We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our meal here”
Review of Old Bowling Green

Old Bowling Green
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Winster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: 15Th Century country inn, grade 2 listed, private ownership and resident chef/owner since 1990. Range of local beers, extensive wine list. Award winning kitchen under personal supervision of owner. Situated in the centre of an historic conservation village with a car park to the rear. Opening hours vary so worth checking before visiting, closed every Monday & Tuesday and lunchtimes except Sundays. Kitchens are closed if the owner is away. Usual hours - kitchen Thur/Fri/Sat 6pm to 8.30pm; Sun lunch 12 noon to 2.30pm. Booking recommended. Bar open Wed evenings too - and all day Sunday from 12 noon till around 8pm
London
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our meal here”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is not a gastro pub but rather more traditional than that. It is the sort of place you should take foreign visitors to if you want to show them why British pubs are so great. The staff were really friendly, service was excellent and food was very good. Choosing a dessert was almost impossible but I have no regrets at opting for the Bailey's cheesecake. It is amazing value - we had one pint of beer, four glasses of wine, 2 starters, 2 mains and a dessert and it cost £50. The wine and beer choice was not the absolute best (although they did have Cloudy Bay) but was perfectly satisfactory.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fi_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    68
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab little place in Ashbourne”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Myself and my partner really enjoyed dining here, nice atmosphere, good service, great food and excellent value. Would be sure to go back when next in Ashbourne.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peakpark_pub, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Good review, but a case of mistaken location I believe! We are around 8 or 9 miles from the pub mentioned in "Ashbourne" - but very pleased that they are upholding the good name of the Old Bowling Green wherever they are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good atmosphere very pleasant "rustic" room very generous portions locally sourced produce served with a smile

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluenose580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidB_and_MarilynB, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
That says it all. Thank you.
David, Marilyn and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Gwent
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“THE REAL THING!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Checked this place out as we were staying in Winster for a week and found the reviews promising.
This is everything a village pub should be.
Lovely real fire burning when you go in, charming landlord and wife who you can tell really make an effort to make you welcome, not forgetting the 2 girls who work behind the bar.
Went in on a Friday night for a drink (good real ale ) and booked a table for the next night, decided to have belly pork which was sold out but was told to try the fish as it was fresh in that morning, was told it was haddock but i am sure it was "whale" due to the size of it, best fish i have had for a long time, this came with mushy peas and great chips, my wife had chicken in a sauce with vegtables and chips which did not touch the sides as it was eaten so quickly. great food, great locals who liked a chat as well.
One thing i noticed which makes this pub stand out was on a Wednesday night when they did not serve food a women came in with 2 young children looking for a meal, it was snowing really heavy outside so instead of turning them away the landlord had some curry which he had already made so they all ended up with a meal, this is what a real local pub is all about. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelvinNewportGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peakpark_pub, Owner at Old Bowling Green, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive report - and also to all the others who have similarly so done - it is very much appreciated by all of us ( staff and owners ) that you have bothered to praise our efforts. It is often the case that "no news is good news" in as much as patrons are usually prompted to write a report only when they feel that the experience has not been good.
We do care about how we are regarded by our customers, and even though some of them will probably never come to this part of the world again we strive to ensure that they take away pleasant memories of their visit to us, and their time in Winster and the Peak District.
Thank you for your report and we hope that any readers who subsequently call will enjoy a similar experience....
David & Marilyn ( Resident owners - since 1990)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely pub a real gem”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A very friendly country pub which always has a warm welcome. The food is great with a good choice. Good value for money especially if you join the green club.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bowling Green also viewed

Winster, Peak District National Park
Birchover, Peak District National Park
 
Birchover, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to Old Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing