We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little pub”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Tideswell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: .
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Fabulous little pub just set out of Tideswell nice walk on a glorious evening for a friendly welcome and a nice evening or lunch time drink whilst out for a walk

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 299 of 308 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just spent a week in Tideswell, ate out at all the available eateries. The Anchor was on top by a long way. The staff are friendly, the food was excellent. Four adults, we tried various dishes and all were great but the Rib eye steak was exceptional. If you're in the area, try it. You won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeicesterRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah C, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

So glad you enjoyed it and thank you for a lovely honest review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We happened to be staying at a B&B in Tideswell the week-end of their Food Festival, and we went for dinner at the Anchor at the suggestion of our landlady. Although we hadn't booked, and it's quite a small restaurant, they managed to fit us in, and the food arrived quicker than they had initially told us. My wife and I were both very happy with our fish meals, which were generous and reasonably-priced, and we shared a delicious cherry bakewell slice - with cherry bakewell ice-cream! The staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. We will happily go again if we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martinfromleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah C, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for leaving us a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 6 had a very enjoyable meal at the anchor inn
the staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was well cooked and made from fresh produce from the local butchers.the only recommendation I would make would be for some background music

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ddee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah C, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Upon arrival we ordered drinks and asked for menus which were happily provided. Unfortunately it went downhill from there! We were then told that they shouldn't really serve us as we were over the maximum party size of 4 (there were 6 of us)!!! and not to expect our food to arrive together?!? Our starters arrived but we had to send a still frozen starter back (no apology was forthcoming) to be replaced by another one that was still frozen which we chose not to return or eat. The main courses arrived and they were very average, certainly not what we expected from the sign exclaiming they had an award winning chef! Everything appeared to have been frozen, deep fried or microwaved, and the staff made us feel uncomfortable from the outset.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bkdavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah C, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Firstly can we apologize for your experience you had here. As you pointed out in your review we were not accepting parties of 5 or more due to staffing issues in the kitchen, unfortunately we relented to your persuasion after explaining our difficulties. It was myself that originally dealt with you and I was not made aware of your concerns over the meal and when I personally prepared your bill and asked if everything was alright you did not bring these concerns to my attention. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service and due to the difficulties we were experiencing this is why we were limiting the party numbers so not to comprise our standards, but obliviously our standards did slip and for that we are truly sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Litton, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing