We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Meadow Lodge B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadow Lodge B & B
Ranked #1 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Great find”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We walked to this property from Bakewell and arrived dripping wet. Linda greeted us very warmly and immediately put us at our ease - making puddles on her wooden hallway floor wasn't a problem. She showed us were to hang our wet things so they could dry in time to wear on the night time. Our wet and muddy boots were put on a drip tray and were cleaned overnight by Gary. We were then shown into our own lounge where we were given a cafetiere of fresh coffee, a large pot of tea with 2 large slices of home baked cake. The bedroom was very comfortable and stylishly decorated, brand new with luxurious bedding and fittings. Lots of information about the local area for walking is provided. Linda provides a beautiful table, her expertise in catering is showcased again at breakfast. You have a huge choice from a very fresh fruit salad, cereals, pastries and an excellent full english. We will definetly be back and is up amongst the best of B&B's that we have stayed in over the years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Owner at Meadow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are really thrilled. I loved your company and wish you all the very best in your planned venture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
134
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and found the whole experience an absolute pleasure
Super comfortable accommodation great location and views and brilliant breakfasts,
Linda and Gary are fine folk
We combined our visit with the Tideswell School of Food to make a weekend in Tideswell that we can't wait to repeat

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParGolfer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Owner at Meadow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed just the one night, but will stay longer next time. We got delayed on the way there,but Linda changed arrangements with no worries - the room/bed/facilitiesbreakfast just superb - and so is the cake!

Room Tip: Go for the room with king size bed - extra £10 but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Owner at Meadow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much, very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

First-class B&B. Linda and Gary are kind and generous hosts who endeavour to make their guests’ stay in their home as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. Everything was perfect from the quality of the accommodation and breakfast (with plenty of choice) to the warmth of the welcome and friendliness of the hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_wilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Owner at Meadow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments it is very much appereciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at Meadow Lodge and I can honestly say it was the best B/B we had ever had the pleasure to stay in. The welcome was genuine...the food was excellent with such a wide choice that it was difficult to choose without pigging out. The bedrroms were so welcoming and clean it was like sleeping on a cloud. Top marks for the complimentary tea and coffe tray, and the assortment of biscuits. The fluffy towels in the bathroom were fab. The view from the windows was breathtaking. In all an experience that I will glady repeat

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamwillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Owner at Meadow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
It has been a pleasure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have just spent five nights at Meadow Lodge. Linda and Gary are very friendly, attentive hosts. Every thing about Meadow Lodge is just great. Linda's attention to detail is second to none and her cakes are just fabulous. Meadow Lodge is just five minutes walk from the village. The view from the front bedroom is lovely and it is very quiet at night ensuring a good sleep in the very comfortable bed. We will definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretBroomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Owner at Meadow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review we are thrilled
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a night at meadow lodge, and our only regret was that we hadn't booked longer.This must be one of the best B & B's in the country.On arrival we were met by linda and Gary and shown to our room, which was immaculate and complete with all mod cons including a flat screen T.V. Breakfast didn't dissapoint either with a huge choice of cereals and fresh fruit followed by a full english or a lighter choice if preferred.Summed up in one word -Superb.

Room Tip: The room at the front of the house has views over the surrounding countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Owner at Meadow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
It has been a pleasure, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
5.9 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
123 reviews
4.6 mi away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tideswell
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadow Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Lodge B & B

Property: Meadow Lodge B & B
Address: Meadow Lodge Sherwood Road | Derbyshire, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadow Lodge B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful newly renovated bungalow, which provides custom made B&B accommodation. Situated on a quiet road on the outskirts of the beautiful village of Tideswell, just a short walk from the village centre. All rooms en-suite and offering a high degree of privacy. We are naturally approachable, welcoming and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meadow Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadow Lodge B & B Tideswell, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing