We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for a weekend away”
other travelers have booked this property
Ivy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire Superbly equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
153 reviews
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Spacious & Light Dining Room
Games Room/Second Lounge
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Double Bedroom with ensuite
Family bedroom with super king size bed & full size single bed
Luxury Bathroom with large power shower with body jets & double sinks
Double Ended Bath
Luxury Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Bedroom
Large Entrance hall with payphone, seating and lots of space for coats, shoes & pushcairs
Sunny Garden Room with own SKY Freesat TV
Stunning Ivy Cottage Gardens
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage Private Decking Area
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Private Parking
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 153 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brumberli...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a weekend away”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Three couples stayed for a weekend. Warm, cosy, well equipped kitchen, high standard of accommodation, great bath & shower, lots of room to spread out. Pubs and a local shop in walking distance. Matt & Beckg were easy to deal with, very straightforward and helpful. We would definitely recommend staying here to anyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
64farah
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I had a rare opportunity to spend a few days in the Peak District with my daughter last week. After doing a lot of research on the internet we chose Ivy Cottage as it looked beautiful. We were not disappointed!! It's a stunning cottage, very comfortable with everything we needed. The bathroom is very luxurious. Matt and Becky generously left a welcome basket including a great bottle of red wine. I would be very happy to stay there again and recommend it wholeheartedly. It was fantastic!!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex R
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Picturesque Cottage, excellent family weekend”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at the Ivy cottage with our large family and 2 little ones for a long weekend, the cottage had absolutely everything we needed. We were greeted by Becky who is so friendly and made us feel at home straight away. Then once we had settled in it was just pure fun and enjoyment due to the space and layout. Kids room to keep the young ones entertained, den out the back for the teenagers, cosy lounge for the adults to relax. We couldn't have asked for more and all the family said we should do it again. Thanks Matt and Becky for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDMacD
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Happy, Comfy Home for October”
Reviewed November 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I researched this cottage, and Winster, extensively before booking. It was important, for a month, to have what we thought was the best, and Ivy Cottage, and the owners Matt and Becky, did not let us down. Everything for your comfort and convenience has been provided in this lovely, roomy, cosy cottage. The furniture, including beds, is extremely comfortable. There is room to spread out and do one's own thing, from jigsaw puzzles in the diningroom, to watching sports in the sitting room, and the walls are so thick, the sound does not travel. If you disagree as to what to watch, choose from one of the other televisions! The garden and parking spot were brilliant, and the owners were helpful with the minor technology we needed help with, being in a new country. We were honestly very sad to leave, as there is also so much to do in the area, even on rainy days, and who cares, anyway, if it's raining, if you have such a nice cottage to be in? I loved curling up with a book in the back "garden room".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, spaciousness and location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
964Rosema...
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Met every need”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our stay at Ivy Cottage was very enjoyable. The cottage is very charming and cosy but also has plenty of room for families to have their own space if needed. TV's in every room is an added bonus especially if you have children. We were just a party of 4 oldies but didn't feel that we were rattling around because the property has such a warm comfortable feel about it. Everything was very clean and lacked nothing in equipment, books and games. Becky and Matt were very helpful and welcoming and the village of Winster is really friendly with a lovely pub and well stocked village shop. If you are thinking of having a break in the Peak District, Ivy Cottqage is a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roominess
Liked least: The decking area and steps
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth W
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a great location for exploring the Peak District”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Ivy Cottage is charming, located in the pretty village of Winster within walking distance of the local shop and pub. We were a party of 6 adults and there was plenty of room to spread out and have our own space. A very well equipped kitchen enabled us to cater for a large family reunion on one day too. Matt and Becky were really helpful, the cottage was immaculate and the welcome basket was a nice touch too. Winster was a good base to explore the Peak District, so much to see in the area, would definitely look to book the cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldoPieri...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, great village”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Winster is a lovely wee village with very friendly people and some great little surprises. The cottage itself is everything we could have hoped for. Spotlessly clean, spacious, fitted with all the mod-cons you could need an an extraordinary amount of extras including board games, books, playstation and games, dvds, local information, books, travel cots... I could go on for ages.

The cottage makes great use of the large amount of space. There were 2 couples and 2 under 1s in our group but I think it could comfortably take 6 adults and everyone would have enough room to eat and relax together or seperately if they wanted to.

Winster is a great place, we luckily timed our stay to coincide with the annual Winster Wakes festival so there was plenty of stuff on the go. The little park and grassy area at the end of the lane down the side of the shop is perfect for taking kids and having a picnic.

Both the Old Bowling Green and the Miners Standard pubs are highly recommended wit hthe Old Bowling Green probably shading it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing