We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic get away”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Croft Winster

The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Feature bath, wonderfully relaxing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
65 reviews
The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Feature bath, wonderfully relaxing.
Cosy lounge with woodburning fire, 32 inch flat screen tv, Wi -Fi dvd and a great selection of dvds
Large dining kitchen with range cooker, dishwasher and dining table looking onto garden room
Dining area
Kitchen
relaxing garden room
Fabulous walk in shower
Large master bedroom with King size bed.
Large master bedroom with King size bed.
Second bedroom with window seat and 3rd bed
fully enclosed rear garden and swing seat
The garden swing with views over the stunning countryside
Garden view over Peak District National park
Views over the garden
The patio with table and chairs
garden flowers
garden flowers
garden flowers
Alton Towers nearby
Gullivers Kingdom nearby
Chatsworth House nearby
Robin Hoods stride nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Fiona S
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic get away”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed here for a long weekend and had a fantastic time. This cottage is the perfect place to just get away from it all, relax, unwind and is in a perfect location. It had everything we needed with home comforts and the views from the garden are superb. My 2 favourite things; the bath and the log burner

The dogs loved it too, close to lots of long walks that they thoroughly enjoyed!

Will def be back. Thanks for having us!
Fi & Jules
X

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr Andy B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable, warm cottage in friendly village”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Well equipped warm cottage in friendly village.Good dog walks by playground. Local pubs are friendly.
Parking is compact by the cottage but plenty of parking on the common above and behind the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Outside tap with hose pipe would have been lovely to help clean dog and boots.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
090861
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Marvelous”
Reviewed March 4, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at The Croft for a week in February and had a great time. When we arrived the house was already nice and cosy and we soon had the log burner running too. Everything was nice and clean, the modern bathroom was a bonus. I enjoyed the conservatory, a great place for listening to the radio and reading. There are some great walks right from the doorstep, we particularly enjoyed the walk to Birchover and back and tea at The Windmill. Two great (and totally different) pubs in the village. The Old Bowling Green is more upmarket and very nice. but the Miners Standard is a more friendly local pub. Both do good food but check the opening times of the Bowling Green. Parking outside the property is a problem, there's not really a lot of room but we unpacked the car and parked just up the hill behind the house. There's no Wi fi which wasn't a problem to us and the phone signal was virtually non existent, which didn't really bother us either.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farina A
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A holiday cottage that feels like home.”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I was a guest at The Croft for a week. It's nestled in the picturesque village of Winster - to a foreigner like me it looked exactly how I imagined a English village in the countryside would look like. Location wise, it's ideal as I managed to visit up to 2-3 Peak District attractions per day. If you're opting for a 'stay-cation' instead, The Croft Winster being clean, spacious and having all the facilities/amenities you'd need (both a shower & a bathtub, dishwasher, washer & dryer) and want (a wood burner!) makes for a no-fuss holiday. On that note, it's also worth mentioning that the bed and pillows in the main bedroom where I stayed gave me quality sleep every single night. One of my favourite parts of the cottage is the kitchen, only because we had all the kitchenware needed to make our own meals every other night. However, the living room (with it's wood burner!) to get warm in after a walk and the garden room where you can read and relax does make for stiff competition. When the sun is out, the view from the garden is worth a visit even if it happens to be a chilly day! I managed to get a lot of pretty photos from the garden lookout. Clearly, The Croft Winster is difficult to fault for providing us with such a comfortable, homely stay. I'd definitely visit again and would happily recommend.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The facilities & amenities provided.
Liked least: None. Even the lack of wi-fi/internet access adds to the relaxing experience of the stay.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aggerc
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed at this cottage last week for 3 nights, its a superb very well equipped, like home from home, very clean and a perfect base for touring, Both pubs in the village also allow dogs which was a PLUS... food in both the Bowling Green Inn and the Miners Standard was Excellent and all home cooked..

There is a local store in the village.

Steep hill up to the cottage, which may be problematic for the less abled walkers. car parking is ok for a smaller car, however there was parking 50yds approx. which was not a problem for us.

Overall I would certainly stay there again, and recommend to my friends also.

its a little hidden gem

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran1959x
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in idyllic setting”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We (husband dog and I) have just returned from a relaxing three night break at The Croft. The cottage was spacious, homely and clean - it was very well equipped; surprisingly so, even having a play station (great for kids), board games, i pod stations and lots of tvs! The kitchen was stocked with plenty of plates/cutlery so it was possible for just the two of us to eat and use the dishwasher just once. The garden was amazing - tidy, with wonderful views and apart from a table and chairs there was a lovely swing seat - we even had our own private "Red Arrows" display whilst they were performing at the Chatsworth country fair. Internet reception was not great, but not a problem when you are on holiday and yes the roads are very narrow and parking at the top of the hill may be problematic for those who are less mobile. Just added to the charm of the place - would recommend to any one who wants a peaceful break, Two pubs in village but beware do not always serve food early in the week but plenty of walks and other hostelries to drive to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C4lin
Tel Aviv District, Israel
1 review
“A great house for families”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed several nights at The Croft with three small children. The house is very comfortable and authentic, with a nice garden and stunning views. There are plenty of games and DVDs for the whole family. Winster is a quiet little town, not far from many attractions of the Peak. The main drawback is that there's no WiFi in the house, and an unstable cellular network. We enjoyed our stay very much, and we definitely recommend The Croft!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing