We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely trip in the countryside”

Ecclesbourne Valley Railway
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Wirksworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With its headquarters in the fine old Peak District market town of Wirksworth, the Ecclesboume Valley line, at nine miles, is Derbyshire's longest heritage railway. The line runs through some of the most pleasant scenery in the White Peak, from its joint station with the main line at Duffield to its northern terminus at Ravenstor, close to the High Peak Trail and the National Stone Centre. The line provides services mainly operated by heritage diesel railcars, with four trains a day on summer weekends and on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays in the high summer. The timetable is designed to connect with East Midlands Trains' services to and from Derby and Nottingham. Visitors may wish to take advantage of a 'zigzag choo choo' all Day Rover Ticket issued by the railway and Trent Barton providing an excellent opportunity for discount travel through the beautiful derbyshire countryside by bus and rail. Steam hauled services are also operated at peak periods, please call us to check what is running. If you would prefer to see the line from the Driver's cab or realise a childhood dream by taking the controls of one of our heritage steam or diesel locomotives then you can book that day to remember direct on our website. We offer a range of experiences to suit any occasion and budget.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely trip in the countryside”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Well run new railway up to a lovely small town Wirksworth. Well worth the visit along a scenic railway.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    93
    10
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not quite as good as I'd hoped”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We visited for the santa special train. Most staff were very friendly however trying to get the refreshments which were included in the price was like pulling teeth. Firstly one chap said we had to go to the guards van to collect our drinks then some grumpy chap told us to sit down and they would be brought to us. Having been missed several times I went to the guard van and asked for a juice for my 2 yr old, they refused and said they would bring a drink down which of course they didn't so what would have been a lovely exprrience ended with a very grumpy and thirsty toddler (and mum). The santa train is very nice but they could do with sorting out some of the chaos and being a little more civil when you effectively offer some help!

Helpful?
1 Thank greedymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nferguso, Public Relations Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that your experience was less than excellent and that your very simple request was not attended-to promptly or in a manner that would be expected for a child-friendly event such as a Santa train.

Please accept our apologies: we can understand fully your disappointment and it shows how we must maintain a continuing eye on our standards.

If you would like to discuss this with us, please email me your number to neilfl@wyvernrail.co.uk and I shall be pleased to call you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Steam Train Experience - Perfect Family Day”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Absolutely wonderful family day out. We bought a steam driver experience for our father as a 70th birthday present. Despite being very cold, the sun shone and brought to life the wonderful scenery and wildlife. The guys who run the service, take real pride in providing a memorable experience and really made it special. Much to our surprise we could travel in wonderful old wagon with a log burning stove which kept the babies warm while we took it in turns to stand out on the wagons balcony. So we all (a family of 13) all shared the experience with my Dad, making it much more memorable. Highly Recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So much improvement”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We last visited Wirksworth Station a few years ago when things were just beginning. The transformation is a reflection of the amount of work the volunteers have put in. I am a volunteer on a another railway and I know what it takes. Everything smart and clean, the Pullman carriage cafe reasonably priced. We didn't have time to ride but all station staff who spoke to us were friendly and knowledgeable. The only thing missing for me was steam power - though I know they do this some days.
Keep up the good work!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank creakingbones62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Railway Ride”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

An excellent venue for those who enjoy trains. You can ride from Ecclesbourne to Duffield and return then hop onto the ailcar for a short 10min trip in the direction of Derby. Good shop on site and the staff are friendly and helpful

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecclesbourne Valley Railway also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Ecclesbourne Valley Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing