We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful spacious cottage, filled with...”
other travelers have booked this property
Ivy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire Superbly equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
153 reviews
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Spacious & Light Dining Room
Games Room/Second Lounge
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Double Bedroom with ensuite
Family bedroom with super king size bed & full size single bed
Luxury Bathroom with large power shower with body jets & double sinks
Double Ended Bath
Luxury Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Bedroom
Large Entrance hall with payphone, seating and lots of space for coats, shoes & pushcairs
Sunny Garden Room with own SKY Freesat TV
Stunning Ivy Cottage Gardens
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage Private Decking Area
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Private Parking
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 153 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CatrionaD...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful spacious cottage, filled with everything you could possibly need in an idyllic village in the Peaks”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We were very impressed with our stay at this cottage. The cottage is located in a tiny village where time seems to have stopped still, with a little shop-come-post office (selling chestnuts!) and a couple of pubs. It is in the hills and surrounded by countryside and wildlife.

The cottage has ample space for 7 people, with one of the double beds being big enough to fit 5 of us! The downstairs has a variety of rooms to spend your time in, whether you're relaxing, playing games, eating or cooking. The kitchen was extremely well stocked with everything you could need - I think there was about 20 mugs! They also left us a welcome basket including tea, coffee, crisps and dishwasher tablets :) There are games for everyone and a vast selection of books and DVDs to keep everyone happy if you are thinking of visiting for a lengthy stay. It is in a great location - 2 minute walk to the shop and a pub, and a 15 minute drive to Matlock.

All in all a fantastic place to stay and I would recommend highly!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandv13
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage retreat!”
Reviewed November 24, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of the country. We have just enjoyed a little family break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Clean, comfortable, well equipped and the welcome basket was a really lovely gesture. We hope to return in the future. Thank you! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charnelle...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommend -group couples retreat”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Absolutely lovely cottage! We stayed for 2 nights as a group of 6, 3 couples. The property is dry homely and perfect for many occasions but we mainly ate, drank and played games. Bakewell is around 15-20 minutes drive away which perfect for a afternoon outing.
The owners are very friendly and have their home just at the other side of the gate, very handy if you run out of anything!
Will definitely re book in the future..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctate2014
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic luxury family retreat in a great location.”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We booked a short stay at Ivy Cottage to break a long journey south from Scotland. We could not have been happier with our choice; a fantastic cottage, extremely comfortable, plenty of space to accommodate the children, grandmother and ourselves. The welcome basket was a lovely touch, thank you. The cottage has absolutely everythIng we required and more. There are books, CDs, DVDs, toys - so plenty to do if the weather is not great, but we ventured out to Bolsover Castle and the Derwent Valley World Heritage site, which was great for the kids. We also did one of the local walks from a book we found in the house - which was glorious on a sunny autumnal morning. Winster is a great location, and we would recommend it to anyone who wants to explore the Peak District and environs. The village shop is extremely well stocked, and we also found great produce in local farm shops and independent butchers. Great to be able to avoid the supermarkets totally! We would return in a shot.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AClarke-P...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really lovely cottage with everything we needed for a great family get together”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A really lovely cottage, decorated and furnished with quality, character and attention to detail, providing a comfortable place for us all to stay. Matt and Becky were really helpful and efficient.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thank you for your review we are very glad you had a nice stay at Ivy Cottage. We hope that it met all of your needs and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverian
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb Property, Would Definitely Return Given the Opportunity”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A lovely spacious cottage that is very well maintained and exceptionally equipped to cover all eventualities. The cottage is modern to the extent that the age and quirkiness has not been lost and genuinely caters for seven people comfortably without having to pull out sofa beds or similar. The location in the village is within easy walking distance of the well stock village shop and one of the local pubs, and the surrounding countryside is ideal for ramblers.

Parking is off road and comfortable for two large cars making the property reasonably secluded and secure despite one end of the cottage being close to the through road in the village. Winster is ideally located and within ten minutes by car to Matlock, or twenty or so to Bakewell, and most places in the peak district can be easily accessed.

The owners of the cottage live close by and are very friendly, they are around if you need them but also do allow you to have your own privacy, and nothing seems to be too much trouble. Everything was as arranged as well as a welcome basket including the basics, i.e., tea and coffee, but along with some nice touches of chocolates and a bottle of wine.

A superb property well worth considering for a large family, but also good for lesser numbers as we were only three. The cottage did not seem too big for us and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Well done to the owners.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review we are very glad you had a great stay at Ivy Cottage and that you found the cottage met all of your requirements. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendyp161
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“GREAT LOCATION AND COTTAGE”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed here with a group of friends. Great location we went for a 12 mile walk on the Sat straight from the cottage and the area is outstanding even if very hilly!
The pub meal in the Miners standard at Winster was wholesome and the pub was very welcoming.
The cottage had two lounges and plenty of books, games, tvs would be ideal if travelling with kids for some separate space.
Matlock bath also very pretty.
Matt the owner very helpful with queries on where to eat, walk. Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thank you for your review we are very glad you had a good stay at Ivy Cottage and I was glad to be of help with advice on where to eat etc.. We hope that it met all of your needs and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing