We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A prison we didn't want to leave”
Review of The Old Lockup

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Lockup
Ranked #1 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Old Lock Up over the bank holiday. Lying just a few miles from stately Chatsworth house and the most scenic walks in the area, it was the perfect base from which to explore all the Peaks have to offer.

The manager, Tim, was very helpful in advising us on which walks to take and even sold us tickets to Chatsworth House at a discounted rate. His fantastic fry up was the best fuel for the miles and miles of trekking which are an absolute must when in the Peaks.

We took on the Monsal circuit route - a 10 mile walk with stunning views of some of the best scenery I've seen in England. At times, it felt like we were playing parts in a Lord of the rings spin off. We also indulged in a bakewell tart in the town in which they were invented and visited Chatsworth House with its intricate paintings and unbelievable splendor.

The village of Wirksworth is charming and incredibly peaceful. There seemed to be more pubs than people and only two restaurants to choose from. We ate at the Mistral twice, which served reasonably priced French food. The best things about the pubs are the range of local ales at just £1.50 a pint and the way that the locals turn and look at you as you walk in. It's like something from a Harry Enfield sketch but try and stifle your laugh.

The Old Lock Up was the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of London and my lungs feel like they've been pulled out and scrubbed clean of all the dirt and grime of city living.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonbscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 312 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

I would really recommend The Old Lock-Up, a very unique place to stay in a nice, picturesqe market town on the edge of the stunning Peak District. Tim the owner is lovely and extremely helpful. He cooked us a delicious meal on our first night and was more than happy to let our dog stay too. Lovely little touches in the hotel - like all the memorabilia from its days as a prison as well as chocolates and yummy biscuits in the room. Very good value for money. The only let down was the weather but you can't blame Tim for that!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Lovely and helpful and a brilliant welcome, decor and character of the Old Luckup is brilliant, steeped in history and relics of the old police station.
Our room was spotless and without fault, excellent comfy bed and even had the original barred door on entrance, excellent facilities and tea coffee, and a fully functional TV with the channels you want to realx too.
But if you don't want that visit the bar in the entrance hall and relax in the living room and browse the history surrounding it, there's plenty to do in the village with the amazing antique shop and excellent cakes and coffee rooms.
Food at the old Luckup was spot on and a amazing cooked breakfast to set you up for the day, the owner is very informative on where to go and what to do.
We will frequent him again and bring others as its ideal for dog owners too which we should of brought.

Room Tip: No tips it's all good !! Excellent area and quite. 1 minute walk into the centre of the Wirkswor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Good location to base ourselves for our 3 night birthday treat break in Derbyshire. The breakfasts and evening meal we enjoyed during our stay at the "old lock up" were excellent with Tim being very considerate and thoughtful in providing wheat free options for all parts of the meals including bread. Tim made us very welcome to his home and when we organse another break in Derbyshire we will check availabilty at the "old lock up" first. We wish Tim every success with his business in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A really smart B+B, more like a Boutique Hotel. Cozy rooms with en-suite bathrooms. Fresh fruit bowls and chocolates in the room! The owner, Tim can't do enough to help, including bringing us up a vodka and tonic on request at sundown!
The food was delicious, especially breakfasts.
We had planned to do lots of walking but the weather was terrible. But we had a very cozy and relaxed time in.
Wirksworth itself doesn't have much to sing about (apart from during festival times) but the countryside surrounding it is wonderful and it's very well positioned for visits to Derby, Ashbourne, Matlock, Hathersage and other places of interest. And this is a lovely place to come back to after any trip out
Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Characterful, pleasant lodging; easily the best breakfast I've had in overnight accommodation. Host couldn't have been nicer. Also, just down the road from a fantastic pub (the Royal Oak, if you're asking).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is very nice, well located has a warm feeling to it. Tim the new owner is a nice friendly guy who does a great breakfast... will stay again, happily. The town is within easy walking distance and there appears to be more pubs than shops, which is also a bonus.

Room Tip: Nope, because it may not be available when i go back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
108 reviews
2.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
9.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,050 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lockup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lockup

Address: 46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range: $111 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lockup 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842 as the magistrate's house and later used as a police station The Old Lockup is now a quirky but luxurious guest house boasting four double bedrooms, all en-suite, and fantastic breakfasts. Set in the Derbyshire Dales on the edge of the Peak District National Park and just four miles from Carsington Water there really is something for everyone. Chatsworth House, the Tissington and High Peak trails and more walking than you can shake a stick at are all on the doorstep. Looking for an unusual place to spend that romantic break? Well maybe you just found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Lockup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Lockup Wirksworth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing