We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #1 of 4 Winster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

What can I say that already hasn't been said! This has to be the best B&B I've had the pleasure of staying in. We were made to feel extremely welcome, with tea and cake on arrival, and fantastic hospitality throughout.
The house is beautifully finished to a very high standard, the room and en suite were amazing (as was the rest of it!). The garden is a picture, and the breakfasts are to die for! It was lovely having the log burner on the go whilst tucking into a very tasty full English.
The village is very pretty indeed, and the shop and pub are very close by. Couldn't have asked for more!
Definitely recommended, and we'll be back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slipalong999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review - you said it all. We do hope that you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
214
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks U.K.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have just returned from a short break in the Peak District and stayed at the Old Shoulder of Mutton. We stayed with my sister and brother in law who had visited here twice before and had given glowing reports. We were not disappointed!
Steve and Julie could not have been more welcoming and attentive while not being at all intrusive. The rooms have been beutifully restored and are kept spotlessly clean. We had the room to the front of the property which faces the main road but with wooden shutters rather than curtains, this deadened any noise from traffic, this room has a huge delightful bathroom.
The breakfasts are some of the best I have had and even if you are a seasoned Peak visitor Steve is full of tips regarding walking routes and local attractions and hostelries.
We have stayed at several boutique hotels and this could truly be called a boutique B & B. I also agree with the recommendations of the local pub where we were greeted with a smile and excellent food.
I would like to thank Steve and Julie for helping to make the weekend very memorable despite the damp start. The weather was the only thing Steve could not help us to organise, he did volunteer to drop us off in Yealgrave so that we could walk back if we fancied something other than a circular walk with the weather being a little inclement.
Thanks for making it feel like home from home only better.
Gary and Linda.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
It is great to hear that the Old Shoulder of Mutton felt like home (or better!) - the finest praise. We want people to enjoy our home as we do. We also want our guests to get the most out of this beautiful area in the limited time they have here, and try to suggest walks, visits, restaurants etc to suit their individual requirements. Let's hope that we meet the rest of your family. I must try harder with the weather ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Steve & Julie are perfect hosts and did everything to make our weekend in the Peaks perfect. On booking Steve emailed photos to help us choose rooms and lots of information on things to do during our visit. Once there, he pored over OS maps with us to plan our walks which were fuelled by the fabulous breakfasts The house is beautiful and immaculately clean and Steve and Julie had thought of every last detail in putting everything anybody could possibly want or need in the bedrooms and bathrooms.

Room Tip: One room has a sloping ceiling, so if you are tall, tell the owners on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Old Shoulder of Mutton. Yet another first time review. Be assured that we really appreciate your feedback and hope that we will have earned a return visit in the future - you will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Steven and Julie were outstanding hosts and were ready with helpful advice about anything from planning visits to country houses to recommended places at which to eat in the evenings. After a long drive, tea and home-made cake was very welcome. Very comfortable accommodation and amazing breakfasts set us up for our daily visits around this spectacular area.

Room Tip: We were given a choice of rooms, as the others weren't occupied when we arrived and we chose roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langdons12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your very positive review. So glad that you enjoyed the beautiful houses that we have in and around the Peak District National Park - you saw them all! We like your room tip. The sloping ceiling is certainly character building for 6 footers and our guests appreciate the charm of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We spent two nights at this B&B in mid-April (sorry for the delay in posting this review!).This stunning old house has been beautifully and sympathetically restored yet with all the 'mod cons' of a top boutique hotel. As a group we had 2 double rooms and both were comfortable, spotlessly clean and stylish. Our room had twin beds that had been joined to make a huge and extremely comfortable double. We ate both nights at the local pub, which is in easy walking distance (booking recommended). Breakfast was excellent (local produce cooked perfectly plus fresh fruit sald, cereals, juice, toast, homemade preserves) and Steven recommended the perfect walk to burn it off! To echo all of the previous reviews, Steven and Julie are the perfect hosts and it is the personal touch they offer that sets this B&B apart. We will definately be returning!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandJackieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review - it was worth the wait. We are delighted to see that this is your first review - and such a positive one. Let's hope that you continue to have such good experiences - and every success with your studies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this fantastic B&B. Julie and Steve were very welcoming and helpful with great ideas for activities and days out in the area. The breakfast was as good as any restaurant I've been to, and I recommend the eggs benedict with smoked salmon (other options available too). The building has been renovated to a high standard and styled beautifully, with a lovely ensuite to our super king-size room (with both bath & shower), as well as a lounge to hang out in. We were greeted with tea and cake which was a really nice surprise after a long drive. Although the village of Winster is small, the B&B is well situated for walkers - many starting from the village - and an easy drive to bigger peak district towns like Bakewell. There is a great pub a few minutes walk away (The Old Bowling Green) which I recommend for dinner. We hired some bikes and did the 10 mile ride from Bakewell along the Monsal Trail which was an easy ride and very scenic. Would have loved to stay longer!!

Room Tip: We had the super king size room which was at the end of the corridor so had no one walking past us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Old Shoulder of Mutton. We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Peak District National Park. Wow, that is some compliment for breakfast coming from a reviewer of The Foyer at Claridge’s, The Fat Duck and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal. Have a great time back in Australia, but we do hope you come back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We chose this B&B to spend a weekend break following our wedding and could not have been more pleased with our stay. Your restoration of your house has been completed to such a high standard. We were blown away by your attention to detail not only with the room, bathroom, and provision of a guest lounge, but at breakfast and throughout the day, everything had been thought of before we knew we wanted it! Your advice and ideas for walking and cycling routes was very helpful, not to mention the information pack sent before we arrived. You have the balance spot on, thank you very much and cant wait to stay again.

Room Tip: The bedroom looking over the rear garden was magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, and for choosing the Old Shoulder of Mutton for your honeymoon. The walk you did is superb taking in the bluebell woods, local lead mining history, ancient moorland, the Nine Ladies Circle, castle ruins, Robin Hood's Stride and a great pub or 2 - all in 8 miles. We hope you get back for many anniversaries to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
8.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
7.6 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shoulder of Mutton

Property: Old Shoulder of Mutton
Address: The Old Shoulder of Mutton West Bank | Winster, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Shoulder of Mutton has been refurbished to provide contemporary bed and breakfast accommodation. Located in the Peak District National Park in the picturesque village of Winster, Derbyshire, it is ideally located for trips to Chatsworth Park, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Buxton and fabulous walks in the National Park. There are two pubs in walking distance that provide excellent food. Closed as a pub in 1916, it provides luxury accommodation in this 17th-century inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing