We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Horse and Jockey
Nearby Hotels
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
$90
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Hathersage)
$182
$173
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$96
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
70
50
11
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
50
11
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfamily roomlamb shankspecials boardgreat selection of real alesfour poster bedcurry nightlocals and visitorsvegetarian breakfaststayed here for one nightpeak districtlovely foodderbyshire villagepiping hotfriendly localsate hereboxing day
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 143 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A group of 5 friends stayed here for one night and had a really enjoyable stay. We were fairly stressed when we arrived, having fought our way through the snow drifts but we soon chilled out with the friendly reception and lovely cosy fires (real I might add). My husband and I stayed in room 2 and found it perfectly fine. Can't understand the previous comment about nowhere to hang clothes or no chair as there was a large wardrobe and a rocking chair! We had a lovely meal in the evening and a nice breakfast. This is a pub that is obviously part of the social hub of the village, particularly with the young lads who were enjoying a snowy afternoon having a few drinks and laughs instead of playing football. We had no complaints and will hopefully come again when we can do the walk we planned to do.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the village - a large group of us and we decided to have dinner here. They accomodated 8 of us very well (we had made a reservation but we had to wait 'whilst they prepared the table...' even though there were few people there eating). Anyway, we ordered our food and it came in good time. The portions were very generous and we were all stuffed. When the food first came, there was about 5 minutes of silence, and just eating. I had the lamb shank and it was melt in the mouth. We also had various desserts and everyone looked decidedly pleased. Happy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drcrab12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just spent a week in a cottage in Tideswell and visited this pub twice for meals with the family. The pub is very friendly with very efficient bar staff. There are a number of guest real ales on sale which are changed regularly. It is also the only pub in the village (I believe) which shows Sky Sports.
The food is first class with most of the food being locally sourced. Kids portions were large enough to satisfy the appetite of a hungry 12 year old.
The pub is dog friendly, hence ideal for holiday makers or walkers.
Will definitely visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dweezuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Firstly let me say that here you get what you pay for!
Not in a bad way but dont expect the RItz cause the Ritz is very expensive-clear enough?
The stay we had was really just what we wanted a warm and friendly pub with a good range of evening meals and a good pint-we also had a good bottle of wine too.
The people we dealt with were all very friendly and the whole stay was very relaxed.
I think my only fault would be the breakfast we had,had been kept warm and hence was alittle dried out-perhaps we were alittle late?
A surprise because the evening meal we had was very good and hit the spot!
Tideswell is a charming place and worth a visit-watch for the interesting rock and mineral shop!
And also watch out for the junk shop in the front room of one of the houses-honest!
No doubt we will be back to the area soon!

Room Tip: Upper rooms are probably better though not suited for older or non-mobile people. But remember what you are paying here!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samcorsica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My 2 friends and I stayed here for one night in Sept 2012 whilst doing the White to Dark Peak walk. A very last minute booking but perfectly fitted the bill. Very reasonably priced and clean newly refurbished rooms with good pub food and local real ale. Tideswell is a lovely village in the White Peak and we had some of the best weather of the year (not difficult) to walk from Bakewell to here. There were lots of locals as well as visitors and the night we stayed there was a folk band playing. Very good breakfast to send us on our way.

Room Tip: Room 2 to be avoided if a light sleeper as the coolers for the bar were on and off all night. Also ensuite door had see through glass-say no more! Room 3 was very good
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CymraesCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews