We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tideswell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulinem9...
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Me, my Husband and our two teenage two boys stayed for a couple of nights at this lovely cottage. It was a lovely perfectly quaint cottage, with everything we needed to live comfortably. We loved the log burner and large table to play games at. We visited all the pubs in the village and enjoyed some fish and chips from Elliott's!. We did a couple of circular walks from the book in the cottage. Lovely stay in a warm, cosy Cottage that had everything we needed. Even some lovely treats for when we arrived (tea, coffee, milk, jams and wine! Thanks for a great stay, we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edbutler2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small and perfectly-formed”
Reviewed January 8, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Really enjoyed everything about our stay. Te weather was pretty bad for our three days so we spent more time in than we'd expected, and it was really cosy, the beds were comfortable, and apart from one minor challenge with the radiator in one room, it was all very snug and warm. The hosts laid on a few basics in the fridge as well enough timber for regular fires. Would definitely come again.

Date of stay: December 2015
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T
1 review
“Lovely cottage in the perfect village”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely terraces cottaage, close to the centre of the village, great walks from the door. Three pubs close by. Cottage very tidy, clean and well equipped.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxP53
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay - a cosy, homely and very pretty cottage”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for a weekend with two others. There was plenty of room and the cottage is located off the main road yet close enough to the village of Tideswell amenities. This is our fourth stay and we will definitely be coming back again. The kitchen is small and well- equipped and there is plenty of seating in the dining area.
The stairs are rather steep and may prove difficult for someone less able or elderly.
The owners have put much thought in to the property itself and what customers may need in order to make their stay enjoyable.
Thank you

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and comfort of the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage, lovely break in a beautiful location”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lavender cottage is very well presented and maintained and it provided a home from home break in a superb location. The cottage is modern yet traditional with every facility from broadband to a modern shower unit, washing machine and dishwasher to beautifully comfortable beds. Outside is a peaceful traditional cottage garden which was bathed in sunshine and inside is a mix of traditional features all lovely presented with every attention to detail. The location made this an ideal base to explore the area and we had a lovely meal at the nearby Rutland Arms in Bakewell and also at the Barrell Inn at Eyam.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of the property
Liked least: There was nothing not to like!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen R
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a lovely cottage and a lovely village”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed there for one week and found the accommodation excellent. The welcome pack was extremely well thought out. The village was great with some excellent walks in the area and very friendly local shops
Igger towns were not too far away.
Tides wellhead a beautiful church and the congregation were very friendly.

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing