We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jewel in the crown of Wirksworth!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wirksworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 37 Wirksworth
Ranked #2 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Number 37 is probably the best B&B I have stayed in.

I planned to take my girlfriend away for Valentines weekend and was recommended to try this place by some friends.We truly loved our stay!

Chris & Denise were the complete hosts from the moment we arrived on the Friday evening when we were welcomed with tea and homemade cookies. Chris & Denise offered some extremely insightful advice and were a wealth of knowledge surrounding the history of Derbyshires's delightful "hidden gem".

We were shown to our room which was warm,spacious,and very homely. As per previous testaments, the beds were the comfiest I have ever stayed in - there was even a super dooper modern electric blanket.

The best was to come...Breakfast! A range of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, tea, coffee etc and a simply devine full English (with the added bonus of hash browns, too!). All the meat and eggs are locally sourced and Chris & Denise are passionate about supporting the local economy & rightly so. The breakfast was so good I decided to leave my squash diet behind and order the same breakfast for the following morning...with an extra sausage.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Number 37 and would recommend a visit!

*****Five stars!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 125 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were in Wirksworth for the weekend with the family. This is one of the best B&Bs that we've stayed in. Denise and Chris were extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. There was nothing that we wanted for. The beds were comfortable, and the breakfasts were first class. We'd love to stay again, and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisBristow, Owner at Number 37 Wirksworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for that lovely review, Tim, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we thought you did! It was so nice to play a small part in a wedding celebration. We enjoyed meeting all your family too. Best wishes

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Number 37 is a fantastic B and B with friendly hosts and a great location. We were welcomed by tea and fresh cake (so fresh it was still warm) and shown to our comfy room. There is plenty of space to relax and great local information available from your hosts. A good nights sleep was followed by a fresh and tasty breakfast. I would recommend Number 37 without hesitation!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MarkNottingham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisBristow, Owner at Number 37 Wirksworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you, Mark for your lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope that you come back to Wirksworth soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Fabulous welcome, comfiest beds ever, perfect hosts, brilliant breakfast! Booked at very short notice over the Christmas holidays- the bnb is in a superb location, beautiful, spotless and was a real haven.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Number 37 was warm, clean and very welcoming, and the bed was really comfy. Denise and Chris were brilliant hosts, really helped us get the most out of our break, and breakfast was delicious! We really loved the quirkiness and historical feel of Wirksworth, and the live music night our hosts recommend was a great surprise. Jenny and Matt

Room Tip: We stayed in the church view room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyG963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at Number 37 as part of our round the world experience...thus we stayed in a whole host of different places. I must say our short stay at number 37 was certainly one of the most memorable, even compared to five star in Dubai; Number 37 had its own unique and heart warming feel. From the moment we stepped in the welcome from Chris & Denise was so freindly, and we were made to feel very much at home despite our only being there for a short stay. The breakfast was great, (my word they had the best local sausages !) The accomadation was very nice, spotlessly clean and the village of Wirksworth is certainly I feel one of the prettiest in the Peak District, ....and certainly backed up by some great pubs! In summary, great place, great standard, great value, overwhelming hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisBristow, Owner at Number 37 Wirksworth, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

It was a pleasure meeting you, Gary and thank you for that lovely review. We enjoy meeting new and interesting people like yourself, and totally agree with you about Wirksworth's great pubs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic break staying at No 37, which is probably the best B&B in the world. We three women shared a spacious room, enjoying comfy beds (sometimes difficult to leave) and Denise's beautiful breakfasts. And, oh those breakfasts! Vegetarians and carnivores fully catered for with a range of fruits, cereal, granola and yoghurt and cooked breakfasts (veggie or non-veggie) which set us up for the day. Denise and Chris, and their 3 gorgeous felines, really did make us feel that we were staying with friends - incredibly comfortable and relaxing. Two shower rooms just upstairs from our bedroom meant none of us had to wait to get into the bathroom nor did we worry about waking our resident sleepyhead. No 37 is a wonderful base for exploring a truly stunning part of the country. The icing on the cake for all of us was our fellow guests who were warm, welcoming, fascinating people and regular guests. Just a terrific place run by terrific people. Loved every second.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisBristow, Owner at Number 37 Wirksworth, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review, Nikki. We enjoyed having you all to stay during the Wirksworth Arts Festival. Best Wishes, Denise and Chris and all at No 37

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
381 reviews
8.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
385 reviews
2.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Lockup
The Old Lockup
#1 of 5 in Wirksworth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 37 Wirksworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 37 Wirksworth

Address: 37 Coldwell Street, Wirksworth DE4 4FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range: $35 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 37 is a warm, friendly and stylish new bed and breakfast in the fascinating ancient town of Wirksworth in Derbyshire, on the edge of the Peak District. We have three rooms to chose from - Church View is a double, Garden View a double with single, and Hopton Wood a double with a double sofa bed - all designed for a comfortable stay. A variety of lovely Breakfasts are included in the price. Take advantage of our guided walking and cycling, “stone circle and sacred sites” and “unknown Derbyshire” tours, indulge in a massage, enjoy a complimentary stroll around our town with your hosts, explore the area, or simply sit back and relax... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 37 Wirksworth England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing