We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B for relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #1 of 4 Winster B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this fantastic B&B. Julie and Steve were very welcoming and helpful with great ideas for activities and days out in the area. The breakfast was as good as any restaurant I've been to, and I recommend the eggs benedict with smoked salmon (other options available too). The building has been renovated to a high standard and styled beautifully, with a lovely ensuite to our super king-size room (with both bath & shower), as well as a lounge to hang out in. We were greeted with tea and cake which was a really nice surprise after a long drive. Although the village of Winster is small, the B&B is well situated for walkers - many starting from the village - and an easy drive to bigger peak district towns like Bakewell. There is a great pub a few minutes walk away (The Old Bowling Green) which I recommend for dinner. We hired some bikes and did the 10 mile ride from Bakewell along the Monsal Trail which was an easy ride and very scenic. Would have loved to stay longer!!

Room Tip: We had the super king size room which was at the end of the corridor so had no one walking past us...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Old Shoulder of Mutton. We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Peak District National Park. Wow, that is some compliment for breakfast coming from a reviewer of The Foyer at Claridge’s, The Fat Duck and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal. Have a great time back in Australia, but we do hope you come back some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Old Shoulder of Mutton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 303 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

We chose this B&B to spend a weekend break following our wedding and could not have been more pleased with our stay. Your restoration of your house has been completed to such a high standard. We were blown away by your attention to detail not only with the room, bathroom, and provision of a guest lounge, but at breakfast and throughout the day, everything had been thought of before we knew we wanted it! Your advice and ideas for walking and cycling routes was very helpful, not to mention the information pack sent before we arrived. You have the balance spot on, thank you very much and cant wait to stay again.

Room Tip: The bedroom looking over the rear garden was magic.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Thank you for your review, and for choosing the Old Shoulder of Mutton for your honeymoon. The walk you did is superb taking in the bluebell woods, local lead mining history, ancient moorland, the Nine Ladies Circle, castle ruins, Robin Hood's Stride and a great pub or 2 - all in 8 miles. We hope you get back for many anniversaries to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Steven and Julie we just wanted to write a quick review to thank you for your superb hospitality recently. We had a fantastic stay, the house is beautiful, the walks fantastic and breakfast top class. The only regret is that any B&B we stay in after this will be a disappointment...it means that we shall have to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaughterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Thank you for your review. It has moved us up to Tripadvisors second best B&B in the Peak District National Park after only a year. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Winster and look forward to your return visit - you are most welcome. Thank you also for the LinkedIn connection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just spent two nights over Easter at this fantastically restored house with great hosts Steve and Julie. Its in a very quiet location just off the main Street of Winster village. All the previous reviews have covered everything and our expectations were not only met, but surpassed. B&B owners come and see how these guys do it, they are the best. Not much more to say really, keep up all the good work you deserve it.

Room Tip: Garden room with an ensuite bigger than most people's bathroom
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - and such a favourable one too. I remember your comments about the high standard of joinery in the house - this has been relayed to the joiner who did the work - it made his day. We hope to see you again. We love this job!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Goodness, Steven and Julie you have every reason to be proud of all the positive reviews.
Your house and hospitality is 5*. Thank you.
We echo all the great reviews that you have already, deservedly received.
We have nothing but praise; food, beds, bathrooms are all excellent.
We do hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

It was great to meet you both - and so pleasing to hear that it all went well for you. Thank you too for introducing me to your car - I'll be having one of those - looks like fun. We're also pleased that you walked Lakil Dale and Stanton Moor - both favourites of ours. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Julie and Steve warmly welcomed us to their recently renovated Grade2 listed building - and what a job they have done ! The old pub is full of interesting features and details; our room was exceptionally well-presented, clean and very comfortable; the residents lounge provided an ideal spot to relax and talk. Breakfast was delicious, especially the "froached egg"....

We'll be back to enjoy Julie and Steve's friendly hospitality and beautiful B&B once again !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review - it is so good to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay. It's always a relief to hear guests return from a long walk - especially when we suggested the route. The walk you did is one of our favourites with views, a bit of history and a brilliant pub. Happy Anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just arrived home after a fantastic weekend in Winster, staying at the Old Shoulder of Mutton to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The house is amazing, beautifully restored and Steve and Julie make you feel extremely welcome, from the tea and ginger cakes on arrival, to advice on where to eat and local walks. We did the walk around Winster up to Stanton, a nice 8 mile walk with a quick stop at the Flying Childer which was recommended by Steve, very nice ale and cornish pasties! We also had two delicious steaks at the local pub - the Old Bowling Green, washed down with a few pints of Bakewell Best. We cannot speak highly enough about this place, we hope to come back again for the big bath and the froached eggs at breakfast! We will be recommending to our family and friends.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are lovely, if you can try and get the room with the big bath!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Republic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
5.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
3.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
307 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
18.3 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#8 of 160 in Peak District National Park
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shoulder of Mutton

Address: The Old Shoulder of Mutton West Bank | Winster, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winster
Price Range: $160 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Shoulder of Mutton has been refurbished to provide contemporary bed and breakfast accommodation. Located in the Peak District National Park in the picturesque village of Winster, Derbyshire, it is ideally located for trips to Chatsworth Park, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Buxton and fabulous walks in the National Park. There are two pubs in walking distance that provide excellent food. Closed as a pub in 1916, it provides luxury accommodation in this 17th-century inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing