We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Croft Winster

The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Feature bath, wonderfully relaxing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
77 reviews
The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Feature bath, wonderfully relaxing.
Cosy lounge with woodburning fire, 32 inch flat screen tv, Wi -Fi dvd and a great selection of dvds
Large dining kitchen with range cooker, dishwasher and dining table looking onto garden room
Dining area
Kitchen
relaxing garden room
Fabulous walk in shower
Large master bedroom with King size bed.
Large master bedroom with King size bed.
Second bedroom with window seat and 3rd bed
fully enclosed rear garden and swing seat
The garden swing with views over the stunning countryside
Garden view over Peak District National park
Views over the garden
The patio with table and chairs
garden flowers
garden flowers
garden flowers
Alton Towers nearby
Gullivers Kingdom nearby
Chatsworth House nearby
Robin Hoods stride nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Louise H
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely weekend break, very comfy cottage with all you need. The stairs are not for the faint hearted and the cottage is situated at the top of a very long meandering hill. But all that said a beautiful cottage and one we will visit again one day.I have rented weekend cottages before. This has to be one of the very best.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and comfort of the cottage
Liked least: The steepish hill back up to the property.......alright unless you've just done 10miles!!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JohnB1152...
1 review
“The Croft Winster”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely house, nice garden and great views, close to dog friendly pub, nice base to explore the Peak District.

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skippi123
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in the Croft for one week and it was lovely. You could not want for anything all provided. We certainly made use of our walking boots and raincoats!!Lovely to get back late afternoon and sit in the garden with the sun and those views. Thank you Alison ... LOVELY

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal0
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely cottage with amazing views. We had mixed weather but when permitted we spent as much time in the lovely garden as we could. The views from there were fantastic and so quiet. Sitting out listening to the birds, if you manage to be around on a Sunday afternoon you should get your very own Red Arrows display.
Plenty to do and see within the area, great for walking and both our dogs loved the cottage and the area. Inside stairs and outdoor back steps pretty steep so watch it if you're taking young kiddies, elderly or infirm.
Beds really comfy and big bedrooms, just a surprise no wardrobes in. Plenty of towels though.
Quite a few issues when we first arrived but quickly dealt with by the owners.
WiFi would be a boon, phone signals are poor and making a trip outside to make any contact was a bit of a nuisance but if you want peace and relaxation then ideal.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Issues and no wifi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MrTmamil
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location-stunning views”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Despite travelling with youngish children, we wanted a short break that would enable us to leave on a Thursday so our eldest-14-could go away with her friend and their family the next day. Having trawled through numerous options we hit upon The Croft at Winster which could accommodate all 5 of us. After an easy drive we arrived at our destination....if you're not used to narrow lanes and steep hills take it easy. The cottage comes with a caveat about parking but we were able to park almost outside without causing any disruption to the locals. Before we'd unpacked our first bag the old girl next door popped out for a chat, very friendly and very amusing. The cottage itself was perfect: we had a great room and the kids all slotted into theirs. One of the beds pulled out from under another and was perfect for our 6 year old....though ironically the eldest ended up sleeping on it with no problems. The bathroom is spacious as is the shower. Kitchen is perfectly equipped with a great range oven, dishwasher etc. Although the weather was a bit variable the views from the garden were fantastic. MrsT who enjoys a spot of yoga and loves hills and mountains said the place could be sold on the views alone. Of course I took the trusty steed and if you're a cyclist you can pick some very short routes with lots of very steep climbing. There was also a utility in which I could keep the bike. Winster offered easy access for us to Dovedale, the Tissington trail, Chatsworth and Hathersage as well as stop offs at Bakewell and Buxton. Depending on your view the upside or downside was no wifi access; for us it didn't matter and we're normally buried in e mails. Although we weren't there for a whole week it was a perfect start to the summer holidays.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of cottage and views
Liked least: It didn't affect us but parking could have been an issue
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing