We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Barn is an absolute delight - so clean, cosy...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Barn

Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Outdoor Sitting Area ideal for BBQs Large Master Double Bedroom on First Floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Outdoor Sitting Area ideal for BBQs
Large Master Double Bedroom on First Floor
Comfortable Double Bed
This bedroom has plenty of space and plenty of character
En-suite to Double Bedroom has spa bath and shower cubicle
Twin bedroom on ground floor
Single bedroom on ground floor
Ground Floor Shower room with Power Shower
Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher
Washer/Tumble Dryer
Comfortable Seating to relax on
Lounge / Diner
Lounge View onto Courtyard
Off Road Parking for 2 cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
887ivyb
Macduff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Barn is an absolute delight - so clean, cosy and comfortable!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Sharon has thought of everything - such a pleasure to live in this delightful accommodation. So many nice touches - the very friendly welcome, the home made cake, wine, crisps. Many thanks indeed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spotlessly clean!
Liked least: Nothing for this category!!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poohtlepo...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our second home!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This was our second visit to The Old Barn and it felt like coming home when we arrived. We walked in to find a welcome tray full of goodies again, including the lemon cake we had been hoping for.

We had been looking forward to returning since our 2012 visit, and were so pleased we had rebooked here rather than looking for another cottage in the same location, we really don't think you could better the cottage for comfort, both beds and sofas are really comfy, which is something we've struggled to find n previous holiday rentals.

we would definitely be shocked to find a warmer welcome anywhere else, as Sharon is the perfect holiday home owner, friendly and welcoming but not at all intrusive. Within two days we had booked to come back next June, despite deciding to holiday in a different area next year. Peak district and The Old Barn are our new home from home for the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel
Liked least: When the lemon cake ran out ;)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet rural setting
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 31, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: the garden and the veiws
Liked least: the walk to the pub
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable cottage with walks on doorstep”
Reviewed March 4, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

This was our second trip to Winster and the second cottage we have stayed in there. The Old Barn gets our vote for future trips- it offers extremely comfortable, spacious accommodation with homely touches (which for us include free broadband and Sky TV- would also mean that we would happily return with our teenagers, although this was an adults only break).
The extra touches on arrival were unexpected and hugely appreciated - home made cake hits the spot after a long journey as does a bottle of Pinot Grigio and kettle chips for the evening.
We do like to cook and the kitchen is as well equipped as our own! The jacuzzi bath is to die for, pure luxury and there are also 2 showers, meaning there are no disputes over whose turn it is to go first after a long walk!
This is probably not the cottage of choice for those with very young children as access to the courtyard garden is shared with the owners- who use a different entrance but ball games or raucous running around would be inconsiderate and inappropriate. If that's not an issue for you, there's plenty of open space nearby for kids to let off steam.
We love Winster because it is a proper village with real people and a real community (recommend a visit in early December when the Christmas tree is being lit and the villagers sing carols and drink mulled wine, very lovely). It has some great walks on the doorstep- we did a 14 mile one one day, but also limited ourselves to the walk to nearby Birchover on others. We also like the village shop which is well-equipped with all you could want - fresh veg, fresh bakery bread, cakes etc. There are 2 pubs with good menus in the village itself, and the one in Birchover looks really good too - proof of that in the coach party that arrived to eat there as we walked past once. We had a nice simple meal on a walk to the one at Youlgleave - soup, sandwiches and chips but all tasty and reasonably priced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and excellent quality of furniture, and the jacuzzi bath
Liked least: Loved it all
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 24, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable living room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing