We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
108
0
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscandle cottagechristmas cottagecranberry cottagewelcome hamperattention to detailself cateringthe perfect hostlog burnerowner steveon arrivalthe kitchenan ideal locationthank you so muchpeak districtour favouriteuk holidaylocal goodies
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 109 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you are looking for a self catering holiday with an extra special touch - I cannot imagine you finding anywhere better than Blakelow Farm. We have just returned from a week in Candle Cottage; truly the most romantic of these luxury converted properties, which include cottages suitable for anything from one to 4 geusts. The owners have been running Blakelow Farm as holiday accommodation for about 10 years now and they really know how to make a holiday perfect....when you arrive there is a welcome pack with fresh bread, milk, butter, chocolates, biscuits, eggs laid by the hens who live here at Blakelow Farm, and a snifter of sherry in an attractive decanter to tempt your appetite. Kitchen facilities are top quality for those who like to cook in - for those who don't there is comprehensive information about good local pubs and restaurants to visit. In your cottage you'll find a key to a little outhouse which is well stocked with fresh eggs, sausages, bacon(from their own pigs), luxury toiletries, books, DVD's and useful leaflets about local attractions.
There is too much to praise about Blakelow Farm to mention it all here....all I can say is if you are thinking about a self catering holiday in the Peak Districk don't look anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

From the bouquet of herbs in the kitchen to the table laid with candlesticks and flowers every detail has been thoughtfully and carefully taken care of. You have your own terrace and feel very private, Steve welcomes you with charm and a hamper that has eggs from his own chickens. The area has wonderful walks and is close to some of the finest country houses including my favourite Hadden Hall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked "Christmas Cottage " online, using both the recommendations on TripAdviser and also the very good Blakelow Farm website. We kept our fingers crossed - hoping that it would look something like the pictures that were in the brochure and that it would meet our expectations....after spending a wonderful week there.......I can honestly say that it surpassed our expectations and that it is the best Holiday cottage we have ever, ever stayed in......anywhere!
Arriving on a rainy and windy August night at 10pm directly from Manchester Airport we were met as soon as the car arrived in the driveway by Steve, who assisted us with our copious luggage and got us settled in. The welcome basket and fridge containing basic provisions was a lovely touch, and our request for firm pillows for the main bedroom was also met.
Christmas cottage is beautiful, with fantastic views across to Chatsworth and a secluded patio area overlooking the garden and fields beyond. The quality of everything in the cottage is of the highest standard, whether it be the bathrobes, crockery or even the outside chairs!
Steve as host is attentive, available but also discreet. He even apologised about cutting the grass in case it spoilt the tranquility of the place......and said he could do it later! The are lovely touches everywhere, like a picnic bench at the top of the field - with a pathway cut through the long grass so that you could easily walk up. A well stocked DVD library and outdoor games for when the weather is good.
Did I mention the peace.....aaahhhh! So quiet and tranquil - not even the distant thunk of a farm generator which you usually get with a country cottage.
There is so much to see and do in the area, be it grand houses like Chatsworth or Haddon Hall, plague villages (!), Go Ape in Buxton or general walks. There is a good pub rambling distance away, and The Fountain cafe in Bonsall Village which does a good breakfast if you don't fancy cooking. Did we mention the chickens.....they were a hoot and the best guard chickens we have ever seen!
We honestly didn't want to leave - and we do plan to return. As there is also a single occupancy cottage it would be a great place to visit alone.

Room Tip: Christmas Cottage has a wonderful view across the valley, an upstairs shower room with loo and the best patio sitting area. All cottages would be lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlanFam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fabulous relaxing weekend in a wonderful property, in a picture-perfect location. Very nice welcome from Steve and the hamper was a lovely treat, filled with yummy goodies - and much appreciated after the drive. Very clean in all rooms, with amazingly comfy beds (we slept 10 hours!), total peace and quiet, we couldn't bare to leave. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our third trip to Blakelow Farm, so we do obviously love the place!

We stayed in Christmas Cottage which has a stunning view to Chatsworth in the far distance. Furnishings are excellent as are the quality kitchen, bathroom and shower-room. You would like to say it's home from home, but it's actually better than home!

We adore the peace of the place - breakfast outside on the terrace when its sunny, walking along the lane after dinner and being greeted by hens after a day's sight-seeing. The wood burning stove is also a key feature - nothing better than the glow of a real fire in the evening.

The cottages and farm are still immaculate and everything is very clean. The Utility Barn provides a DVD library, book library, washing machine and tumble drier and also a selection of food from the freezer.

We can not rate the cottage enough - we have to return as it would be so difficult to find anything better.

Room Tip: All the cottages are stunning, however Christmas Cottage probably doe have the best views!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews