We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well what a turn around I am pleased to say”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well what a turn around I am pleased to say”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Having returned to The George during on one of our family trips I have to say it has improved so much. The staff were great, accommodating in every way and the menu had certainly changed for the better. Also noted was that they had opened up the garden at the back which was great.
I can now say I will be returning again and rate this pub as an excellent family pub

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    56
    20
    16
    3
See reviews for
26
80
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay here only 2 hours before arriving as part of our holiday a month resolution!

Living in derby, we wanted somewhere not too far away, but somewhere where we could do some walking and take in the countryside and the reviews all looked relatively good.

On arrival, it is noticeable that the pub has its locals as we were immediately recognised as outsiders. The people sitting at the bar didn't move to let us past to get a drink which was a bit selfish but some folks are just that way.

We were booked into room 2 but it appeared that it was already allocated to someone else by mistake so we were given room 1 instead which we found was actually a much bigger room so we were happy!

The rooms are modern clean and nicely furnished with a fabulous super king sized bed! Tea coffee free sat TV were all available

We ate in the pub for dinner and the food was lovely. Fish and chips and a Mexican chilli which was particularly good came to around £18 which is expensive for pub food but we enjoyed it.

The red lion in Litton is a short walk away and we went there for a drink after dinner. They do lots of gluten free food so that would be the place to go if you are coeliac :)

Breakfast in the morning was good and plentiful. On check out we were given some discount vouchers to use over the winter months which we would definitely consider doing.

The church bells didn't disturb us in room 1

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLou1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed over for just one night on a brief visit to Tideswell for a family occasion. We found the visit very amenable form start to end; staff were helpful and welcoming at all times, happily respnding to a couple of special requests (e.g. for an ironing board and iron). The hotal has bags of character and history and is perfectly located at the heart of the village, next door to a truly wonderful church, the "cathedral of the peak". The room (room 3) seemed to have been refitted and was immaculate and very comfortable, including bed and shower.We had another engagement so didn't eat our evening meal at the hotel, but met others who had done and had enjoyed what they described as "good basic pub food". Our breakfast was excellent and cheerfully served.

I notive one review was comncerned about being woken the church clock chiming. It's true that it does chime, and can be heard but not, I felt, intrusively; just part of the normal village sounds. The windows are not double glazed, but to do so might spoil the charm of the place. They are of Venetian design and have been in place since about 1790 (and some of the glass panes may be as old as that judging from the way they're thicker at the bottom due to glass flow).

Tieswell itself and the surrounding area are utterly charming, with lots of wonderful walks and also shops and indoor activities (e.g. second hand book shop,church, coffee shop, antiques shops etc) for inclement weather, and far more a short drive away.

We'd defintely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A huge THANK YOU to Andrew and his wonderful team for laying on such a wonderful spread for our Wedding Reception which everyone commented on and enjoyed, and my new hubby and I are so pleased we chose our local pub for our special party. Thank you to Chef Oliver, Sophie and Natalie for keeping the champagne glasses topped up and of course lovely Sharon and Dan the Man!!! Most of our family and friends travelled up from London and The Shires and had a wonderful time and loved what they saw of the village and this part of Derbyshire. My family who stayed at The George could not praise it more highly, lovely rooms and the breakfast sounded amazing. All the boys enjoyed a good pint(s) of beer!! So thank you all again for making it so special, The George is a great place to stay or have a meal when you visit Tideswell and you won't be disappointed - promise!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roma001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Have just spent 2 nights at The George Hotel. Very clean and large room. (Room 1). We ate in the bar both nights and enjoyed it both items. Breakfast was lovely. Great location if you want to visit the peaks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Called in today and ordered sirloin steak and fish and chips. Sirloin not very good quality and there was quite a lot of waste. Fish very nice - large and well cooked. But the rest of the portions were very stingy - very small portions of their chips (which are quite nice and handcut) with both dishes, about two teaspoons of mushy peas with the fish and only half a (large) mushroom with the steak. To say these were supposed to be main meals, they just weren't enough, not good value for money and I would not go back there for a meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked one night's stay for eight people wanting to walk in the Peaks. The hotelier and staff were very welcoming and provided great service over our stay. The rooms were clean and smart, the food, wine and beer excellent. Overall it provided great value. The downside to staying in old properties in this area is the variable water pressures and poor insulation in cold damp weather. But that is the Peak District.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
5.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
6.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#6 of 7 in Hope Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horse and Jockey
Horse and Jockey
#4 of 7 in Tideswell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Commercial Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a traditional 1730's coaching Inn and B&B set in the beautiful village of Tideswell, bang in the middle of the Peak District and adjacent to the glorious Derbyshire Dales. We are in the heart of Tideswell adjacent to the "Cathedral of the Peak". There are stunning walks on your doorstep or take the car to access a huge variety of different activities. Nothing is very far away from The George making it a great base from which to explore all that The Peak and Derbyshire have to offer.We have 2 large rooms and 2 slightly smaller rooms all with ensuite shower rooms. One room has a bath if that is important to you. Breakfast is included in the price and offered from 8am to 10am and includes a good English Breakfast.The rooms are finished to a high standard with TV/DVD, coffee and tea making facilities and free wifi.We are also dogs/pet friendly and look forward to helping you with your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Tideswell, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing