We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of character”
Review of The Old Lockup

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Lockup
Ranked #1 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Characterful, pleasant lodging; easily the best breakfast I've had in overnight accommodation. Host couldn't have been nicer. Also, just down the road from a fantastic pub (the Royal Oak, if you're asking).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 310 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is very nice, well located has a warm feeling to it. Tim the new owner is a nice friendly guy who does a great breakfast... will stay again, happily. The town is within easy walking distance and there appears to be more pubs than shops, which is also a bonus.

Room Tip: Nope, because it may not be available when i go back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The place to be. Nice and cosy. The owner is very helpful and friendly. We've stayed a few nights. excellent food and drinks. A real full English breakfast. Dinner was also excellent. Easy to find and plenty parking space I'm sure we will return

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staples1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in the Solicitors room for one night and it was all very comfortable. Easy parking and an offer of Tea and Mince pies on arrival. Delicious biscuits in the room, and chocolates on the bed finished off the warm welcome. Flexible host, very friendly. Breakfast was wonderful, especially the homemade bread. There were plenty of breakfast choices, and I can recommend the haddock and poached egg. My other half had great sausages, bacon, black pudding and poached egg. All in all, would recommend for a place in the Peak District.

Room Tip: Solicitors room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A lovely, comfy cosy stay in the old lock up. We were greeted by Tim and welcome cup of tea in the lounge with a roaring open fire. A perfect start to our winter weekend away in the beautiful town of Wirksworth. bed rooms are warm and welcoming and very charming. A great variety of home made delicious breakfast (my have being the smoke salmon, eggs and bagels).
All in all the old lock up is a great little find, nostalgic and warm and welcoming. A great weekend escape from the chaos of big smoke to the beautiful countryside.
And a big thank you to Tim who also kindly dropped us off in neighbouring village – Cromford, which is worth a definite visit if you staying in Wirksworth.
Pipa and Tatsuo, London.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Recently treated ourselves to a night away here and weren't disappointed, the room was just as comfortable and lovely as it looked on the website and very well appointed. The place is very atmospheric and Tim is an excellent host. Wirksworth is a lovely little town full of character and there is a proper old fashioned local pub a few minutes walk away. After a delicious breakfast we enjoyed a delightful stroll on the nearby High Peak Trail, would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank YMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very well looked after here by Tim, at his atmospheric and comfortable Lockup. We were treated to tea and cakes on arrival and the delicious home-cooked breakfasts certainly set us up for the day ahead! Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in this beautiful part of the Derbyshire Dales.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
107 reviews
2.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
329 reviews
13.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
9.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lockup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lockup

Address: 46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range: $117 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lockup 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842 as the magistrate's house and later used as a police station The Old Lockup is now a quirky but luxurious guest house boasting four double bedrooms, all en-suite, and fantastic breakfasts. Set in the Derbyshire Dales on the edge of the Peak District National Park and just four miles from Carsington Water there really is something for everyone. Chatsworth House, the Tissington and High Peak trails and more walking than you can shake a stick at are all on the doorstep. Looking for an unusual place to spend that romantic break? Well maybe you just found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your The Old Lockup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Lockup Wirksworth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing