We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #1 of 4 Winster B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfull B&B”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Old Shoulder of Mutton is a super place to spend time relaxing. Steve and Julie are great hosts, they made our stay very comfortable. The B&B is beautifully decorated, and the breakfast is fab!! All in all we had a wonderful stay at this B&B!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
218
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I visited The Old Shoulder of Mutton in September 2012 and stayed in the garden bedroom. The ceilings in this room are very low (and the website tells you this) but we 6 footers found it to be a lovely room - very cosily decorated, clean and comfortable.

Julie and Steven's welcome was unsurpassable - very warm and personal. Before our visit they sent us very useful information about the area including excellent restaurant recommendations. Unlike many B&B's the Old Shoulder has a lounge where you can relax and read. When we arrived tea and cake were soon waiting for us - a very nice touch. Breakfast is cooked to order and is simply amazing!

The location in the village of Winster is ideal for visiting the White Peak region with Chatsworth and Bakewell very close by, and many hikes starting from the village. The rest of the peak district is within an hour's drive and driving in this region really is stunning! The Old Bowling Green pub, 2 minutes wall from the Old Shoulder, does excellent pub food and local ales.

A weekend simply isn't enough time to spend in this wonderful B&B and part of the UK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I went on a break with a friend to the Peak District and we stayed in the Old Shoulder of Mutton. This B&B is in a lovely village close to Matlock, and was perfectly placed for the trip we had planned. The newly refurbished rooms were a joy to stay in, and the breakfasts are amazing! Looking forward to staying there again next time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a wonderful short break in Winster, due in no small part to Steven and Julie's hospitality and the excellent standard of accommodation at the Old Shoulder of Mutton. From the moment we arrived we felt completely at home (though at home we rarely experience the luxury of being served a delicious cream tea in a beautiful sunny garden....if only!). We spent the weekend exploring the surrounding countryside and sampling the local ales and cuisine. Steven and Julie's advice on what to see and do was spot on and ensured we got the most out of our time there. The house has been lovingly and sympathetically restored which gives you a great sense of the history of the building. We would love to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights here at the end of August and really enjoyed our stay. It was just perfect. The house is immaculate and the attention to detail was impressive, especially the supply of fresh milk for early morning tea and maps for local walks. The breakfasts were superb and we really enjoyed the fresh fruit. Steven and Julie made us so welcome and we have already recommended it to our friends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent three nights at Steven and Julie's B&B in September, they were welcoming, friendly and above all superb hosts. Steven's fantastic knowledge of the the area added to our weekend's enjoyment with a fab walking recommendation, that amongst many sights included Derbyshires pub of the year which we made the most of with a pint and a pork pie!

We stayed with friends and booked all three bedrooms, they were all finished to the very highest standard, with very comfortable beds and luxury bathrooms that we made the most of relaxing in after our 13 mile walk.

Breakfast was delicious, lots to choose from, fresh fruit, a variety of cereals and of course a cooked breakfast which Julie was very happy to adjust for my more picky co-eaters.

Like all the other guests that have stayed I would reccomend a night or two in Winston even if it's only to experience this gem of of a B&B and allit has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The level of detail that Steven and Julie put into everything to make your stay perfect was just amazing. We didn't rent a car, and Steven went out of his way to give us rides instead of us having to hunt down a taxi. This was our anniversary weekend, so we had both planned surprises for each other to be delivered to the room. Steven was a huge help in organizing them and when we came back from the day, they had put the flowers in a vase and laid out everything wonderfully, including adding little touches like their own champaign glasses for our champaign.

You can even see the level of detail in the house itself. Steven restored the historical building so it kept its old character but was modern and luxurious, instead of old and stuffy. He even sought out the older style of screws to keep the historical look, instead of using modern phillips heads. The finishes and details were all extremely high quality and really made you feel like you were staying in a four star hotel in a historic inn.

The town itself was wonderful too, with a great little pub with the best beer we found in the area and lots of great little walks through the mores and surrounding areas. We were so happy we stayed in this quant little town, where it was quiet and pretty, instead of busy and touristy Matlock or Bakewell, which were covered in touristy shops and without any character.

Between the cute little town, beautiful walks and luxury of the B&B, it made for a perfect romantic weekend.

Room Tip: We had the room with the large tub, which was great for a wonderful bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclurg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
5.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
3.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,666 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
162 reviews
18.3 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#9 of 160 in Peak District National Park
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shoulder of Mutton

Property: Old Shoulder of Mutton
Address: The Old Shoulder of Mutton West Bank | Winster, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Shoulder of Mutton has been refurbished to provide contemporary bed and breakfast accommodation. Located in the Peak District National Park in the picturesque village of Winster, Derbyshire, it is ideally located for trips to Chatsworth Park, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Buxton and fabulous walks in the National Park. There are two pubs in walking distance that provide excellent food. Closed as a pub in 1916, it provides luxury accommodation in this 17th-century inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing