the very best.
Many thanks
Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terri M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were looking for our stay in England for an authentic "british" house and we found it in the hog cottage. All the furniture and the little things to make it cosy were done with a lot of love for details. Unlike to other holiday homes of our experience, the kitchen is completely equipped, including e.g. scales, toaster, microwave, ... . The parking is not that terrible as written by other guests, just unload the car and park it at the T-junction 40 yards away. The house is located in a quiet area at the outskirts of "Wirksworth, Gem of the Peak". The little town offers a lot of nice shops and restaurants. We also loved the carbootsales, the walkings with our dog and the silence. Highly recommended for a romantic and relaxed stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing