We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent welcome & breakfasts”
Review of The Old Lockup

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Lockup
Ranked #1 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome, from Tim with tea/coffee and cake and a friendly cat (The cat giving warm welcome, not part of the tea & cake) Stayed in the 'Old Hayloft' room, adjacent to the main house. Good clean room, comfy bed, truffles and teddy on the bed. We didn't watch TV during our stay, but the TV could do with updating - if that is important to you. The bathroom clean & functional but bijou and could do with a bit of updating. Excellent choice of breakfasts and they were plentiful and tasty. A good weekend bolt-hole.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eggandchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 316 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

We made a last minute decision to re-visit this area but every hotel had only one room left, and we don't like to be pressured; then we found the Old Lockup which proved to be just the unusual sort of place we favour. Magistrates for two nights we enjoyed the warmth of Tim's welcome and hospitality and indeed were in danger of talking far into the night. Do remember to book your dinner in plenty of time, for a treat which does not over face, but is just right. With easy access to so many attractions this is definitely a place to return to - as often as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for a relaxing long weekend break. Arrived to be greeted by our host Tim, his lovely cat Moriarty, a lovely cup of tea and ginger cake. We were then taken to The Magistrate's room which was delightful, clean and comfortable with a welcome pack of locally handmade chocolates on the pillow. After a relaxing night's sleep we were treated to an excellent breakfast which set us up for a lovely day in The Dales. Standards remained high for the whole of our 3 night stay, Tim was the perfect host. We would certainly recommend this quirky little gem of a B&B and would love to return in the future, what a find. Ken & Julie.

Room Tip: The Old Lockup has 4 tastefully decorated rooms, all with ensuite facilities, and all but The Magist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Tim was an excellent host for our break over the bank holiday weekend. We stayed in the Coachman's room, very comfy bed and light and airy. Loved biscuits and truffles! Breakfast yummy. We enjoyed making friends with Moriarty. Fantastic location for exploring. We visited Kedlestone Hall en route, and the Heights of Abraham and Bakewell on Sunday, this morning was a walk at Ilam Park. Batteries fully recharged.

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room ask for a room in the main house. I liked no wifi- no work e-mails!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Went to Wirksworth with Mrs Duckworth for a romantic weekend away, and found The Old Lockup at late notice..

And what a fantastic find it was!

Greeted with a first class homemade cake and tea, served on beautiful white crockery. It was a great start to a wonderful stay.

Mine host Tim was friendly yet gave us space to explore the fascinating history of the building. The Magistrate's Room was wonderful - warm tones combined with exposed brick walls. The bathroom is quite small, but we loved the room.

Breakfast was a real treat. Delicious sausages, black pudding and homemade bread were among the highlights.

The Old Lockup is that rare thing - quality, value and just the right side of quirky to ensure it'll be a visit we'll always remember.


Yours,

@thisisjukebox



Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank thisisjukebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a lovely nostalgic stay in Wirksworth.
Tim was the perfect host and went to a lot of trouble to cater for my wife's dietary needs.
The breakfast was excellent and the room was lovely and clean and comfortable.
Would definitely recommend this quirky little gem.
Martin and Nicola

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend break in the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. We definitely weren't disappointed. Tim welcomed us with tea and cake and made us feel at home. We stayed in the magistrate's room which had everything we needed. Enjoyed a lovely evening meal and the breakfast was also lovely. Can heartily recommend this gem.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sylvia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
108 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
397 reviews
7.2 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
407 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 3 in Matlock
425 reviews
9.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lockup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lockup

Address: 46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range: $117 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lockup 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842 as the magistrate's house and later used as a police station The Old Lockup is now a quirky but luxurious guest house boasting four double bedrooms, all en-suite, and fantastic breakfasts. Set in the Derbyshire Dales on the edge of the Peak District National Park and just four miles from Carsington Water there really is something for everyone. Chatsworth House, the Tissington and High Peak trails and more walking than you can shake a stick at are all on the doorstep. Looking for an unusual place to spend that romantic break? Well maybe you just found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Lockup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Lockup Wirksworth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing