We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend for food”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Peak District, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend for food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Called in today and ordered sirloin steak and fish and chips. Sirloin not very good quality and there was quite a lot of waste. Fish very nice - large and well cooked. But the rest of the portions were very stingy - very small portions of their chips (which are quite nice and handcut) with both dishes, about two teaspoons of mushy peas with the fish and only half a (large) mushroom with the steak. To say these were supposed to be main meals, they just weren't enough, not good value for money and I would not go back there for a meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    56
    20
    16
    3
See reviews for
26
80
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked one night's stay for eight people wanting to walk in the Peaks. The hotelier and staff were very welcoming and provided great service over our stay. The rooms were clean and smart, the food, wine and beer excellent. Overall it provided great value. The downside to staying in old properties in this area is the variable water pressures and poor insulation in cold damp weather. But that is the Peak District.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a very enjoyable overnight stay at The George Hotel in Tideswell en route to Hereford. Our pub-style evening meal was delicious with attentive staff. The double room was very clean and tastefully decorated, had everything you might need and the bed was extremely comfortable. The (lack of) water pressure and variable temperature in the shower was a bit of a disappointment on a cold morning but this was compensated for by a great choice for our cooked breakfast. Excellent location, we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here with my family over new year. The rooms were great, lots of space. The food was great and very reasonably priced. The staff were all friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had alovely walk in the Peak District which began practically outside the door. I would highly recommend The George for a short break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasmine025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent New Years Eve with friends at the George with our 3 dogs. The landlord and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and very welcoming of the dogs. The rooms are lovely with wooden floors so great when you have been walking. Fabulous food enjoyed by all of us and the dog can sit with you while you eat. Lovely walks right from the pub and of course the Peak District is as beautiful as ever. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smithx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Lovely people ,had a very nice meal,not fancy,but good.
Dogs welcome ,friendly staff.
Tideswell is a great place to visit.
good amenities.The George is a lovely pub,recommend,for a short break.the landlord very attentive.
Children made welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This break was for our wedding anniverdary and was perfect. They were great in arranging a bottle of Wine and some flowers for me and my wife was very pleased. A great little hotel with very friendly service. The two ladies from Chile are fabulous. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is excellent. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
5.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
6.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Horse and Jockey
Horse and Jockey
#4 of 7 in Tideswell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadow Lodge B & B
Meadow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Commercial Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a traditional 1730's coaching Inn and B&B set in the beautiful village of Tideswell, bang in the middle of the Peak District and adjacent to the glorious Derbyshire Dales. We are in the heart of Tideswell adjacent to the "Cathedral of the Peak". There are stunning walks on your doorstep or take the car to access a huge variety of different activities. Nothing is very far away from The George making it a great base from which to explore all that The Peak and Derbyshire have to offer.We have 2 large rooms and 2 slightly smaller rooms all with ensuite shower rooms. One room has a bath if that is important to you. Breakfast is included in the price and offered from 8am to 10am and includes a good English Breakfast.The rooms are finished to a high standard with TV/DVD, coffee and tea making facilities and free wifi.We are also dogs/pet friendly and look forward to helping you with your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Tideswell, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing