We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
108
0
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscandle cottagechristmas cottagecranberry cottagewelcome hamperattention to detailself cateringthe perfect hostlog burnerowner steveon arrivalthe kitchenan ideal locationthank you so muchpeak districtour favouriteuk holidaylocal goodies
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 109 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked "Christmas Cottage " online, using both the recommendations on TripAdviser and also the very good Blakelow Farm website. We kept our fingers crossed - hoping that it would look something like the pictures that were in the brochure and that it would meet our expectations....after spending a wonderful week there.......I can honestly say that it surpassed our expectations and that it is the best Holiday cottage we have ever, ever stayed in......anywhere!
Arriving on a rainy and windy August night at 10pm directly from Manchester Airport we were met as soon as the car arrived in the driveway by Steve, who assisted us with our copious luggage and got us settled in. The welcome basket and fridge containing basic provisions was a lovely touch, and our request for firm pillows for the main bedroom was also met.
Christmas cottage is beautiful, with fantastic views across to Chatsworth and a secluded patio area overlooking the garden and fields beyond. The quality of everything in the cottage is of the highest standard, whether it be the bathrobes, crockery or even the outside chairs!
Steve as host is attentive, available but also discreet. He even apologised about cutting the grass in case it spoilt the tranquility of the place......and said he could do it later! The are lovely touches everywhere, like a picnic bench at the top of the field - with a pathway cut through the long grass so that you could easily walk up. A well stocked DVD library and outdoor games for when the weather is good.
Did I mention the peace.....aaahhhh! So quiet and tranquil - not even the distant thunk of a farm generator which you usually get with a country cottage.
There is so much to see and do in the area, be it grand houses like Chatsworth or Haddon Hall, plague villages (!), Go Ape in Buxton or general walks. There is a good pub rambling distance away, and The Fountain cafe in Bonsall Village which does a good breakfast if you don't fancy cooking. Did we mention the chickens.....they were a hoot and the best guard chickens we have ever seen!
We honestly didn't want to leave - and we do plan to return. As there is also a single occupancy cottage it would be a great place to visit alone.

Room Tip: Christmas Cottage has a wonderful view across the valley, an upstairs shower room with loo and the best patio sitting area. All cottages would be lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlanFam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fabulous relaxing weekend in a wonderful property, in a picture-perfect location. Very nice welcome from Steve and the hamper was a lovely treat, filled with yummy goodies - and much appreciated after the drive. Very clean in all rooms, with amazingly comfy beds (we slept 10 hours!), total peace and quiet, we couldn't bare to leave. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our third trip to Blakelow Farm, so we do obviously love the place!

We stayed in Christmas Cottage which has a stunning view to Chatsworth in the far distance. Furnishings are excellent as are the quality kitchen, bathroom and shower-room. You would like to say it's home from home, but it's actually better than home!

We adore the peace of the place - breakfast outside on the terrace when its sunny, walking along the lane after dinner and being greeted by hens after a day's sight-seeing. The wood burning stove is also a key feature - nothing better than the glow of a real fire in the evening.

The cottages and farm are still immaculate and everything is very clean. The Utility Barn provides a DVD library, book library, washing machine and tumble drier and also a selection of food from the freezer.

We can not rate the cottage enough - we have to return as it would be so difficult to find anything better.

Room Tip: All the cottages are stunning, however Christmas Cottage probably doe have the best views!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I couldn't have asked for anything better than what I received, the cottage was lovely with excellent decoration and little touches to make it even more cosy. With 6 inches of snow on the ground outside it was amazing, a little difficult to get to with the snow but I was kept up to date right up to the front door by Steve which was great. With views across the valley, fresh peak district produce such as eggs, butter etc, the log burner crackling in the back ground and the welcome hamper on arrival, the only word I can use to describe it is PERFECT. With the owners willing to do that little bit extra to make things extra special, Blakelow is top of my recommendations list and we will definately be back again! Thank You so much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

From the minute we arrived and right through to our departure we were made to feel at home, being welcomed by Stephen on arrival. Candle Cottage was a beautiful and very cosy hideaway with the Derbyshire Dales and Peaks right on our doorstep. Everything that we could have possibly needed or wanted was in the cottage and even more items such as walking guides, books and DVD's provided in the Utility Barn. A fantastic holiday cottage setup by Stephen; Blakelow Farm laid eggs were even provided in our welcome hamper along with freshly baked bread, locally made butter, chocolates and shortbread. We couldn't give this resort anything other than our highest recommendation. It's just a shame we didn't have any snow during our stay (I guess that is out of Stephen's control to organise!). Everything you could possible want from a holiday in unspoilt UK countryside. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishermans_Friend_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews