We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect weekend.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Orchard House

Orchard House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Orchard House
Bespoke dining table to seat 14 in the garden room Bedroom with en suite and balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Orchard House
Bespoke dining table to seat 14 in the garden room
Bedroom with en suite and balcony
Dove cote with 2 resident white doves
The parterre at orchard house
Large well equipped kitchen open plan with the garden room and snug
Twin bedded room
The snug, one of the sitting rooms with a sprung bed settee
Sitting room with open fire and fully sprung bed settee
The garden at bluebell time at Orchard House
Party time in the Garden Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
brighteye...
midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend.”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Orchard House exceeded our expectations. We were a party of 15 celebrating my daughters hen weekend and Birthday. The kitchen was fully equipped with literally everything we needed, more than enough glassware, crockery and cutlery etc. We were really excited to find all the frilly pinnies hanging in the little pantry too. The furnishings are really old and beautiful, nothing tacky here!
Someone mentioned a strange smell upon entering the house, this didn't bother us at all as it is only the smell of an open fire, in fact it brought back childhood memories for me.
Dawn was really helpful when a lightbulb blew and fused all the upstairs lighting, a quick text and we were sorted.
The garden room is the perfect party room, with beautiful views out across the gorgeous garden. The man fishing in the pond gave us a bit of a giggle!
Dawn recommended Les Mistrale, a gorgeous French restaurant, and we were not disappointed. Good food and reasonably priced, beautiful decor too.
I downloaded a treasure trail walk around Wirksworth and we did this on the Saturday morning, in the rain, which blew away any lingering cobwebs! Good fun for groups too.
All in all a fantastic weekend staying in a beautiful house. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha W
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here 17th-19th February for a hen weekend. Couldn't of asked for a better house to hire for the weekend. It was fully equip for all our need and much much more.
When we arrived there was milk & biscuits as a welcome gift (really appreciated that)
The bedrooms are lovely, all different styles and clean. There are enough bathrooms for everyone to use. The kitchen is huge, open plan with the dinning area, that's were we spent most of the weekend. The kitchen was fully equip for more that 16 people, everything was easy to find. I took some cocktail glasses for some games, but there was no need as cocktail glasses were already there along with a wide range. Very spacious.
The heating is really easy to use, but i would recommend turning it either off or down before you go to bed, as all the rooms turn into saunas.
The grounds around the house are lovely, a few of the girls went for a wellie walk around. We was left to our own devices all weekend, and if you needed anything just a quick text to Dawn and she was really helpful.
The only thing i can grumble on is the smell of the house when you first walk in, smells of mold/fire burner but as we didn't really use the lounge to the right we kept that door shut and the smell went away.
There isn't a lot around but what do you expect for the country side. we did go into one wine bar and that was nice. It is literally a 2 minute walk into the village so no taxis needed.
I would definitely come back and stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishma...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best holiday lets I have stayed in, I cannot recommend it highly enough.”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

One of the best holiday lets I have stayed in, I cannot recommend it highly enough.

The house is spacious with a fantastically well equipped kitchen and numerous curios all over the house with warrant a good look. Once you are finished with the house there is a lovely garden to explore

We hired the property for a gathering of university friends, 5 couples and 3 children. We spent most of our time in the enormous kitchen and adjoining dining room which has a huge table which seats about 16 and floor to ceiling windows on 3 sides which brings the fantastic garden inden into the the house.

I am confident we will be staying here again!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
racharoos
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“you must stay here, its amazing”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Orchard House is a stunning property with lovely gardens. We rented it for my 40th birthday and had 12 adults, 4 children and 2 babies. the bedrooms are well equipped and Dawn organised cots for the babies too. Linen and Towels all provided which is a real bonus.
The cottage is very well equipped with everything you could need to host a large group wanting to enjoy time inside or out in the garden.
There are lots of lovely features that will surprise when you move around the house and garden .
Dawn was very helpful from booking to the stay to make sure we had everything we needed to make our stay very comfortable. I cannot recommend this enough. It is brilliant and we will be returning and recommending to friends and family.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icecakes5...
Ellerker, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house in idylic surroundings.”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I really can't rate this holiday let high enough. A wonderful house with superb gardens, orchard, pond etc perfect for sitting and enjoying a chilled glass of wine whilst the BBQ heats up. The inside of the house is just as pleasing with huge kitchen / dining area, lovely bedrooms and quirky bits and pieces everywhere you look. Orchard House is perfectly situated for exploring Derbyshire and Wirksworth has a good selection of coffee shops and pubs. Enjoyed our stay so much I'm booking again for September!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Leaving!!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing