We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riding around the beautiful Peaks”

Sidecar Safari Peak District- Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a trip on a motorcycle sidecar into the heart of the beautiful Peak District. Choose from a range of carefully designed trips to experience the countryside and heritage of the area. Tailor your trip to take in pubs, cafes, photo opportunities, visitor attractions or just sit back and enjoy the ride. An ideal gift for a special event.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Riding around the beautiful Peaks”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I were bought a surprise Sidecar Safari Chatsworth trip from his parents for his birthday, and we loved it!

My boyfriend is a keen biker from the local area, so knows the Peaks well, but as a Londoner, I don't get to see them as much as I'd like. We both really enjoyed the ride out with Bill, and hearing his stories about the local area. He was really chatty, and told us that he'd been driving Rory Brenner around the day before us, and was happy to flex our ride to take in places we wanted to see and show us the best of the Peaks.

The bike and sidecar were both comfortable, and as we didn't go that fast, I felt very safe and secure on the back of the bike.

All in all, it was a brilliant gift, a lovely morning's ride and really nice to be out in such stunning scenery.

As an added bonus, part way through the ride we stopped in Eyam for a hot drink in a little local coffee shop, and it was the best coffee I've had in a long time

Helpful?
1 Thank catherineofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Grand Day Out!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Booked a trip as a birthday surprise, and what a surprise! Flying through the beautiful Derbyshire countryside in a retro motorbike and sidecar it felt like a cross between The Great Escape and Wallace & Gromit. Bill was lovely and very knowledgable about the region and as we didn't know the area, took us on a fantastic drive along the tiny country roads. We saw barely another vehicle in the couple of hours we were out. His friendship with the landlord at The Red Lion at Litton was most useful when we stopped by for a nice warm cuppa while it rained. Pedestrians hear you coming a mile off and wave as you go by, it's all very charming.

If you want something completely different in a day out, book a Sidecar Safari with Bill. You won't be disappointed, it's huge fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank caganH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, Owner at Sidecar Safari Peak District- Day Tours, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks for your review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your trip and had a fun experience, despite a little bit of rain. The Peak District still has lots of quiet unspoilt areas to discover and I'm glad you agree that this is a great way to see them. Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“great day out”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

A great way to see places that you dont see sitting in your car on 'A' roads. We got a sunny day
and fabulous scenery. The view from Monsal Head alone would have been worth the trip but the
country lanes and open moorland roads made for a really enjoyable experience. I booked Bill as
a treat for my wife who had never been in a sidecar before, she loved it.

Jim W

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great day out”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I wasn't sure if I was going to like this. It was a treat from a very clued- in niece for my birthday. Bill made me very comfortable in his Ural side car, providing the jacket and the helmet so that I looked the part. He then took me on the most delightful tour of a part of the country I thought I knew well yet he found little lanes and back roads I had never driven along and introduced me to places I never knew existed. A very clever man. Along the way the bike raised considerable interest, so much so that my waving arm became quite tired ! I know how the Queen feels now. I felt very special indeed as we drove along. Bill is a charming gentleman and was happy to change the route, to turn off or stop for pictures or a diversion or two. One of our diversions took in a herd of alpacas so it really was a safari. We ended up at Edensor on the Chatsworth estate for tea and scones at the old Post Office followed by a few minutes listening to the bells being rung at the local church, all the sights and sounds of the Peak. Back through the Derbyshire Dales and the last of the wells dressings, these days with more modern themes like the Titanic and the Olympic games. It was an exciting and very different experience and one I cant wait to do again !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sidecar Safari - a great experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you are looking for an unusual way to see the beautiful Peak District this is it, my family had the time to remember. My 5 year old grandson sat in the side car and enjoyed every minute, the rest of the family took turns in riding pillion. Bill went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed this experience on his beautiful bike. This is the only place in Britain you can do this! Highly recommended. Thanks Bill

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidecar Safari Peak District- Day Tours also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing