We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cathedral of the Peak

The Cathedral of the Peak
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Tideswell
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

A cold wet Sunday in early september, finally deciding to turn off the main road and investigate the "Cathedral of the peak" and very glad we did. the church was empty quiet and quite delightful lots of wood carvings box pews and interesting displays. Interesting people power in the display of the old side door and also very evidently a living church in use and outlook. Well worth a side trip if you are passing by, and if you are passing by - don't.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    28
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a stunning church as the nickname suggests it has the feel of a cathedral, beautiful carvings and windows. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Riotstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
196 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Really lives up to its name”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Cathederal of the Peak is a very grand church in the small village of Tideswell and well worth a visit if you are in, or travelling through the area. Visit on a sunny day if you can to appreciate the differences in light. The centre of the church is rather dimly lit but the altar, choir and apses are bright and beautifully illuminated.

Spend a good hour exploring here, the ornate wood carvings are like viewing the stars, you suddenly see one you like and magically then notice many more. Each one a work of art.

There is a calm, ancient feeling about this place,a very pleasant way to spend time relaxing whether you are religious or not.

There is plenty of free parking nearby and a few shops to browse too. Try a pork pie from the bakery opposite the church, I enjoyed mine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cabbie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family history visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The church is beautiful and well kept as are the grounds. It was a pity that I could not find any contact details to help with our quest. We did however find local residents helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pauline and Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
632 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Cathedal of the Peak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This church is beyond doubt one of the finest in Derbyshire. I hold it close to my heart as I was christened and confirmed there so I may be a little biased! The wood carvings are wonderful and there are many hidden gems to see throughout. A trip up the tower is great but only available on special occasions and you need to be really agile to get up the narrow, windy stone stairway. The bells are a pleasure to listen to.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RogerfromTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cathedral of the Peak also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Cathedral of the Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing