We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Brae Cottage

Brae Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brae Cottage
Ranked #3 of 4 Winster B&B and Inns
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was the first time we stayed in a B & B in Winster as we had always rented a cottage, but this was a real find lovely comfortable accommodation with every thing you could need. On arrival Jane was there with a slice of cake and a cuppa.unfortuantly we couldn't make the most of the lovely garden as the weather was not great. The following morning the breakfast was such as to keep you going all day. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next stay.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueroanWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Roy R
We have regularly visited the Peak District and on discovering Brae Cottage have had the pleasure of taking up residence in both rooms. Furnished to the highest standard and always greeted with a walm welcome both on arrival and at breakfast. In respect of the latter you could not ask for more and the whole setting is wonderful. The hosts cannot do enough for you and we will never get tired of frequenting ' Our Gem'. Long may it continue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in the small room for two nights and have nothing but praise for this B&B. While being the smaller room of the two available it was still more than spacious enough and very comfortable. On arrival we were greeted by Jane with a piece of cake and some tea/coffee. Breakfast was lovely and kept us going for most of the day. There is a nice pub a stone's throw away and the B&B is in a great location for walks. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our room which included a separate area with sofa and TV and was lovely and clean. Everything you could think of was provided including an umbrella in case of rain and cushions to sit in the garden should you wish to. The breakfast was superb with as much tea and toast you could manage. You could start with your own fresh fruit platter if you want to. Jane was a wealth of information and the first thing she did (after making us a pot of tea together with a generous slice of homemade cake) was to provide us with a good map of the area showing all of the local attractions. There is a pub opposite with good beer and meals, although unfortunately it is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. However Jane told us about two good pubs only five minutes away by car. Wouldn't hesitate to go back to this brilliant B and B.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been visiting Derbyshire annually for well over a decade and this B & B is one of the reasons why. The accomodations are superb with comfortable rooms containing all the amenities, a beautiful garden, and a central location perfect for touring the National Park. But the true gem is Jane who has a knack for anticipating what you would like before you yourself are even aware. From pots of tea on arrival to breakfasts which are memorable, she sees to your every need backed by an culinary skill which is outstanding. Providing for her guests seems to be her gift and her joy and we look forward to our annual visit and book for the following year at the end of each visit. If you visit, be sure to take home a jar or two of her excellent marmalade!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smeeth Kent UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We couldn't have been made to feel more at home. Jane was welcoming, helpful and provided a wonderful breakfast. The room was spacious and comfortable far better than staying in a hotel! Brae Cottage is in the heart of Winster a lovely village and perfect for walking in the dales.We stayed for two nights and will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairefarmiloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. We stayed for 2 nights in the larger room which was spacious, beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean, very comfortable and warm. Much grander than some hotel rooms I've stayed in. There's a comfy double bed, lots of wardrobe space, large bathroom and lots of trinkets and books on display, not to mention teas, coffees, hot chocolate and shortbread in case you get peckish.

Jane was absolutely brilliant, she looked after us so well and thought of everything (without being in your face). She goes out of her way to make you feel welcome, offering us a pot of tea and biscuits on our arrival. She gave brilliant recommendations for walks and nearby restaurants, even making a reservation for us on friday night. She lent us maps and guidebooks of the area which we couldn't have managed without.

And the breakfasts - wow! Fruit platters, cereals, juice, jams, marmalades and not to mention the fabulous range of hot food (full english, eggs however you want them and hot crossiants to name but a few). Generous helpings served with lots of chunky toast. The breakfast room was beautiful - very vintage and gorgeous.

Absolutely no complaints and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thanks Jane!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brae Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Cottage

Property: Brae Cottage
Address: Brae Cottage East Bank, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winster
Hotel Class:4 star — Brae Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Brae Cottage Hotel Winster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing