We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic Weekend”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fabulous relaxing weekend in a wonderful property, in a picture-perfect location. Very nice welcome from Steve and the hamper was a lovely treat, filled with yummy goodies - and much appreciated after the drive. Very clean in all rooms, with amazingly comfy beds (we slept 10 hours!), total peace and quiet, we couldn't bare to leave. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
72
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our third trip to Blakelow Farm, so we do obviously love the place!

We stayed in Christmas Cottage which has a stunning view to Chatsworth in the far distance. Furnishings are excellent as are the quality kitchen, bathroom and shower-room. You would like to say it's home from home, but it's actually better than home!

We adore the peace of the place - breakfast outside on the terrace when its sunny, walking along the lane after dinner and being greeted by hens after a day's sight-seeing. The wood burning stove is also a key feature - nothing better than the glow of a real fire in the evening.

The cottages and farm are still immaculate and everything is very clean. The Utility Barn provides a DVD library, book library, washing machine and tumble drier and also a selection of food from the freezer.

We can not rate the cottage enough - we have to return as it would be so difficult to find anything better.

Room Tip: All the cottages are stunning, however Christmas Cottage probably doe have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I couldn't have asked for anything better than what I received, the cottage was lovely with excellent decoration and little touches to make it even more cosy. With 6 inches of snow on the ground outside it was amazing, a little difficult to get to with the snow but I was kept up to date right up to the front door by Steve which was great. With views across the valley, fresh peak district produce such as eggs, butter etc, the log burner crackling in the back ground and the welcome hamper on arrival, the only word I can use to describe it is PERFECT. With the owners willing to do that little bit extra to make things extra special, Blakelow is top of my recommendations list and we will definately be back again! Thank You so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

From the minute we arrived and right through to our departure we were made to feel at home, being welcomed by Stephen on arrival. Candle Cottage was a beautiful and very cosy hideaway with the Derbyshire Dales and Peaks right on our doorstep. Everything that we could have possibly needed or wanted was in the cottage and even more items such as walking guides, books and DVD's provided in the Utility Barn. A fantastic holiday cottage setup by Stephen; Blakelow Farm laid eggs were even provided in our welcome hamper along with freshly baked bread, locally made butter, chocolates and shortbread. We couldn't give this resort anything other than our highest recommendation. It's just a shame we didn't have any snow during our stay (I guess that is out of Stephen's control to organise!). Everything you could possible want from a holiday in unspoilt UK countryside. Fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishermans_Friend_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Thank you so much to Steve who helped to make our weekend away amazing.The attention to detail in the cottage was brilliant,we felt so at home we only ate out once.The whole place was lovely, the cottage was immaculate and had a welcome hamper upon arrival and fresh eggs from the hens.We went on long walks and came back to the cottage and made full use of the logburner.We would highly recommend the cottage to any one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambsRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Candle Cottage back in July when we got married at nearby Hartington Hall. It couldn't have been a more perfect romantic location for our honeymoon, and our host Steve helped to make our wedding day extra special. He kindly, without being intrusive, asked us whether we would like him to decorate the outside of the cottage for us. When we left for Hartington Hall in the morning, the doorway had been decked with ribbons and flowers, and when we returned in the evening it was also lit with fairy lights, which made it look magical. There was even a wedding gift and a card waiting for us on the table inside. The rest of our stay was just as perfect, from the gorgeous welcome basket on our arrival and the useful utility barn with its tasty frozen meals for when you don't feel like cooking, to the friendly resident farm animals. We look forward to celebrating future anniversaries at Candle Cottage!

Room Tip: Candle Cottage is the perfect romantic cottage for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in Cranberry Cottage but next time would gladly stay in any of the accommodations for two or four people on this beautiful property on Bonsall Lane near Winster. This was an extraordinary example of what we can only call "the uber cottage holiday experience". We have stayed in many cottages across England and Wales and Blakelow Farm and its proprietor Steve Ogan combine all the desirable elements and do each one to perfection. We drank in peace and quiet through every pore. Slept motionless in dreamy, noiseless comfort. We're as warm as we needed to be (which is saying something because we are from Barbados and we are used to being warm!) We had music, free WiFi and electronic media on tap. We had fun playing chef in our stylish, well equipt kitchen and relaxed in our cosy but downright elegant living and dining space. We did a couple of gorgeous walks starting from our cottage door, and there were literally hundreds more readily accessible from a short drive away. And of course there was Steve, the most helpful, thoughtful and empathetic of hosts....also reputed to be a wizard in the kitchen when doing dinners for guests by special request. We are saving that delight for our next visit!

Room Tip: They are all exquisite. If things like having a bath as opposed to a luxury shower in a wet room, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
6.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
3.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
8.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
11.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Blakelow Farm Bonsall Lane, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakelow Farm Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 5 star GOLD by VisitEngland, our 4 cottages touch every comfort button, calming colours and designer touches, private terraces and pretty gardens, luxurious simplicity and rustic charm, your very own slice of the Peak District. A piece of heaven for walkers, sightseers, seekers of peace, and explorers of some of the best country houses and gardens in the land. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing