We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wirksworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 37 Wirksworth
Ranked #2 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
worcestershire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“first class B&B”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at Number 37 29th May - 1st june. myself my wife and our dog. I can honestly say this was the friendliest B&B I have ever stayed at. Not only do that provide a lovely room, first class breakfast and help and advice on local walks and restaurants, there's always always a slice of cake to greet you on your return from a long walk. Chris & Denise are excellent hosts who do go that extra mile to make your stay a little special. The rooms are not en suite but this didn't trouble us in any way. We had the ground floor room with access to the garden There was a toilet cloakroom next to our door and the shower room was up a flight of stairs. I would certainly recommend this accommodation to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
66
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's great to find a comfortable place to stay that welcomes 2 small dogs. Chris and Denise are very welcoming and, as well as cooking a very filling breakfast in the morning, provided advice on local walks and restaurants. The little treat waiting for us on our return in the afternoon was delicious and just what we needed after a long walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smi721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

What can I say? This place is a real gem! From the very start we were made to feel very welcome, the place has a very home from home feel to it. It was the little details which really made the difference, fresh milk brought up to our room and a real treat was the home made ginger cake! If you are travelling around the area you can ask Chris and Denise as their local knowledge is amazing, they can even give you a guided tour on your break. The rooms are light and have a fresh feel to them, the beds are really comfortable we had a great nights sleep. We will be going back and if your looking for a charming and great place to stay in this very pretty town look no further.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This B&B is the most welcoming because of the hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed home cooked food on our first night and massages on our 2nd night. Little touches like fresh milk in the room make all the difference. Chris recommended a local walk for us and we went to Le Mistral restaurant for our 2nd nights meal. Breakfast was great. We are returning with our son and bikes to explore some more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Really loved our night's stay, we wanted a little break in the country and got everything we'd hoped for. Chris and Denise were happy to provide us will lots of information about the local area. We had dinner in the Le Mistral up the road, which caters to both omnivore and vegan tastes (and does a great deal from Sunday to Wednesday of two main meals and a bottle of wine for £23). Church View room was super comfortable, very nicely decorated and well-stocked with milk/soymilk, lots of different teas, coffee, water, books on the Peak District, fiction novels. The vegan breakfast was great, and loved having a chat with the very down-to-earth, approachable Chris and Denise, before going on a walk through the hills. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at no. 37 recently. Chris & Denise were the perfect hosts, so friendly and welcoming. They were great at suggesting places to go and suitable walks to do with a one year old. Chris and Denise also do a lovely brekkie, we resisted the temptation of a full-English and opted instead for the porridge, eggs and toast with yummy home-made jam, which set us up for the day! We also enjoyed hearing Chris' anecdotes of life in Wirksworth and Denise was more than happy to keep our little girl entertained while my husband and I ate our food. We especially enjoyed finding afternoon cakes in the room after a long walk and one night Denise cooked up a delicious 3 course dinner for us. So we had no need to venture out into the cold! All in all we found No. 37 a really fun and cosy place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Really glad we stayed with Denise & Chris. We were made to feel very welcome even by the cats! Placed very central it was ideal for the 50th birthday bash at the town hall. The room(church View) was very comfortable and the provision of fresh milk in a thermos flask was so much better than the usual long life mini cartons provided at most hotels & b &bs. Breakfast was delicious with as much coffee and tea as you wanted. Wirksworth is a nice town and is ideally placed for walking and cycling. What I would say and this is purely a personal point of view is that the lack of on suite was ok for a brief stay but for anything more than a night would put me off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshiretrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
347 reviews
2.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Lockup
The Old Lockup
#1 of 5 in Wirksworth
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 37 Wirksworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 37 Wirksworth

Property: Number 37 Wirksworth
Address: 37 Coldwell Street, Wirksworth DE4 4FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 37 is a warm, friendly and stylish new bed and breakfast in the fascinating ancient town of Wirksworth in Derbyshire, on the edge of the Peak District. We have three rooms to chose from - Church View is a double, Garden View a double with single, and Hopton Wood a double with a double sofa bed - all designed for a comfortable stay. A variety of lovely Breakfasts are included in the price. Take advantage of our guided walking and cycling, “stone circle and sacred sites” and “unknown Derbyshire” tours, indulge in a massage, enjoy a complimentary stroll around our town with your hosts, explore the area, or simply sit back and relax... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 37 Wirksworth England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing