We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 37 Wirksworth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wirksworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 37 Wirksworth
Ranked #2 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I know Wirksworth well, so when we couldn't rent either of the cottages we usually stay in, we decided to try Denise and Chris' B&B after hearing about it at the Royal Oak on a previous visit. We were not disappointed. Accompanied by our big black Labrador cross, Winston, we were made thoroughly welcome. The place is truly dog-friendly. One point for anyone who might be allergic, I should point out that you really need to like cats to stay here - there are three resident moggies who are truly delightful. Winston, who lives with a cat at home, could not understand why they didn't fawn around him as he's used to!

Our room (Church View) was large, with plenty of space for Winston to spread out as well. A delightful touch is the settee to sit on to watch television (such a really nice change from having to lie on the bed and crick one's neck!). The bed is comfortable and the decor throughout the house is tasteful and well thought out, if a trifle 'new age' in character. The rooms have private bathrooms and ours was superb with a wonderful deep P-bath and power shower. The only practical suggestion I would make is that wet-shavers like myself would appreciate a small mirror closer to the wash-basin. If we were staying longer than our three nights, I would have mentioned this and am confident that Denise and Chris would have come up with something - they are so helpful. However, although we knew in advance that the 18th century house is just not suitable for en-suites, I'm sorry but we still really found it slightly uncomfortable having to leave our bedroom among strangers to visit the bathroom.

Breakfasts were brilliant and made from locally-sourced produce. We went for the full English but were pleased to see that vegetarians and vegans are equally well catered for - not just as an after-thought but as a deliberate policy.

Our personal feelings about private rather than en-suite bathrooms would not prevent us from staying here again if we needed a B&B in Wirksworth in the future. This is quality, comfort and friendliness and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Talk through your requirements when you book - the house has three very different rooms to suit vary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cappycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
62
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We came with 2 kids and we were very well welcomed.
Denise was always helpful,
The B&B is nice, you just feel like you are at home but you have nothing to do,
We really enjoyed the breakfasts.
A place to stay...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I found this place by accident. Great location, genuinely dog friendly. We just turned up to find brilliant hosts, lovely, lovely home. I was a bit nervous, as the place is so pristine, but there was no fussiness: just keep the dog on the lead in the house, as there are cats: no problem.
Breakfast was great, hosts hospitable. I'm going back for a week in the spring!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Travelled to Wirksworth with my wife Tammy and 9 month old daughter Carys as part of exploration of Peak District and roots of my family tree. Hosts Denise and Chris accomodated our every need and even put on dinner for us on the first night at short notice. The location was perfect for our holiday and though there was not 'onsite' parking there was ample free parking within a minutes walk. We stayed 2 nights in the 'Church View' room and it was spacious for us to setup Carys portacot and playmat while still providing room for to 'spread out'. The breakfast choices were extensive and well cooked, providing a good base for our daily journeys. Chris and Denise were very knowledgable on places to visit/routes to drive and not much could have been asked of them. The free WiFi was also beneficial in planning our next destination. Highly recommended for travellers and those with young children.

Room Tip: The church room has double bed and room for cot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

We were attending a concert in the area and had Number 37 recommended to us by another local B&B that was full.
As we hadn't visited the area before we decided to make a weekend of it and stayed for the Friday and Saturday nights and couldn't have had a nicer time.
We ate in the village on the Friday night and Chris and Denise made us very welcome taking us on a tour of the area on the Saturday.
Had such a good time we have been back once and intend to return again this summer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RagingBull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We were looking for dog friendly accomodation in the Peak District, and stumbled upon Number 37 on the internet. What a lucky find!

Number 37 is a beautiful family home, with the first floor converted into 2 bedrooms. Despite it being a family home, we were made to feel at home immediately! Our room was bright and airy, with a jug of fresh milk for tea and coffee laid out for us just before we arrived and some lovely little nibbles from the local bakery (which were replenished every day - we really looked forward to seeing what we got!)

Breakfast was equally delicious for me (veggie) and my husband (committed canivore). Chris also made us walking maps every morning and asked us what type of walk we'd like and marked them out on the map, with suggested stops at dog friendly pubs.

We enjoyed it so much we stayed 3 nights instead of the 2 we had originally booked, and look forward to the next trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We wanted a holiday that was relaxed with no cooking and comfortable surroundings! A B & B seemed the answer and we found Number 37 to be ideal for what we wanted. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice and good quality food. We had several evening meals also which were very tasty. Both Denise and Chris were always there to help with very good knowledge of the surrounding area. Even though we stayed for a week we managed to be quite organised in the family room which was well equipped and very comfortable. In fact, we have just re-booked for a long weekend during the Easter holiday and are looking forward to seeing both Denise and Chris again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecatling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 37 Wirksworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 37 Wirksworth

Property: Number 37 Wirksworth
Address: 37 Coldwell Street, Wirksworth DE4 4FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 37 is a warm, friendly and stylish new bed and breakfast in the fascinating ancient town of Wirksworth in Derbyshire, on the edge of the Peak District. We have three rooms to chose from - Church View is a double, Garden View a double with single, and Hopton Wood a double with a double sofa bed - all designed for a comfortable stay. A variety of lovely Breakfasts are included in the price. Take advantage of our guided walking and cycling, “stone circle and sacred sites” and “unknown Derbyshire” tours, indulge in a massage, enjoy a complimentary stroll around our town with your hosts, explore the area, or simply sit back and relax... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 37 Wirksworth England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing