We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Tideswell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: .
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We pulled into the Anchor Inn and was welcome by the staff all four of us had a excellent meal and a good pint.The staff was so friendly and helpful I would recommend this pub to anyone

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence662013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah C, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, everyone helps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    44
    9
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, pub, service and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I have returned to the pub several times now as the food is excellent and great value for money. there is a great choice of food and a fantastic specials board which has been different every time. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommened this pub to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tidmarsh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah C, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
So nice to see that you have returned again and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please don't forget to use your loyalty card to qualify for a free main course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
“Excellent Pub Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I were travelling to Castleton in the Peak District for a short break. We'd been driving for two hours and were feeling hungry and had been looking for somewhere to just pull in and eat. Suddenly, right on the turn to Castleton from the A623 at Tideswell, we saw 'The Anchor' and pulled into the car park. What we discovered was a lovely family-run pub, just like the ones that existed about 25 years ago. The landlady and staff were friendly and chatty and the whole place was very much a pub and not a restaurant! There was a good selection of draught beers, but also a scrumpy cider (Rosie's Pig), which was particularly welcome to a cider drinker like myself! The food turned out to be absolutely excellent. The landlord is a chef and a particularly good one. I had steak and kidney pudding (very thin suet pastry and a huge filling of steak and kidney), the best I've had in years! My wife opted for the curry, which was a vegetarian dish of roast carrots, onions and peppers in a peanut and coconut curry sauce, served with coconut rice. I tasted it and liked it so much that, on our return trip home, I chose it when we stopped there again for lunch. On that occasion my wife had cheese, potato and onion pie, which turned out to be in pastry case, which she said was gorgeous! Food and one round of drinks came to around £16.00 per head. A really excellent place to stop for a meal at lunchtime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most Enjoyable Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Whilst on holiday we called in for an evening meal on a Tuesday. The pub was quiet with few diners. We ordered a bream and lime fish cake starter each followed by the lamb and steak and ale pie both served with new potatoes, red cabbage and carrots. The whole meal was plentiful, well served and prepared and piping hot.
The cost including 2 drinks each was £42 which was very good value.
The hospitality and welcome of the innkeepers was highly commendable and made the short stay most enjoyable. Well done in providing good wholesome cooking and pleasant company along with a most warming log stove burner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah C, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is lovely when all our hard work is recognised.

Glad you enjoyed your stay in Tideswell and hopefully you will call and see us again if your ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Tonight was our second visit in 8 days , a quick lunch last week and a fantastic family meal tonight . The boys wanted to take wiggy home . Well worth the hours journey to get there

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah C, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Lovely to see you again and thanks for the birthday cake! Nice to meet the boys and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing