We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sedate Trip”

Ecclesbourne Valley Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With its headquarters in the fine old Peak District market town of Wirksworth, the Ecclesboume Valley line, at nine miles, is Derbyshire's longest heritage railway. The line runs through some of the most pleasant scenery in the White Peak, from its joint station with the main line at Duffield to its northern terminus at Ravenstor, close to the High Peak Trail and the National Stone Centre. The line provides services mainly operated by heritage diesel railcars, with four trains a day on summer weekends and on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays in the high summer. The timetable is designed to connect with East Midlands Trains' services to and from Derby and Nottingham. Visitors may wish to take advantage of a 'zigzag choo choo' all Day Rover Ticket issued by the railway and Trent Barton providing an excellent opportunity for discount travel through the beautiful derbyshire countryside by bus and rail. Steam hauled services are also operated at peak periods, please call us to check what is running. If you would prefer to see the line from the Driver's cab or realise a childhood dream by taking the controls of one of our heritage steam or diesel locomotives then you can book that day to remember direct on our website. We offer a range of experiences to suit any occasion and budget.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a nice little rail trip. We went in both directions from Duffield, to Ravenstor & Wirksworth. It cost £20 round trip for our 60+ group. We had about 200 sheep on the line which gave us quite a spectacle when they moved on! Duffield station has some cute signs & artefacts. Whilst not as spectacular as some rail journeys, this still provides an enjoyable trip.

Thank Zumba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear 'Zumba 12',
Thank you for writing a review of our railway. We are so glad you visited us during you holiday and hope should you ever return to the UK you will have an opportunity to visit us again.

Best wishes,

Tom Tait
Commercial Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 314 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a very nice day out for all the family, you can have history, lovely scenery and a gourmet lunch all rolled into one. The staff are brilliant and really seem to enjoy their voluntary work in this quiet corner of Derbyshire.
I would definitely recommend the 'Station Masters Lunch', it was superb.
Unlike a lot of preserved railways, there doesn't seem to be the officiousness and frantic running about trying to keep a timetable going here. It's a relaxing atmosphere, just what you want!

2  Thank BigRoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear 'Big Roj',
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our railway. We do try to create a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and its pleasing to learn that you noticed this. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and we do hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Tom Tait
Commercial Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Spent an excellent day here, exploring the 9 mile route of the railway (we actually travelled the complete route twice) and enjoying the excellent Pullman Carriage four-course lunch, for an inclusive price, bought via Amazon Local, of £49 for two people.

Highly recommended.

Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear 'Jeff C',

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our railway. We are glad you enjoyed your trips down the valley and your Station Master's Luncheon. We do hope you will be able to visit us again in the not too distant future.

With best wishes,

Tom Tait
Commercial Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

A great little trip lovely scenery on rout ,very friendly lovely for friends and family have done both ,our US friends had a personal tour and loved it

Thank Drury1derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear 'Drury1Derbyshire',

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you and your friends from the US enjoyed their tour of our facilities. We do hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Tom Tait
Commercial Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A very relaxed day outing for families and railway enthusiasts. A liitle difficult to find but worth the effort

Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear 'Ed A',

Thank you for your brief review of our railway. We are glad you had an enjoyable time with us and hope that you can visit again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Tom Tait
Commercial Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecclesbourne Valley Railway also viewed

 

Been to Ecclesbourne Valley Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing